Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 18 Aug 2018, 14:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
"puppy_slacko_6.3.2.sfs not found" error message
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
stan166

Joined: 25 Aug 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 00:50    Post subject:  "puppy_slacko_6.3.2.sfs not found" error message  

I've burned slacko-6.3.2-uefi.iso to a CD and am trying to boot HP/Compaq dc5700 desktop Intel Core 2 Duo, 4Gb RAM, no HDD. It prints the subject message and drops into some # prompt. What does this mean?

I've earlier tried slacko-6.3.0.iso and got the same symptom.
I've tried each of these commands:
puppy ide=nodma acpi=off
puppy acpi=force irqpoll
but they changed nothing.

I tried the same CD on a Lenovo ThinkPad laptop and it boots fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4301
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 02:22    Post subject:  

Specs:

https://support.hp.com/au-en/document/c00808962

::::::::

"I tried the same CD on a Lenovo ThinkPad laptop and it boots fine."

It seems that you have taken all reasonable steps, therefore try another Puppy.

Woof CE Debian Stretch

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=109789

Download from here:

http://smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/WoofCe/

stretch-7.0.0a1.iso 22-Mar-2017 05:39 285M

Boot off usb....cheap...you can make save files.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10868
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 08:19    Post subject:  

In the specs for the computer.
Quote:
HP ProtectTools Security Software Suite with BIOS Configuration (Serial, Parallel, USB Enable/Disable), Credential Manager, Smart Card Manager

Could be a bios setting causing this issue.
That Serial, Parallel Enable/Disable, maybe Idea

Could try Tahrpup 6.0.5 it uses an older Linux kernel that may have better support for the hardware.

Because it boots OK on another computer.
This is looking like hardware support issue.

Not all Puppies support all hardware.
That is why there are so many versions.

You really should have posted this in the other topic you made.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1628
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 08:39    Post subject:  

Try to go through a basic frugal install: copy at root dir of some partition of the hd initrd.gz, vmlinuz, puppy_slacko_6.3.2.sfs, zdrv_slacko_6.3.2.sfs and isolinux.cfg: then boot the cd and type the boot option:

Code:
[boot:] puppy pmedia=atahd


In isolinux.cfg copied on the hd you should change pmedia=cd with pmedia=atahd.

Sometimes the main sfs not found on the cd is correctly discovered when copied on the hd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stan166

Joined: 25 Aug 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 13:48    Post subject:  

tahr-6.0.5_noPAE.iso behaves exactly the same: "puppy_tahr_6.0.5.sfs not found". Here is how it looks from Win7:

D:\>dir
Volume in drive D is CDROM
Volume Serial Number is 8690-D680

Directory of D:\

12/21/2015 12:28 2,048 BOOT.CAT
12/21/2015 12:28 126 BOOT.MSG
12/21/2015 12:28 1,463 HELP.MSG
12/21/2015 12:28 1,247 HELP2.MSG
12/21/2015 12:20 1,320,539 INITRD.GZ
01/25/2009 21:21 14,336 ISOLINUX.BIN
12/21/2015 12:28 151 ISOLINUX.CFG
12/21/2015 12:28 7,566 LOGO.16
12/21/2015 12:28 181,592,096 PUPPY_TA.SFS
12/21/2015 12:28 3,231 README.HTM
12/21/2015 12:20 3,556,336 VMLINUZ
12/21/2015 12:20 27,369,504 ZDRV_TAH.SFS
12 File(s) 213,868,643 bytes
0 Dir(s) 0 bytes free
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stan166

Joined: 25 Aug 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 14:17    Post subject:  

Looking into the iso-file wiith a binary viewer, it seems to have 2 names for every file - a short 8.3 DOS name (as Win7 dir command shows) and a full lower-case name. In particular, "PUPPY_TA.SFS" and "puppy_tahr_6.5.0.sfs" appear next to each other, and the same for all other files.

Thus, it looks like the bootloader or whatever is running the show can't see the long names on my HP desktop. However, since Lenovo ThinkPad has no problem with this CD, I gather the long names are there, but unusable on the HP.

The only thing that comes to mind is that the bootloader accesses the CD through some CD file system driver in the PC BIOS, and HP's BIOS can't use the long names, while ThinkPad's can. Is this possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mgolden

Joined: 10 Aug 2014
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 14:33    Post subject:  

stan166 wrote:
tahr-6.0.5_noPAE.iso behaves exactly the same: "puppy_tahr_6.0.5.sfs not found". Here is how it looks from Win7:

D:\>dir
Volume in drive D is CDROM
Volume Serial Number is 8690-D680

Directory of D:\

12/21/2015 12:28 2,048 BOOT.CAT
12/21/2015 12:28 126 BOOT.MSG
12/21/2015 12:28 1,463 HELP.MSG
12/21/2015 12:28 1,247 HELP2.MSG
12/21/2015 12:20 1,320,539 INITRD.GZ
01/25/2009 21:21 14,336 ISOLINUX.BIN
12/21/2015 12:28 151 ISOLINUX.CFG
12/21/2015 12:28 7,566 LOGO.16
12/21/2015 12:28 181,592,096 PUPPY_TA.SFS
12/21/2015 12:28 3,231 README.HTM
12/21/2015 12:20 3,556,336 VMLINUZ
12/21/2015 12:20 27,369,504 ZDRV_TAH.SFS
12 File(s) 213,868,643 bytes
0 Dir(s) 0 bytes free


I have the HP Compaq dx2400 Microtower.

