Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 24 Oct 2017, 00:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Legacy OS 2017 Released
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1464
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Sep 2017, 23:41    Post subject:  Legacy OS 2017 Released  

Hello Everyone,
Today sees the finally release of Legacy OS. Those interested can download from here. https://sourceforge.net/projects/legacyoslinux/?source=navbar
Legacy OS 2017 Desktop.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   188.1 KB
 Viewed   680 Time(s)

Legacy OS 2017 Desktop.jpg


_________________
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1539
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 00:02    Post subject:  

mirrored here: http://archive.org/download/RussoodlessPuppyLinuxStuff-LegacyOS/LegacyOS2017.iso

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1342
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 01:18    Post subject:  

Congrats John!

Legacy or Teenpup as it was way back was one the first pups I tried. Great to see you're still releasing them Smile

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6733
Location: hobart

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 02:21    Post subject:  

Well done John. Can I confirm the md5sum is 885e9859a432721c60f6f0345d6f3b59 , cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1464
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 02:53    Post subject:  

Hello Muggins, I had that much trouble uploading the iso this morning that I forgot to add the checksum. Can confirm your checksum matches mine. Will get the checksum up on Sourceforge. Thanks John
_________________
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1190

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 04:38    Post subject:  

john biles wrote:
Hello Muggins, I had that much trouble uploading the iso this morning that I forgot to add the checksum. Can confirm your checksum matches mine. Will get the checksum up on Sourceforge. Thanks John



Hi John (congrats on new release Very Happy ),

The SHA1 & MD5 sums Sourceforge is showing on the uploaded (30 mins ago) checksum file do not match what the downloaded Legacy2017.iso produces.

These are from Sourceforge:
SHA1: 75d210234024dfcf79fa6975250ad5cbc53208dd
MD5: fec76e4ce91ead4c4f49d47aaa16055c


These are from the 'actual' downloaded ISO (twice downloaded, to re-check):
SHA1: b112e466c2be8402905beff38c602d9135b1ff55
MD5: 885e9859a432721c60f6f0345d6f3b59
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1464
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 05:16    Post subject:  

Hello Belham2,
The checksum Muggins listed is the one I have for Legacy OS 2017. I'll have to see if this can be changed at Sourceforge. If someone reading this can confirm the iso boots that would be great. Thanks John

_________________
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1190

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 06:34    Post subject:  

john biles wrote:
Hello Belham2,
The checksum Muggins listed is the one I have for Legacy OS 2017. I'll have to see if this can be changed at Sourceforge. If someone reading this can confirm the iso boots that would be great. Thanks John



Hi again John,

Having difficulties getting Legacy to go to desktop smoothly on my P4 machine with 1GB ram and AGP graphics card. This 2017 version of LegacyOS is having problems with the monitor, which is a Dell 1920x1080, 60Hz LCD. Xorg is not working, and xvesa throws up a resolution that you can't even really begin to look at and/or use. Not certain what is going on, as I've tried every offering in Xorg brings back (and even manually entering the horizontal and vertical freq kHz range, etc in xorg wizard doesn't help) doesn't help. I know that my older pups I run (Lucid, 5.7 & Racy) don't have problems with this setup & boot right away with no screens from xorg and/or anything. So I'm not sure what is going on here. Did you change the xorg inside LegacyOS2017 from the previous LegacyOS version?


[UPDATE: 4th reboot I finally just got it----entered everything manually again in xorg, this time it took....shouldn't be this hard though just to boot, not with this monitor and system Crying or Very sad ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1190

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 07:16    Post subject:  

All seems good now....spent 45 mins going through stuff, seems everything is ok. Will spend more time with it the next few days. Thanks again for all the hard work, this old P4 system is fun with this OS. Love the dragonfly Wink
LegacyOS2017.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   30.23 KB
 Viewed   562 Time(s)

LegacyOS2017.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1464
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 08:11    Post subject:  

belham2, Big Thanks for testing and confirming that Legacy OS 2017 boots. Let me know what you think after more testing. Again thanks John

Belham2, just saw your previous post about the screen. Just letting you know that Legacy OS 2017 is based on Puppy 2.14 from 2007. That's why it's fast on your Pentium 4 and that's why it doesn't find your screen resolution. I'm glad you persevered with setting up your monitor manually as it shows it can be done for newer monitors.

