StretchDog

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#151 Post by fredx181 »

quirkian2new wrote:But found that hda1 and hda2 were automatically mounted at bootup ? is there any boot parameter that prevents such automatical mounting of hda1 and hda2 ?


Yes, add noauto to the kernel boot command line.

Fred

quirkian2new
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue 06 Oct 2015, 14:10
Location: on the inter-planet train

#152 Post by quirkian2new »

Thanks Fred,

i add noauto to the kernel boot command line, but my sda2 is still automatically mounted under /mnt/sda2

sda2 is the partition where i placed the live folder. is it possible none of my harddisk partition mounted while all running in ram. My experience with Fatdog64 (huge initrd) is that none of my harddisk partition mounted automatically.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#153 Post by s243a »

I'm getting a lot of "structure needs cleaning" errors. How do I fix them. I'm running stetchdog in a virtualbox. It was working well for quite a while but I don't see an option to do e2fsk in the boot menu.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#154 Post by fredx181 »

@s243a
I'm getting a lot of "structure needs cleaning" errors. How do I fix them. I'm running stetchdog in a virtualbox. It was working well for quite a while but I don't see an option to do e2fsk in the boot menu.
Adding parameter fsck to the kernel boot command line will check all partitions.
(but I didn't test with virtualbox)

@quirkian2new
i add noauto to the kernel boot command line, but my sda2 is still automatically mounted under /mnt/sda2
Yes, boot partition is always mounted at start, but to unmount you can add a simple scriptt to /root/Startup

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

hdrv=$(cat /mnt/live/etc/homedrv | cut -d'/' -f3)
umount /dev/$hdrv
(but need to boot with copy2ram to make this work)

Fred

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#155 Post by fredx181 »

Replying to questions from here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 02#1009302
Porteus Modules: How can load then at startup, how can I extract them to convert them to SFS

How can I chanbge from single click to double click in XFCE.

I use Pocket with Firefox but it seems to be broken.

I had a question about printing but I solved that.
My Network connection keeps dropping and I dont know where to fixit.

My wireless connection only recognizes my wireless printer but not the wifi.

I am completely new to both Debian and Puppy, I have everythin in Porteus.

Thanks in advance

Rafael Alcocer
Hello Rafael,

First, there maybe some confusion.
StretchDog is using method for booting borrowed from Porteus (with some cheatcodes working, not all).
For the rest it has nothing to do with Porteus.
So forget about loading .xzm modules.
How can I chanbge from single click to double click in XFCE
In the Preferences of Thunar and in Desktop settings (right-click on Desktop)

For the other problems you have, please provide more details.

Fred

trister
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun 01 Mar 2015, 21:16

#156 Post by trister »

trister wrote: Is it possible in the EXIT: boot option to disable the save session message when shutting down (or at least make default the Do Not Save option) ?
I want to save the session only when I want (eg with save2flash).
I'm returning to that question. I did make a squashfs with the script you pointed out to me but I noticed something yesterday:

While the posted script does sets as default the "Do Not Save" graphical enviroment (window popup) , it does not seem to change the text based question for saving (the one that it shown outside the windows manager.

Is there another location for the save-on-exit poweroff script? (when outside window managers)

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#157 Post by fredx181 »

trister wrote:
trister wrote: Is it possible in the EXIT: boot option to disable the save session message when shutting down (or at least make default the Do Not Save option) ?
I want to save the session only when I want (eg with save2flash).
I'm returning to that question. I did make a squashfs with the script you pointed out to me but I noticed something yesterday:

While the posted script does sets as default the "Do Not Save" graphical enviroment (window popup) , it does not seem to change the text based question for saving (the one that it shown outside the windows manager.

Is there another location for the save-on-exit poweroff script? (when outside window managers)
Hi trister, the script for to Save or NoSave from console is: /usr/local/bin/snap

Attached modified version that wil not save after waiting 10 seconds.

The part for "dialog" changed to make it work that way is:

Code: Select all

           dialog --timeout 10 --yes-label "SAVE" --no-label "NO SAVE" --yesno "Press ENTER key within 10 seconds to save the session...
Or, press TAB then ENTER to not save session...
After waiting 10 seconds the session will not be saved..." 0 0  >/dev/console
ret=$?
     [ $ret -ne 0 ] || SAVE="yes"
    
   if [ "$SAVE" != "" ];then
echo 
echo "[1;32m""Saving session...""[0m"

/usr/bin/snapmergepuppy 2> /dev/null 

  else
echo
echo "[1;31m""Session not saved""[0m"   
   fi
Change text or timeout value as you like.

