Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Nov 2017, 01:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArtfulPup
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 24 [360 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11158
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 12:32    Post subject:  

Hello peebee and all.

I agree with wiak. Puppy's window manager jwm was decided 10 years ago
by BarryK because it suited his needs best at the time. The WM is
important, but it's still only an interface. As wiak says, the scripts and the
directory organization underneath define Puppy more than any single WM.
Along with the capacity for frugal install, I'd add.

In the past, some very successful Puppies have used icewm, in particular
tronkel's Puppy 3.02.

icewm is being actively refitted / modernized. It has a very active github
page here: https://github.com/bbidulock/icewm

If you need a menu for it, I am offering a menu script here.

Don't worry, it's not based on aemenu. But it's not an xdg-type menu
either. This menu resides in a single script, so you can't lose its parts. Wink

For those users who are superficial Wink, there are exactly 422 themes for it
at https://www.box-look.org/browse/cat/142/ord/latest as of this writing.

Why not give it a try? My 2¢.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3004
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 14:43    Post subject:  

Version 17.10.03

Apply delta to 17.10.01 - 17.10.03 iso md5 after generation should be: 0c1dc7f77bcf44a79517122e9c7d0e6f

- yelp improved
- radeon firmware added to fdrv for zigbert
- services disabled for mavrothal
- build improved - some redundant components removed - dependencies satisfied wherever possible ('checkdeps -system' now clean except for expected items)
- some new apps added

I've tried to get an icon for Light in the menu but have failed miserably - I don't really want to change the .sfs build as it is shared with LxPupSc (where the icon appears no problem...)

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9516
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 18:37    Post subject:  

zestyPup 17.10.3

Desktop has no icon for trash.
Trash needs to have an icon on the desktop to work properly.
It is the way trash is designed to work.
It has no menu entry by design.

I know people keep trying to make desktops with no icons, but trash has to have one to work.

The trash desktop icon is the only way to put something in trash.
Drag and drop to icon.
Only way to get to trash options.
Right click on desktop trash icon.
Screenshot(1).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.63 KB
 Viewed   358 Time(s)

Screenshot(1).jpg

Screenshot.jpg
 Description   right click menu
 Filesize   15.76 KB
 Viewed   364 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 19:01    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
zestyPup 17.10.3

Desktop has no icon for trash.
Trash needs to have an icon on the desktop to work properly.
It is the way trash is designed to work.
It has no menu entry by design.

I know people keep trying to make desktops with no icons, but trash has to have one to work. Not entirely true, can be in the tray and not on desktop and still have full trash function

The trash desktop icon is the only way to put something in trash.
Drag and drop to icon.
again, not true, see comment above
Only way to get to trash options.
Right click on desktop trash icon.


Hey Bigpup,

Thought you'd be interested to know you do not need a desktop icon on the desktop itself for trash to work. Same goes for savesession icon. In many of my pups, I safely ensconce them inside either the upper and/or lower tray, so they are off the desktop and never hiiden by anything I have open. And I have full functions and access to them just as if they are on the desktop. Just takes some mods to xinitrc in /root, and a few other simple changes in their commands that open them.
neither-trashcan-nor-savesession-have-to-be-on-desktop.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   110.98 KB
 Viewed   344 Time(s)

neither-trashcan-nor-savesession-have-to-be-on-desktop.jpg

trashcan-off-desktop-and-encased-in-tray.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   107.4 KB
 Viewed   348 Time(s)

trashcan-off-desktop-and-encased-in-tray.jpg

Savesession-off-desktop-and-encased-in-tray.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   111.56 KB
 Viewed   343 Time(s)

Savesession-off-desktop-and-encased-in-tray.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9516
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 21:48    Post subject:  

What about the right click menu?
That is also a feature of the trash icon on the desktop.

Your idea is good, but how is it going to work if you make the tray hide?

The tray would need to be visible all the time.
I like to make the added tray hide, unless you move the mouse pointer to it.

If the tray is visible all the time.
What real difference, is it, just to have a trash desktop icon.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9516
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 22:43    Post subject:  

zestyPup 17.10.3

Login and Security Manager

No programs listed under spot option.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9516
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 23:10    Post subject:  

zestyPup 17.10.3

Sure seems like there are a lot of different programs offered (in the menu) to configure settings.

menu>Desktop
Desktop Settings
JWM DeskManager
Font Manager
Puppy Theme Manager

These two open the same program. (Pup Control)
menu>Setup>Puppy Setup
menu>Utility>Pup Control Panel

Pup Control covers just about everything.

