Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Sep 2017, 03:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
HDD failure imminent. What to do?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [72 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 15:51    Post subject:  

When the computer reboots to live CD, it does not read the /slackosave.3fs file, but instead reads only puppy_slacko_5.7.0.sfs main file. When the computer reboots to frugal install, it reads the /slackosave file, and then the puppy_slacko.sfs file.
Last edited by nubc on Sun 10 Sep 2017, 16:15; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 16:05    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:

Do not have the live CD in the CD player when you boot.

That doesn't work. The frugal boots from CD.

EDIT: Maybe if I remove the CD just before "Searching for Puppy files..."
Nah, that's too tricky. Every other reboot, it does not load the slackosave file. In the case where it boots to live CD, it may be getting the Puppy files off the CD instead of the USB. When it boots frugal, it gets the slackosave file and the sfs files off the USB, probably.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 16:26    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
When the computer reboots to live CD, it does not read the /slackosave.3fs file, but instead reads only puppy_slacko_5.7.0.sfs file. When the computer reboots to frugal install, it reads the /slackosave file, and then the puppy_slacko.sfs file.

So, the problem is the save file is only getting seen sometimes.

I am having confusion by how you are stating what you are booting.
Quote:
When the computer reboots to live CD

I am understanding that as you are booting using Slacko installed on a CD.
It sometimes finds the save file and sometimes does not.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 16:42    Post subject:  

Slacko installed on CD, probably not. Slacko .iso burned to CD, and yes, it predictably does not find the slackosave file every other reboot. It's something I can live with, but I would like to understand why.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 22:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
Slacko installed on CD, probably not. Slacko .iso burned to CD, and yes

When you burn the Slacko iso image to a CD, you have installed Slacko on the CD.
Usually called a live Slacko CD.

Exactly where is the savefile located?
Be very specific with location details!!!!!

Is this the only save file or are there other slackosaves?
If there are other slackosaves.
Exact names and locations.
Be specific with info!!!!





Where the savefile is located can affect how the live Slacko CD finds a savefile to use.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 03:53    Post subject:  

Savefile is on thumb drive, which system has named sda1 with both hard drives disconnected. After I installed/created savefile on thumb drive, however, it became locked and unmountable. This motivated me work on the original system with two hard drives, so to that end, I completely removed thumb drive from the computer. The system booted up first try and I managed to offload about 15 GB from the full drive, sda2, before the system crashed. The system crashed, and then I found a very useful boot option, namely
Code:
puppy pfix=fsck

which runs a filesystem check on the save file before booting.
After a couple more reboots I managed to offload a total of 50 GB of data

The last directory that I offloaded contained about 550 files, and the transfer of 5 of those files produced an error, that file could not be extended. What does this mean?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 16:08    Post subject:  

Here we are, 4 PM on Monday, and the new drive has arrived. My new strategy. Full install of Slacko 5.7.0 on sda1, sized 30 GB. I seem to recall that Legacy Grub did not work on Slacko 5.7, requiring a special .pet from rscn21. Can someone confirm this? I guess I'll set up the new drive, and then install the old 2 TB drive beside it, then try to transfer data. I must say, there are serious issues with the filesystem on this old drive, specifically sda2. You say GParted can fix problems non-destructively? Please advise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 17:03    Post subject:  

Does GParted 0.16.0 (Slacko 5.7.0) have a size limitation? Can't set up the sda2 partition, which is over 3 TB in size. Is this a kernel issue, because GParted on Slacko 6.3 failed to create the partition as well. I also ran the latest live CD of GParted, and it failed.

Ach, I should have selected the gpt partition table.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 21:07    Post subject:  

What's wrong with my grub menu.lst?
Code:
timeout 10
default 0
#
title Puppy Linux Frugal on sda1
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pdev1=sda1 pfix=fsck
initrd /initrd.gz
#
title Windows on (hd0,0)
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
#
title Ubuntu on (hd0,0)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/grub/core.img


I selected the Full install option provided by grub, but it labels the install as Frugal regardless.

Does anyone have the .pet legacy grub upgrade by rcrsn51?

I wish I could take a look at the boot folder on the old hard drive but it is not working at all right now.

I got a feeling that the MBR is munged, and I will have to perform a deep wipe of sda1 just to recover MBR.

What are the alternative designations for root (hd0,0)?

pmedia=atahd is obviously wrong, because the drive is SATA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 00:10    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
...
Ach, I should have selected the gpt partition table.
...
What's wrong with my grub menu.lst?
...


So you made your new 4TB drive as GPT? (as required for >2TB)
Did you get an error somewhere?
Puppy Grub4DOS installer will have problem with GPT disk, only supports MBR.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 05:12    Post subject:  

What bootloader for GPT disk?

I've installed Lagacy GRUB which operates in two stages. I installed Legacy GRUB 2013 Configuration from Slacko 6.3.

The difference between booting MBR and GPT with GRUB
https://www.anchor.com.au/blog/2012/10/the-difference-between-booting-mbr-and-gpt-with-grub/

Booting from GPT, by Rod Smith
http://www.rodsbooks.com/gdisk/booting.html

Booting GPT disk on BIOS systems
http://www.lightofdawn.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/BIOSBootGPT

Hybrid MBRs, by Rod Smith
[http://www.rodsbooks.com/gdisk/hybrid.html

GRUB2: Heal your bootloader
https://www.linuxvoice.com/grub-2-heal-your-bootloader/

Last edited by nubc on Tue 12 Sep 2017, 12:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 06:45    Post subject:  

Question: Does a frugal install avoid this booting GPT disk issue?
Last edited by nubc on Tue 12 Sep 2017, 12:06; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 12:03    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
Question: Does a frugal install avoid this booting GPT disk issue?


No, it's a bootloader issue. As you found in your research above, Grub2 is the proper solution for GPT booting, and most Linux distros have moved on to Grub2.
Puppy doesn't have an official Grub2 solution. There are rumors of workarounds for older Grub but I haven't tested any. Maybe someone else has.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 12:08    Post subject:  

What is the strategy for booting a GPT disk? If I can't boot the GPT disk, maybe I need to attach a device to the computer that will boot, like a USB flash drive.

I am looking at the new drive from a frugal linstall that boots from CD and stores a savefile on a USB drive. Are you saying that if I instead place the savefile on sda1, the 30-GB partition on the new 4TB hdd, that it won't boot up?

Could I not transfer the savefile that is currently running on the flashdrive to the new partition sda1, and have a frugal install that boots from CD?

Maybe I could install a distro with GRUB2, then surgically remove the OS and substitute Puppy Slacko. Or if could find a distro that installs GRUB2 as an independent operation. Any suggestions for a distro? Ubuntu?

You'd think that Hiren's bootCD or some specialty utility distro (eg SystemRescueCD) would be able to install GRUB2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11580
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 13:28    Post subject:  

The legacy GRUB installer is here.

It will work with a GPT partition table.

How have you formatted the drive? I can't remember if legacy GRUB will boot from an ext4 partition. Also, I don't know how it will react to very large partitions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [72 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0492s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]