While it's fresh in your mind can you post your xorg file please!

_________________
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1190

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 08:59    Post subject:  

john biles wrote:

While it's fresh in your mind can you post your xorg file please!


The xorg.conf, right? Ok, here it is, but you gotta promise not to laugh at my agp/pci card entry---the thing, despite being ~2 decades old---still works great Laughing All I did was increase the frequency range against what was standard in xorg.

P.S. I am running this presently from a CD, but it's getting close...out of my 1 GB ram, the system sits around ~950MB only with Opera 12 open. I may have to consider no more CD-ing it, unless I do a surgical remaster and bring it back down a bit.

Code:

#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this  section  is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

    Load        "dbe"     # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"

# This loads the GLX module
    Load       "glx"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
    Load       "xtrap"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.

    RgbPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12).  This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

#    Option "DontVTSwitch"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

    Option "RandR" "on"

EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "IMPS/2" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   #Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
   HorizSync    30.0-83.0
   VertRefresh  56-76
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   Option      "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
   EndSection
   
Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
   ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
   ### [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "accel"                 # [<bool>]
   #Option     "crt_display"           # [<bool>]
   #Option     "composite_sync"        # [<bool>]
   #Option     "hw_cursor"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "linear"                # [<bool>]
   #Option     "force_pci_mode"        # [<bool>]
   #Option     "dma_mode"              # <str>
   #Option     "agp_mode"              # <i>
   #Option     "agp_size"              # <i>
   #Option     "local_textures"        # [<bool>]
   #Option     "buffer_size"           # <i>
   #Option     "tv_out"                # [<bool>]
   #Option     "tv_standard"           # <str>
   #Option     "mmio_cache"            # [<bool>]
   #Option     "test_mmio_cache"       # [<bool>]
   #Option     "panel_display"         # [<bool>]
   #Option     "probe_clocks"          # [<bool>]
   #Option     "reference_clock"       # <freq>
   #Option     "shadow_fb"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "sw_cursor"             # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "ati" #card0driver
   VendorName  "ATI"
   BoardName   "3D Rage Pro AGP 1X/2X"
   ChipSet     "ati"
   ChipId      0x4742
   ChipRev     0x5c
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1920x1080"
    EndSubsection
EndSection


Section "Module"
            Load "extmod"
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=ATI_MACH64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1190

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 09:23    Post subject:  

Hi John,

One last question: I just had an "awe crap..." moment. I am running from CD, plugged in a USB to save my settings, opened Gparted, formatted the USB to Ext 3, saw the system created it & recognized and I mounted it, then went to menu to "shutdown" knowing that up would pop the screen for creating a savefile. Sure enough, the screen popped up, I clicked on creating a savefile, and then was greeted by this:

No suitable partitions to save to.
Session not saved!
Unmounting Stray Filesystems:
The system is going down now.



And that was that Evil or Very Mad . It was gone. More importantly, all the past 2 hours of my settings in getting things how I like it arranged (and Opera bookmarks and such setup), it all poofed into thin air, lol. Grrrrrr.... Did I do something wrong? Or is there a minimum USB size you have to have plugged in (as in bigger than the whole CD?)? A 512MB USB should be plenty at the beginning, right? All that was modified that had any size was Opera. Nothing else was added to the OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1908

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 10:42    Post subject:  

Brilliant! Legacy is one of my favourite Pups (or distros of any flavour). Thanks for all your hard work.
_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Slackel 7.0 Openbox, OpenSUSE 42.3, Vector Standard 7.2 RC1, Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Devuan 1.0.0, Stella 6.8 and AntiX 17 beta 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jeffneedle

Joined: 20 Sep 2013
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 18:50    Post subject: Can't boot  

Getting a message that Puppy is not found on the DVD. What's going on? I'd love to give it a try. Desktop, 1T disk space, 2Gig RAM. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jeffneedle

Joined: 20 Sep 2013
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 21:05    Post subject:  

Sorry, should have been more explicit. I'm getting this message trying to boot from a DVD burned just this afternoon. I was hoping to bring up the live environment, but it won't boot. It tries, but never gets past the initial screens showing it booting. And the keyboard becomes unresponsive. I would love to get past this. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1060s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]