Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 11 Dec 2017, 17:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to use HP 3050 printer?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
SolusUmbra

Joined: 11 May 2017
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2017, 14:48    Post subject:  How to use HP 3050 printer?  

I have a HP 3050 printer and I was wondering if there was a way to install it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2017, 15:19    Post subject:  

I can't help with that, but there is a topic with instructions on installing printers here:
How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy

If you still need help then, post in the printers section of the forum (and tell us which version of Puppylinux you are using).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9643
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2017, 16:13    Post subject:  

Always, always, always tell us the Puppy version!!
Be specific!

Example:
Slacko 5.7
Tahrpup64 6.0.5
Etc.....

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 406
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 02:48    Post subject:  

Welcome to the forum. If CUPS is installed (apparently, it depends on the version of puppy you are using) you will find that the HP Laserjet 3050 does have a driver available in CUPS 1.4. mostly_lurking's link is quite comprehensive in its instructions about installing a printer, so you'll have to work out which parts are relevant to your system and which parts are not.
PS You do need to have a browser installed. In one of my puppies I found that the default palemoon browser would not work and I had to install an older version of firefox.

_________________
LxXenial16.08, LxPupSc17.07.01,Lucid 5.2.8 and others - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 818
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 13:01    Post subject:  

wimpy wrote:
PS You do need to have a browser installed.


Why? I am not familiar with the spesific printer mentioned, but I have always used Cups to setup my HP laserwriter 4050n, usually offline. Unless you want to set it up as a net printer, I am curious to why a browser need to be installed?

There is also a specific HP printer utility named hplip. I believe some puppys have it installed.

I use Lucid 5.2.8.7 now, but I have installed the same printer with Cups in LupuPlus 5.2.8.005-1 and in different dPups without problems, and in all other Puppys I have played with for a short time.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 406
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 17:02    Post subject:  

@tallboy The CUPS wizard loads localhost:631 into the browser's url field. The browser does not have to be online.
_________________
LxXenial16.08, LxPupSc17.07.01,Lucid 5.2.8 and others - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 956
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 17:18    Post subject:  

Now, I wonder if there is a way to use CUPS without a browser?

Just a question: it's possible to install a printer just by file editing? I mean, installing drivers and knowing exactly which files to edit.
Just curious.

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11736
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 19:14    Post subject:  

The lpadmin command will install a printer from the command line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 956
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 19:53    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
The lpadmin command will install a printer from the command line.


Thanks, didn't know that...

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 818
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 21:30    Post subject:  

The Cups versions I have used comes wiith it's own browser, midori, why is an extra browser needed? It is my impression that the 631 connection is only to Cups online help files.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 406
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 04:13    Post subject:  

@tallboy So CUPS is using a browser to do its work. On the newer distros I've tested CUPS uses the default browser, which may or may not work on some rigs.
I suppose lpadmin was the reason CUPS was written Smile

_________________
LxXenial16.08, LxPupSc17.07.01,Lucid 5.2.8 and others - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11736
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 08:51    Post subject:  

tallboy wrote:
The Cups versions I have used comes wiith it's own browser, midori,

Example, please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 818
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 10:35    Post subject:  

Cups Printer Wizard loaded from the section Setup in the main Menu in Lucid 5.2.8.7 (the same as in most former Puppys I have used)
BTW, Midori is a very nice little browser!
midori-cups.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   57.03 KB
 Viewed   76 Time(s)

midori-cups.jpg


_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.

Last edited by tallboy on Sat 12 Aug 2017, 10:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11736
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 10:42    Post subject:  

The CUPS Printer Wizard is a Puppy script. It loads the CUPS web interface into the Midori browser.

The browser is NOT part of CUPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 818
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 12 Aug 2017, 10:49    Post subject:  

Sorry, I was not clear enough in my statement. (foreigner, you know! Rolling Eyes )
I didn't say it was part of Cups, I said it came with it's own browser, and by that I meant that no other programs in Puppy call for Midori, as far as I know.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0468s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]