Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Nov 2017, 08:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
XFCE 4.12 for XenialPup 64bit
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1352
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 00:32    Post subject:  

Man, you've been busy Belham, thanks for the thorough testing.

I've not seen any of your earlier issues before ie, network driver not loading or the clock disappearing. Hmm, sorry to ask a basic question, but did the checksum match up?

Now on to the meaty questions you kindly numbered for me:

Quote:
1) First, when setting up a savefile after first boot, one of the standard popup screens asking you questions is messed up. It concerns the popup asking if you want to encrypt your savefile or not. If you choose 'NO', I don't want encryption, it creates an encryption. If you choose "YES', it doesn't create encryption. Where's the choices of "NORMAL" vs "ENCRYPTED" so it is not confusing?


I'm surprised you got a pop up screen at all. I messed up the shutdown script when I was debugging. I replaced some of them with Carolina's for debugging purposes, but didn't get around to switching them back. Carolina was built before the in X shutdown gui was created so it by passes it completely.

Quote:
2) URXVT Terminal Control does nothing to urxvt itself, no matter what settings tried


Oh I'm seeing that. Does it normally work in XenialPup? I'll have to check that. It may be because I removed /root/gtkrc.mine and /root/.gtkrc-2.0 because they were messing with XFCE's gtk appearance setting. I actually want to replace urxvt with the xfce4-terminal so I probably won't put too much effort into fixing this.

Quote:
3) Desktop icons are not produced for mounting anything (SFS, USBs, Hard Drives, etc) despite it being checked to do so in Desktop Settings


I hid them to hide the system mounts being displayed as drives. To re-enable them and unfortunately said system drives go to desktop settings.



Crying or Very sad


Quote:
4) Every time Palemoon starts, you are greeted with a Popup Error Box that says "No Daemon is Running"...(Palemoon still runs though). This is a bug I first saw reported by rufwoof (Palemoon running in Spot is the problem, as Root you don't see this popup) in the latest Xenial and Phil has provided a fix yet.


Quote:
5) XFCE tray: Retrovol is not working nor is it showing, and can find no way at present to get it showing without installing other XFCE4-plugins. But DO NOT DO THIS at the moment. Do not install anything from PPM. Why?? If you do, you will be faced with the dreaded BIG problem of....


These are really puzzling as well, if the md5sum checked out ok, I wonder if it's picking up on an old pup save or something, I don't have these issues either. I can package up the XFCE Audio Mixer though as that's on the to do list too.

Quote:
6) ........the XFCE Menu Snafu! Once you try to install (from PPM) any plugin or anything for XFCE4, the overall XFCE Desktop Environment suddenly goes ape-sh!t and reverts its complete MENU back to some other form and format. Then, you are staring in disbelief as nearly all Menu items either disappear and/or are put elsewhere. XFCE took over 112 .desktop files and changed the "Category" in every one of them. Items that had been appearing correctly before messing with PPM (which has to add a Menu entry when you install something) were either made to vanish totally out of the MENU and/or XFCE put them in a new "Other" menu category. 112 items----112 fricking items Evil or Very Mad !!---- in the Other Category is not fun, not fun at all.


Ahh, at least there is a simple explanation for this voodoo Laughing

After reading about this issue I tested it myself by installing the xfce4-terminal and xfce4-screenshooter. I noticed ppm doesn't pickup on that the dependencies are already installed and grab their own versions. If you tried to install a panel plugin I'd be fairly sure it would have had XFCE Panel as a dependency, grabbed it and wiped out our custom menu that organizes the desktop categories.

Extracting rg66's menus into /etc/xdg/menus should restore the old menus. Hopefully you haven't tried fixing them all by hand like I did the first time I saw it Embarassed

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1352
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 08:34    Post subject: Release 4  

Download XFCE-4.12r4.pet

Oh my, I am quite chuffed with myself on this one Twisted Evil

I figured a way to bypass the petget desktop correction. I have the files with the Toplevel category renamed in the pet as filename.desktop.bak so they are missed by petget. I then have the pinstall.sh script rename them back to filename.desktop. Ingenious isn't it?! Laughing So there's no need for the menu_fix.tar.gz anymore.

Also, the shutdown issue is fixed! After comparing the Carolina wmexit script, it became apparent the xfce session wasn't being killed so added:

Code:
killall xfce4-session
killall -9 xfce4-session


to Xenial's wmexit and all seems well. The gui save is behaving itself as expected now we've reverted back to the uptodate Xenial files instead of test shutdown scripts.

I also added a button for flash2save as per Mikeslr's suggestion.

