How to partition Compaq hard drive for Puppy install?

Booting, installing, newbie
backpages

How to partition Compaq hard drive for Puppy install?

#1 Post by backpages »

Good morning!
I am fairly new to Linux and need some help with partitioning the hard drive. I have a HP Pavilion XH485 laptop. I currently run Puppy Unleashed 2.0 live disk. I also have the Puppy Sourcerer 2.0 and Vector Linux 5.1 std disks. The laptop's OS, Window's ME, is apparently gone. The laptop will not start up using the ME OS. A view of the (30G) drive shows 2 partitions. One at about 23G, the other (about 7G) says 'unassigned'. It looks to me as if the entire 30G drive can be partitioned any way I want, since there is no OS on it (and i'm running the Puppy live disk, which boots fine). I want to install my Puppy Unleashed to the hard drive as the main OS, but I need to know what would be the best way to divide the 30G up so that I have enough room for the OS, and spare partitions for whatever I want to do later. I also need to know about disk labeling. Further, I could not figure out what to do with the 'unassigned' partition (i.e.-how do I 'assign' it). Could someone point me in the right direction for partitioning,labeling, and assigning? Thanks!
Paul

Re: Partitioning stuff

#2 Post by Guest »

backpages wrote:Good morning!