EDIT: Above code is not how it is in reality, see:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 70#1010170

Fred
Attachments
snap-nosave.tar.gz
Extract and copy 'snap' (and replace) to /usr/local/bin/
(996 Bytes) Downloaded 253 times
Last edited by fredx181 on Thu 15 Nov 2018, 08:55, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#158 Post by rufwoof »

ANSI esc code didn't quote very well in the previous posting.

\003 (at least for me) .... test post ....

Code: Select all

while :
do
        printf '\033[s'
        printf '\033[1;31mSession not saved\033[0m'
        sleep 1
        printf '\033[u'
        printf '\033[s'
        printf '\033[1;32mSession not saved\033[0m'
        printf '\033[u'
        sleep 1
done
Seems to work for me (cut code, open xterm, middle mouse click to paste and press enter and I see red and green alternations of "Session not saved"

A nice feature of (real) xterm is its better true-colour support.

Code: Select all

awk 'BEGIN{
    s="/\\/\\/\\/\\/\\"; s=s s s s s s s s;
    for (colnum = 0; colnum<77; colnum++) {
        r = 255-(colnum*255/76);
        g = (colnum*510/76);
        b = (colnum*255/76);
        if (g>255) g = 510-g;
        printf "\033[48;2;%d;%d;%dm", r,g,b;
        printf "\033[38;2;%d;%d;%dm", 255-r,255-g,255-b;
        printf "%s\033[0m", substr(s,colnum+1,1);
    }
    printf "\n";
}'
whereas I believe urxvt isn't supportive
Attachments
s.jpg
(7.98 KiB) Downloaded 749 times
[size=75]( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq[/size]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1028256#1028256][size=75]Fatdog multi-session usb[/url][/size]
[size=75][url=https://hashbang.sh]echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh[/url][/size]

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#159 Post by s243a »

fredx181 wrote:@s243a
I'm getting a lot of "structure needs cleaning" errors. How do I fix them. I'm running stetchdog in a virtualbox. It was working well for quite a while but I don't see an option to do e2fsk in the boot menu.
Adding parameter fsck to the kernel boot command line will check all partitions.
(but I didn't test with virtualbox)
I can report that adding this option fixed my problem :)

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#160 Post by fredx181 »

rufwoof wrote:ANSI esc code didn't quote very well in the previous posting.
...


Yes, it's because the forum doesn't show the special character with copy/paste.
In reality it looks as in screenshot below.

Can be this also, modified echo lines (note that "dialog" display works only from console (>/dev/console)):

Code: Select all

           dialog --timeout 10 --yes-label "SAVE" --no-label "NO SAVE" --yesno "Press ENTER key within 10 seconds to save the session...
Or, press TAB then ENTER to not save session...
After waiting 10 seconds the session will not be saved..." 0 0  >/dev/console
ret=$?
     [ $ret -ne 0 ] || SAVE="yes"
    
   if [ "$SAVE" != "" ];then
echo 
echo -e "\e[0;32mSaving session...\033[0m"
/usr/bin/snapmergepuppy 2> /dev/null 

  else
echo
echo -e "\e[0;31mSession not saved\033[0m"  
   fi
Fred
Attachments
2018-11-15-092922_964x213_scrot_764x169.png
(76.12 KiB) Downloaded 725 times

step
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri 04 May 2012, 11:20

#161 Post by step »

rufwoof wrote:
A nice feature of (real) xterm is its better true-colour support. ...
whereas I believe urxvt isn't supportive
urxvt can be compiled with true color support. (For Fatdog64 you can find a contrib package at the link in my signature).
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Fatdog64-810[/url]|[url=http://goo.gl/hqZtiB]+Packages[/url]|[url=http://goo.gl/6dbEzT]Kodi[/url]|[url=http://goo.gl/JQC4Vz]gtkmenuplus[/url]

trister
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun 01 Mar 2015, 21:16

#162 Post by trister »

fredx181 wrote:
Hi trister, the script for to Save or NoSave from console is: /usr/local/bin/snap

Attached modified version that wil not save after waiting 10 seconds.

Fred
Thanks Fred.
I used your file and worked very well :)

I'll post here an updated squashfs that changes the default save option.