Quote:
XenialXFCE Release 4

Work around for the mysterious disappearing Toplevel desktop category

Shut down and save now works as expected

Added a save button to the menu for easier forced saving

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Mon 18 Sep 2017, 14:20    Post subject:  

Starting to work the floors for ya, Battleshooter. Smile Your baby is ready for the primetime (though we've "still" an issue with shutdown/restart/logout-related problems, at least from what I'm seeing). Still, exiting via terminal is so easy that I couldn't wait to give ya a shoutout so people can see Wink

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=968194#968194
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1352
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Sep 2017, 08:46    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Starting to work the floors for ya, Battleshooter. Smile Your baby is ready for the primetime (though we've "still" an issue with shutdown/restart/logout-related problems, at least from what I'm seeing). Still, exiting via terminal is so easy that I couldn't wait to give ya a shoutout so people can see Wink

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=968194#968194


Haha, thank you for the shout out Belham! (I think you may have a different link above though)

Are you testing each new revision on a clean pupsave? I seem to get the shutdown options correctly each time (with the pet, haven't uploaded the iso version with the fix yet). I will upload an iso version tomorrow with the shutdown fix. Maybe it's the way I'm testing it, are you running a full install or frugal? I'm very inexperienced with full installs, have never run one before actually.

Could you possibly take a screenshot of the shutdown dialog not offering the correct options? Or is the issue that the menu doesn't show at all?
Screenshot_2017-09-20_22-36-25.png
 Description   
 Filesize   119.75 KB
 Viewed   306 Time(s)

Screenshot_2017-09-20_22-36-25.png

Screenshot_2017-09-20_22-35-54.png
 Description   
 Filesize   118.36 KB
 Viewed   304 Time(s)

Screenshot_2017-09-20_22-35-54.png


_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Wed 20 Sep 2017, 16:38    Post subject:  

Battleshooter,

For the moment, I've cast aside your original ISO released, and am using nothing but this Easy Linux 0.4 with your xfce.pet applied to it. It is friggin awesome....and I am using it heavily daily. It is just, lol, the save/shutdown/restart won't even launch, but heck, all i did was put 'PupControl' as a tray launcher on the bottom right, one click opens up PUpcontrol, click on the Logout button it provides, and up pops all the choices for when loggin out/shutting down---and they all work!! Laughing Laughing Laughing

I'll post some pics tomorrow where some of the funny places that the pet put Barry's shutdown and logout and such (like I said, clicking on them via Menu & nothing happens, so PupControl it is---or if I am lazy enough to lean out of the chair, just do it via terminal.

This xfce.pet of yours is awesome! I think it'll work in any ubuntu/xenail 64 pup if it is passing colors this well with one of Barry's creations Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1113
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Sep 2017, 20:08    Post subject:  

Battleshooter.

I haven't tested this yet, but just wanted to give words of encouragement.

I use Carolina VG every day for work, and it is still great, but the older browsers are starting to cause some problems on some sites.

I have been toying with the idea of XFCE-ing Tahr to be more modern. Xenial is even more modern. But, I really don't have a clue. So I was super excited to see you're working on this.

Keep up the great work. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1352
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Sep 2017, 22:13    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Battleshooter,

It is just, lol, the save/shutdown/restart won't even launch, but heck, all i did was put 'PupControl' as a tray launcher on the bottom right, one click opens up PUpcontrol, click on the Logout button it provides, and up pops all the choices for when loggin out/shutting down---and they all work!! Laughing Laughing Laughing


Oh, if that's the case, the shutdown works fine in Easy but pressing the menu doesn't do it, Easy probably doesn't have yad as that's what the Carolina script uses. That's good then, sounds like it is working other than that.

belham2 wrote:
This xfce.pet of yours is awesome! I think it'll work in any ubuntu/xenail 64 pup if it is passing colors this well with one of Barry's creations Cool


Thank you for your kind words and enthusiasm Belham Very Happy

p310don wrote:
I use Carolina VG every day for work, and it is still great, but the older browsers are starting to cause some problems on some sites.


The browser issue was one of the things that pushed me to look for a newer Puppy to run off. Seems a lot of things are moving to 64-bit, GTK3, newer Glibcs, etc. One of the things I have particularly enjoyed moving to a newer Puppy, is discovering the improvements that have been made to the standard Puppy base.

p310don wrote:
I have been toying with the idea of XFCE-ing Tahr to be more modern.


Rg's already XFCE-ed Tahr if you're interested and just happened to miss it. He's had it running for awhile now so it's more established as well.

p310don wrote:
I haven't tested this yet, but just wanted to give words of encouragement. .


Thank you p310don!

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1352
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Sep 2017, 07:44    Post subject:  

File host playing up again, using Google Drive for now. The updates from the pet version have been added, and in addition, the xfce terminal is now the default and "print screen" opens xfce-screenshooter

Quote:
XenialXFCE ISO Release 2

Shut down and save now works as expected

Added a save button to the menu for easier forced saving

Added xfce screenshooter

Made XFCE terminal the default terminal


_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1583
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 21 Sep 2017, 09:03    Post subject:  

XFCE ISOs mirrored here:

http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_Xenialpup64

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1113
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Sep 2017, 09:58    Post subject:  

Booted the ISO.

