Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 17 Dec 2017, 17:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Can only boot Fatdog 710 if I do not load savefile
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2017, 11:59    Post subject:  Can only boot Fatdog 710 if I do not load savefile
Subject description: Surprised that this happened
 

It's funny, I had been away from my Fatdog 710 machine for about 3 or 4 months due to other work on different machines and I noticed two things:
1) I was missing my wireless dongle (this means I borrowed it for another machine)

and
2) It will not boot unless I choose NOT to use a savefile, in which case it boots fine.

3) I found a dongle laying on my desk from another computer and put it in so I have wireless now.

But the big question is, how can I get my read/write OS back again. Currently, I cannot write to the hard drive sda1. But I noticed something by comparing to another machine's fd64save.ext4:

The permissions on the machine that works are: Read for Owner Group and World, and Write for Owner, nothing for Exec. On the machine where the savefile will not load it is: Read Owner Group and Exec Owner Group, with nothing able to Write. Unfortunately, I cannot write so if I change the flag it won't persist.

When it boots, it mentions something about aufs/new_root or new root

I don't really know what to do - I could try deleting the savefile - is that a good idea and start over?

I tried redoing the savefile a couple times but it didn't work.

Any ideas appreciated for how to get my hard-drive reading and writing properly again.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4812
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2017, 20:00    Post subject:  

Could you print your menu.lst file listing for fatdog,
especially the savefile=......... portion.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/boot-options.html

There is a certain depth of folders that fatdog will dig in to find the savefile.

You could also try ---> savefile=ask
_____________________________________

Something I do in an emergency --->
I run grub4dos by shinobar (available in most puppies)
and it makes a new menu.lst
______________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 10:45    Post subject: Fatdog menu.lst file
Subject description: I don't believe I have one
 

I boot that Fatdog machine either of two ways - either off of a CD or off of a flash stick. I don't have a menu.lst that I'm aware of. At least I can't yet find one. I'll keep looking for it.




don570 wrote:
Could you print your menu.lst file listing for fatdog,
especially the savefile=......... portion.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/boot-options.html

There is a certain depth of folders that fatdog will dig in to find the savefile.

You could also try ---> savefile=ask
_____________________________________

Something I do in an emergency --->
I run grub4dos by shinobar (available in most puppies)
and it makes a new menu.lst
______________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 10:53    Post subject: I can try the savefile= but it will take me longer than 9 s
Subject description: I only have 9 seconds to type the line I want to use
 

Can I set it to longer than 9s? I guess I can hit escape to get a prompt but it crashed - I'll try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:03    Post subject: I have to get the syntax of savefile=
Subject description: I must have made a mistake
 

At the prompt.

I need to boot and find any savefiles I have and somehow figure out how to issue:

savefile=local:path

A simple example would help so I know I have the syntax.

But I wonder if I go to the prompt are there a bunch of other things that need to be on the command line? It complained that it couldn't find the kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:21    Post subject: My savefile is on sda1
Subject description: and it's called fd64save.ext4
 

So would savefile=local:sda1/fd64save.ext4 work at the command prompt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:22    Post subject: Also, can I dynamically load the savefile?
Subject description: I doubt it, just thought I'd ask.
 

I have booted the machine without the savefile currently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:24    Post subject: Re: I have to get the syntax of savefile=
Subject description: I must have made a mistake
 

PappyPuppy wrote:
savefile=local:path

A simple example would help so I know I have the syntax.

I am using
Code:
savefile=direct:device:sda3:/fatdog710/fd64save

Hope that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:28    Post subject: I've decided to create a save directory a new one
Subject description: And try a reboot
 

so it's /dev/sda1/fd64save
now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:30    Post subject: I'll try yours if this doens't wokr
Subject description: or as an experiment
 

It's booting off the flash now. OIt takes 5 minutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:38    Post subject: Creating a new savefile does not work
Subject description: Still a disaster on boot
 

I have no idea why it won't boot.

Is there a log I could post?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 13:01    Post subject: Re: I've decided to create a save directory a new one
Subject description: And try a reboot
 

PappyPuppy wrote:
so it's /dev/sda1/fd64save
now.
Question Question Question
Why not
Code:
savefile=direct:device:sda1/fd64save.ext4
Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Thu 09 Nov 2017, 10:53    Post subject: I will try your idea I just can't do it for a couple days
Subject description: Thanks
 

I'll post when I try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1123s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0124s) ][ GZIP on ]