Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Sep 2017, 03:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
HDD failure imminent. What to do?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [72 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 22:39    Post subject:  

It may be time to clone it. Have you had any luck with cold- freezing a bad hard drive?

How to Clone Hard Disks with ddrescue
https://datarecovery.com/rd/how-to-clone-hard-disks-with-ddrescue/

Can I clone to a partition instead of an entire hard drive?
I have a 4TB hard drive. There is a 30GB partition, sda1,for the OS at the beginning of the drive. The remainder of the drive, sda2,is for data. 3.6 TB. And there is a 5 GB swap file at the end of the drive. I would like to clone to sda2 only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 23:13    Post subject:  

You're on your own there with the freezer.

If the drive was functioning properly, then you could use partition copy/image tools like partclone or fsarchiver. But yours is more severe problem. In fact, if Gparted cannot even see the drive, you may not even be able to do ddrescue.

The ddrescue will just copy anything that is recoverable. Then you can move the data around later, add/delete partitions, resize, convert MBR to GPT, etc. on the good drive. Main thing is get the data off the bad drive. You can always reinstall OS and repartition later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 23:24    Post subject:  

I don't see ddrescue on the latest SystemRescueCD?

I just installed ddrescue 1.16 on this frugal install of Slacko 5.7.

Last edited by nubc on Wed 13 Sep 2017, 23:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 23:27    Post subject:  

You can use Slacko.

Boot your Slacko 6.3.2 CD.
Choose to not load save file otherwise it will try to search drives and may hang due to bad drive connected.
Connect to Internet.
Install ddrescue with PPM.

Follow your guide above.

EDIT: You want to do this from live CD and not HD installed OS as you will be overwriting the HD and don't want anything mounted for this procedure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 23:42    Post subject:  

Quote:
To image from disk to disk:

root# ddrescue -f -n /dev/[baddrive] /dev/[gooddrive] /root/recovery.log

What is "root#" going to look like from the Puppy command prompt? Keep in mind, there is going to be a logfile in root.

Earlier,I transferred the savefile and sfs files from thumb drive to root of the frugal install, presumably in sda1. In preparation for this ddrescue operation I want to copy those two files back to the thumb drive. But these files were not located in root, they were located in /initrd/mnt/dev_save. I never put the two files in this location. How did it happen?

Last edited by nubc on Thu 14 Sep 2017, 00:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 23:56    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
Quote:
To image from disk to disk:

root# ddrescue -f -n /dev/[baddrive] /dev/[gooddrive] /root/recovery.log

What is "root#" going to look like from the Puppy command prompt? Keep in mind, there is going to be a logfile in root.


Yeah, better make SURE you know which drive is which.
I assume your new 4TB is connected first SATA and is sda?
And the old 2TB is sdb?
If so that would be: ddrescue -f -n /dev/sdb /dev/sda
That will wipe the entire sda of anything you have on it now.
Check with fdisk -l command to see which drives are which.

But I don't know if your 2TB will even show up if it is non responsive now. And ddrescue may not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 00:16    Post subject:  

So, is root# going to look like /#, or is it going to be the word root#?

Earlier,I transferred the savefile and sfs files from thumb drive to root of the frugal install, presumably in sda1. In preparation for this ddrescue operation I want to copy those two files back to the thumb drive. But these files were not located in root, they were located in /initrd/mnt/dev_save. I never put the two files in this location. How did it happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 00:33    Post subject:  

Fdisk doesn't see the bad drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 00:42    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
Fdisk doesn't see the bad drive.


That's what I was afraid of. Drive may have now died. If the data is critical, see your local data recovery professional.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 00:55    Post subject:  

I believe TestDisk can recover this data. Can anyone confirm? SystemRescueCd has TestDisk onboard. The latest version of SystemRescueCd is 5.1.0, but that CD didn't boot. I also have SystemRescueCd 1.0.4 which does boot this computer. I can also run TestDisk from live USB (live DVD??) of Ubuntu.

Download older versions of SystemRescueCd
http://www.system-rescue-cd.org/Old-versions/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2878
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 07:03    Post subject:  

It might, but is not guaranteed and I suspect from what has been said it would not be an easy job.

WHATEVER TOOL IS USED DO NOT DO ANY WRITES TO THAT DRIVE if you want any chance of recovering the data -even proffessionally.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 08:37    Post subject:  

Nope, TestDisk did not see the drive. Furthermore, it saw the 4TB drives as 1801 GB in size. None of the newer SystemRescueCd versions would boot, so I am left with version 1.0,4 that I downloaded long ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [72 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0428s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]