What about having one entry for Pup Control and forget using the others with menu entries Idea
Run them from Pup Control.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9516
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 23:30    Post subject:  

zestyPup 17.10.3

menu>Utility>Compton

What is this suppose to do?

Seems to do nothing.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9516
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 23:35    Post subject:  

zestyPup 17.10.3

menu>Utility>Java Control Panel

When clicked on get this message.
So, is it really needed at this point with no Java installed?

There is no get Java menu entry this message refers to.
Screenshot(2).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.52 KB
 Viewed   284 Time(s)

Screenshot(2).jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1175
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 23:59    Post subject: compton  

Hi Bigpup,
good...morning! Wink

bigpup wrote:
zestyPup 17.10.3

menu>Utility>Compton

What is this suppose to do?

Seems to do nothing.


Discovered this just by clicking on it to see what could happen ... Surprised
Once compton has been activated in the main menu (just click on the menu entry), the "displaying speed" of applications windows (example: click on the "home" icon in the menu tray bar) is "smoothed", and the outer limit of the window is a bit transparent, and somewhat shadowed.
Do not know how to dectivate it another way than Restart X; or using HTop/F9 ...
(Tryied to explain it with my own words... Confused )
Best regards, Charlie
compton.png
 Description   
 Filesize   61.77 KB
 Viewed   268 Time(s)

compton.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11158
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 09 Oct 2017, 00:15    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
zestyPup 17.10.3

menu>Utility>Compton

What is this suppose to do?

Seems to do nothing.
Hi bigpup.
Quote:
Compton is a standalone composite manager, suitable for use with
window managers that do not natively provide compositing functionality.
Source : https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Compton

Compton is a fork of Xcompmgr.
Quote:
Xcompmgr is a simple composite manager capable of rendering
drop shadows and, with the use of the transset utility, primitive window
transparency. (...)

Because it does not replace any existing window manager, it is an ideal
solution for users of lightweight window managers, seeking a more elegant
desktop.
Source : https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/xcompmgr

If compton is in the jwm menu, this could mean that the shadow and
transparency effects can be switched on and off, or perhaps there's
access to a configuration panel.

Please see the attached screen shot for an example of what a composite
manager does.

BFN.

~~~~~~~~~~
@Charlie6:Typing
Code:
killall -q compton
in console should do the trick!
Echinus-WM+XcompMgr.jpg
 Description   XcompMgr adding drop-shadows and transparency effects to the Echinus WM.
The focus is on the ROX-Filer window, so you can see the background seep through the clock window.
 Filesize   126.35 KB
 Viewed   262 Time(s)

Echinus-WM+XcompMgr.jpg


_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1175
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 09 Oct 2017, 00:33    Post subject: Re: ZestyPup - Alpha build  

Hi peebee,
tons of thanks for this Zesty !
as also to its contributors Smile !

peebee wrote:
ZestyPup-17.10.03 is ready for download....

Alpha quality - testing required! Thanks go to @zigbert for help with initial bug squashing.

Taking @666philb's configuration files for xenialpup as a starting point (with many thanks)
ZestyPup is a Woof-CE 32-bit pae build using Ubuntu Zesty Zapus (17.04)

/firefox-56.0-lxsc.sfs/download]firefox-56.0-lxsc.sfs[/url]


Have ran ZestyPup-17.10.01 and now running from-delta-re-generated ZestyPup-17.10.03. Using the same pupsave file without issue.
Have installed gtk-3 from PPM .
As also forum member ETP's Magoo + faenza icons themes "for poor eyesight users" Wink
see (!) here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=657335#657335

Have loaded and mounted the firefox-56 sfs ==> sound works OOTB !
...even more ! : doing in a terminal
Code:
# firefox wwwWhateverURL
works with this distro Surprised !
what was not the case for me on Xenial; as also on Tahrpup as formely posted here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=966029#966029

Seems that Light browser is slower than Firefox to open some websites.

Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6508
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 09 Oct 2017, 02:38    Post subject:  

Confirming radeon success.

Thanks!

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9516
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Oct 2017, 04:54    Post subject:  

zestyPup 17.10.3

menu>Business>Planner

It starts with this error message.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   10.29 KB
 Viewed   175 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9516
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Oct 2017, 05:03    Post subject:  

zestyPup 17.10.3

menu>Business>Xcalc scientific calculator

When clicked on to run it.

X server crashes to the prompt.

Enter xwin gets back to desktop.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 24 [360 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0680s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]