When the 2 terabyte hard drive is blank, the computer boots fine from the Puppy DVD.

When Puppy is installed on the hard drive, I get a "puppy_slacko64_6.3.2.sfs not found. Dropping out to initial-ramdisk console." when booting from the DVD.

The only time I do this is when tweaking the hard drive partitions, in which case I just boot from a Puppy 5.7 CD and run GParted from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stan166

Joined: 25 Aug 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 16:29    Post subject:  

My case is different - I have no HDD attached and don't plan to. I want to boot and run from CD, so everything is the same after every boot.

This HP dc5700 desktop runs Windows XP just fine. The BIOS is dated from 2011. I hope somebody can offer a clue as to what is going on.

I tried some more commands:
puppy pupsfs=sr0:/PUPPY_SL.SFS zdrv=sr0:/ZDRV_SLA.SFS
(sr0 is my CD drive, according to dmesg)
This seems to get it past finding the SFS file, but then kernel panics because init has exited.

---
Actually, I'm very happy with slacko_6.3.0,iso on ThinkPad - it can use WiFi and all www sites I care about seem to work, even youtube. Except this is not the PC I want to run it on Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mgolden

Joined: 10 Aug 2014
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 17:19    Post subject:  

stan166 wrote:
My case is different - I have no HDD attached and don't plan to. I want to boot and run from CD, so everything is the same after every boot.

This HP dc5700 desktop runs Windows XP just fine. The BIOS is dated from 2011. I hope somebody can offer a clue as to what is going on.

I tried some more commands:
puppy pupsfs=sr0:/PUPPY_SL.SFS zdrv=sr0:/ZDRV_SLA.SFS
(sr0 is my CD drive, according to dmesg)
This seems to get it past finding the SFS file, but then kernel panics because init has exited.

---
Actually, I'm very happy with slacko_6.3.0,iso on ThinkPad - it can use WiFi and all www sites I care about seem to work, even youtube. Except this is not the PC I want to run it on Smile


I have an Acer Aspire 5570Z laptop with the Pentium Dual Core T2080 processor which originally shipped with Vista. It's chipset is 32-bit only and I'm successfully booting Puppy 6.3.0 noPAE from USB.

You could always install Puppy 5.7 - it will just take a little longer to get everything up to date.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 898
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 18:05    Post subject:  

Could be puppy not seeing your optical drive.

Here is a way to check that - if you have a flash drive to copy files to.
Courtesy of rcrsn51

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84941&start=9

.

_________________
Giving with an expectation for return brings misery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10868
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 22:13    Post subject:  

Something to look at.

This computer has Computer Setup (F10) Utility that basically setup the bios settings.
Info here:
https://support.hp.com/ie-en/document/c00814591
A lot of things that could be affecting booting from a Live Puppy CD.

Maybe some setting in the security section.
Maybe some setting about what device can work or not work

Just look for anything that could affect using a CD or an OS.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10868
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 22:21    Post subject:  

Quote:
tahr-6.0.5_noPAE.iso behaves exactly the same: "puppy_tahr_6.0.5.sfs not found". Here is how it looks from Win7:

D:\>dir
Volume in drive D is CDROM
Volume Serial Number is 8690-D680

Directory of D:\

12/21/2015 12:28 2,048 BOOT.CAT
12/21/2015 12:28 126 BOOT.MSG
12/21/2015 12:28 1,463 HELP.MSG
12/21/2015 12:28 1,247 HELP2.MSG
12/21/2015 12:20 1,320,539 INITRD.GZ
01/25/2009 21:21 14,336 ISOLINUX.BIN
12/21/2015 12:28 151 ISOLINUX.CFG
12/21/2015 12:28 7,566 LOGO.16
12/21/2015 12:28 181,592,096 PUPPY_TA.SFS
12/21/2015 12:28 3,231 README.HTM
12/21/2015 12:20 3,556,336 VMLINUZ
12/21/2015 12:20 27,369,504 ZDRV_TAH.SFS

A lot of those names are wrong and they should all be in lower case.
However, it is probably just the way Windows 7 sees them.

It would be better if you read this in a running Puppy.
If the names look like this from the file manager in Puppy.
That is a big problem.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 390

PostPosted: Mon 28 Aug 2017, 13:22    Post subject:  

I am wondering if the ISO was burned without long filename support? As far as I can see, there should be no reason why a windows7 command prompt will not see long filenames on an iso9660 image.

If using the commandline program mkisofs, it should be told to use longfilename support, see

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=190781#190781

Here is a screen dump of my Puppy Tahr live DVD with long filenames
SCREENDUMP.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   40.09 KB
 Viewed   231 Time(s)

SCREENDUMP.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12274
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 28 Aug 2017, 13:38    Post subject:  

There is nothing wrong with the ISOs. There is a README file on all Puppy ISOs that discusses the issue.

The "sfs file not found" problem comes from two sources.

1. The optical drive itself which cannot locate the file. This can sometimes be fixed with certain kernel options.

2. A timing problem in the Puppy init scripts. There is some evidence that older Puppies are less susceptible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stan166

Joined: 25 Aug 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue 29 Aug 2017, 19:07    Post subject:  

I tried stretch-7.0.0a1.iso and the result is the same. I've now tried 4 different iso-files and it seems Puppy just can't boot from CD on HP dc5700, so I give up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0624s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]