Looks the goods so far. Only did the 5 minute test. Played a video. No probs. Played some music, all good. Got on the internet, watched the beginning of a movie on a dodgy website. (not THAT kind of dodgy)

The only gripe so far is there is no volume control in the notification area, and volume keys don't work either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1352
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 22 Sep 2017, 08:15    Post subject:  

Thanks Ally Smile

p310don wrote:
Booted the ISO.

Looks the goods so far. Only did the 5 minute test. Played a video. No probs. Played some music, all good. Got on the internet, watched the beginning of a movie on a dodgy website. (not THAT kind of dodgy)

The only gripe so far is there is no volume control in the notification area, and volume keys don't work either.


Hah, a good report, thank you p310don. I have Retrovol appear for me in the panel just fine, I wonder why it doesn't show for you and Belham. I compiled xfce4-mixer and packaged it with its dependencies if you want to give it a go. I also added keyboard shortcuts that will hopefully pick up on your volume keys. I don't have dedicated volume keys so can't test that one myself atm.

xfce4-mixer_with_deps-4.11.0.pet

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1583
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Fri 22 Sep 2017, 08:38    Post subject:  

I also had no retrovol on my very brisk boot

I was able to access via the control panel

[lenovo x230]

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 911
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri 22 Sep 2017, 14:07    Post subject:  

Huzzah Battleshooter,

I just booted into the r2 iso on my i5 based laptop to chase some kernel 4.13 issues. I don't know what to say except Huzzah. Wireless, video, retrovol, DVD playing now, did some panel setup, chased my freq stuff, all good so far. I'll try a shutdown/save now. You've come out swinging with this one.

Update1: Shutdown/save went normally. I just started to play with suspend. A couple of possibilities wrt the 4.13 kernel do come to mind.
One possibility (done in the current LxPupSc kernels) in the kernel configuration is to disalow intel_pstate (problematic on a lot of hardware) and to allow the schedutil governor (well supported, replacement for conservative with good benchmarks).
change
CONFIG_X86_INTEL_PSTATE=y
to
# CONFIG_X86_INTEL_PSTATE is not set
and
change
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_SCHEDUTIL is not set
to
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_SCHEDUTIL=m

If intel_pstate is enabled in the kernel config and intel_pstate=disable isn't passed as a kernel parameter the intel governor takes precedence and acpi_cpufreq governors can't be set using wcpufreq. We'll get a warning in wcpufreq but adding the kernel param requires a reboot. The intel_pstate is supposed to get some tweaks in 4.13 but so far, both from a standpoint of problems and of benchmarks it's been a real stinker.

To support the 4.13 kernel changes in CPU speed reporting, install PupSysInfo-2.7.3 from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=579411&search_id=1970593522#579411 and wcpufreq 0.8.2 or 1.2 from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=968596&search_id=1970593522#968596
hardinfo and inxi haven't yet been patched (at least the pup versions of them).

Just thoughts,

Update2: Suspend to memory working normally from lid closure and Shutdown/session control. I had to do the following:
in /usr/bin/shutdown-gui, change line 53 from /etc/acpi/sleep.sh to /etc/acpi/actions/suspend.sh
extract /etc/acpi/actions/suspend.sh.gz and make it executable. XFCE4 doesn't wake as cleanly as lxde from a memory suspend so I use a suspend.sh that does a bit of customizing by window manager. A work in progress but attached as a true gz.

I'm running Mike Walshs latest 'TahrPup' 64b Slimjet SFS happily now.
suspend.sh.gz
Description  in /etc/acpi/actions/ tweaked for different wms
gz

 Download 
Filename  suspend.sh.gz 
Filesize  872 Bytes 
Downloaded  10 Time(s) 

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 4.4 and X-tahr 2.0 for my users; LxPupSc,LxPupXenial & XFCE_XenialPup64 for me. All good pups indeed, and all running browsers, office etc. solely from SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 911
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat 23 Sep 2017, 19:47    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
I also had no retrovol on my very brisk boot

I was able to access via the control panel

[lenovo x230]

Smile


ally, If you still have no retrovol on boot could you try something purely for diagnostic purposes. Add a sleep 4 line to the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local, save and reboot. See if retrovol shows up. You have a 3rd gen i7 in that laptop I think and in some of my hardware similar to that in other pups some of the cards aren't settled when X and the panels need them, hence they aren't shown. Crude, but that sleep does the trick on them. Again, diagnostic run for my curiosity only.

Thanks,

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 4.4 and X-tahr 2.0 for my users; LxPupSc,LxPupXenial & XFCE_XenialPup64 for me. All good pups indeed, and all running browsers, office etc. solely from SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2548
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Sep 2017, 07:39    Post subject:  

Marv wrote:
Huzzah Battleshooter


That's some great bug fixing there Marv!

How much of that could be put into Woof-CE (or the kernel kit thing)?

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0715s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]