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#163 Post by rufwoof »

This might have a impact ??
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page= ... ific-Patch
Debian Packages To Eliminate Vendor-Specific Patches, Affecting Downstreams Like Ubuntu
[size=75]( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq[/size]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1028256#1028256][size=75]Fatdog multi-session usb[/url][/size]
[size=75][url=https://hashbang.sh]echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh[/url][/size]

User avatar
sszindian
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 02:14
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

conky clock

#164 Post by sszindian »

Installed Conky Clock from the PM... upon selecting from the menu, a dialog-box of many nice clock-faces appear to use... selecting any of them only gets a "#" to show up on the desktop.

Any suggestions appreciated!!

>>>---Indian------>
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
[url]http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192[/url]

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

Re: conky clock

#165 Post by fredx181 »

sszindian wrote:Installed Conky Clock from the PM... upon selecting from the menu, a dialog-box of many nice clock-faces appear to use... selecting any of them only gets a "#" to show up on the desktop.

Any suggestions appreciated!!

>>>---Indian------>
Hi sszindian, strange... works ok for me, clock is displaying, did you do anything special , e.g. different Desktop or other changed configuration, so then knowing that I could possibly try to reproduce ?

Fred

User avatar
sszindian
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 02:14
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

conky clock

#166 Post by sszindian »

Thanks for the quick response... Yes, I did put a nice mountian-picture (.jpg) as the desktop... have a frugal install with this Dog so updated to the latest kernel... tried PWidgets but they didn't display either... added my lttle 'Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a.pet) but I don't believe that would cause any problem... added a 'No Blank Screen .pet' (an oldie from way back but works fine). Off hand can't thin of anything else BUT as I get older, that doesn't say much :)

>>>---Indian------>
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
[url]http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192[/url]

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#167 Post by fredx181 »

Hi sszindian, and what you get when you run conkyclock from terminal ?
I get this (says "syntax error" but despite that, it works well for me (Assuming it's in old syntax and attempting conversion))

Code: Select all

root@live:~# conkyclock
conky: Syntax error (/root/.conky/Analog_clock/conkyrc1:3: unexpected symbol near '#') while reading config file. 
conky: Assuming it's in old syntax and attempting conversion.
conky: desktop window (800147) is subwindow of root window (277)
conky: window type - normal
conky: drawing to created window (0x3200001)
conky: drawing to double buffer
conky: Unknown setting 'color10'
Fred

User avatar
sszindian
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 02:14
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

conky clock

#168 Post by sszindian »

Trying various things, I lost all my savefolder upgrades and a basic stretch now loads and the mouse is totally froze up... so I can't do anything except a hard shut down (several times)... lost a lot of work here!!! Setting StretchDog on the side for now, may get back into it at a later date hard to believe all because of wanting that nice Conky Clock on my desktop :(

Thanks for your help Fred!

>>>---Indian------>
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
[url]http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192[/url]

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

Re: conky clock

#169 Post by fredx181 »

sszindian wrote:Trying various things, I lost all my savefolder upgrades and a basic stretch now loads and the mouse is totally froze up... so I can't do anything except a hard shut down (several times)... lost a lot of work here!!! Setting StretchDog on the side for now, may get back into it at a later date hard to believe all because of wanting that nice Conky Clock on my desktop :(

Thanks for your help Fred!

>>>---Indian------>
Mmm.. sounds bad, looks like something went wrong earlier which may be also be the reason why conkyclock didn't work.
In case you get back on it later, I'd say it's best to do a fresh install from the ISO.
EDIT: or if you ran upgrade-kernel, restore the .bak files in the live folder to the original, e.g. remove vmlinuz1 first then rename vmlinuz1.bak to vmlinuz1 (and same way for initrd1.xz). And then start with empty savefolder.

Fred

User avatar
sszindian
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 02:14
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

new StretchDog

#170 Post by sszindian »

Back working on a fresh new download and install of StretchDog.

Apparently my original download was corupt causing many problems including the conky-clock which now is beautiful on the desktop, kind of reminds of the old days when regular puppy analog clocks used to work OOTB in pwidgets!!!

Well, installing a piece at a time until I get it where I want it. It is a fantastic program and still has some years of life in it.

Only problem I ran into, Abiword3.0.2 from the PM doesn't want to run? Is this a problem with StretchDog or Abiword3.0.2 or... is there a 'fix' for it?

Thanks for this fine program fred!!!

>>>---Indian------>
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
[url]http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192[/url]

Post Reply