Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 18 Nov 2017, 22:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
sea monkey failings
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
debroos

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 15:05    Post subject:  sea monkey failings
Subject description: incomplete web pages

I'm a complete newbie to Puppy and with negligible experience of linux coding. I've installed puppy 4.3 on a bootable flash drive and it seems to work well thus far, apart from one - maybe more - web page which only offers a blank page when the connection to the site is completed. The site in question is - https://online-go.com/. Is there an upgraded version of sea monkey which might work, or is it possible to download and install firefox? Thanks for reading this Smile
Mike Walsh

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 18:55    Post subject:  

Hallo, debroos. And 'Welcome' to the kennels!

Now, then; it kinda begs the question, but.....why have you gone for such an old version of Puppy? Depending on your machine specs, it may be possible to install and/or use a much newer version. After all, Pup's requirements are very modest.....and the version of Pup will depend on how new a browser you can manage to run. Confused (Which isn't to say that 4.3 isn't a very good Puppy; it is.....but you may well be able to use a newer one.)

You don't need much knowledge of coding to use Pup; she's pretty easy-going, once you know your way around. Smile