Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Jan 2020, 19:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
stuck on "recognising media devices..optical input" (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
aioy

Joined: 22 Oct 2017
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2017, 18:51    Post subject:  stuck on "recognising media devices..optical input" (Solved)
Subject description: After installing Puppy 6.3.2, setting password
 

I just installed puppy linux 6.3.2 and the first time I rebooted it I had no problem, but after I tried making a login and password following the steps op showed in this post http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21338 I removed the second line and reboot, but now I'm stuck on the screen saying "recognising media devices... optical input done" after other things get done being loaded, but it just stops at the media devices line and then nothing happens. How do I fix this?

https://ibb.co/fmpfkm Here is a picture of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14724
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2017, 23:17    Post subject:  

Hello aioy.

I don't want to sound coarse, but to get an answer to this sort of question, it is
customary on this forum to mention

-- which breed of Puppy (slacko, xenial, lucid, etc.)?
-- the type of install: frugal install with folder, frugal with pupsave file, full HD install?
-- a short description of your box with type of CPU, how much RAM it has,
type of video card, etc.), like a short hardinfo, inxi, or lshw report?

That info would be needed if you want us to help you. Otherwise we'll just be groping
in the dark.

Now a couple of questions:
-- How did you do your edit? From the BreedX Pup itself or from another Puppy
looking in? (and then remastering, perhaps?)
-- Did your BreedX Puppy 6.3.2 boot before you did the edit? If it didn't, maybe
the fault is not with your edit of the login procedure.

IHTH. TWYL.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13469
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2017, 23:22    Post subject:  

Aioy, so Puppy booted the first time after you installed it, and you were able to set a password, but after that it wouldn't boot again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aioy

Joined: 22 Oct 2017
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2017, 23:32    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello aioy.

I don't want to sound coarse, but to get an answer to this sort of question, it is
customary on this forum to mention

-- which breed of Puppy (slacko, xenial, lucid, etc.)?
-- the type of install: frugal install with folder, frugal with pupsave file, full HD install?
-- a short description of your box with type of CPU, how much RAM it has,
type of video card, etc.), like a short hardinfo, inxi, or lshw report?

That info would be needed if you want us to help you. Otherwise we'll just be groping
in the dark.

Now a couple of questions:
-- How did you do your edit? From the BreedX Pup itself or from another Puppy
looking in? (and then remastering, perhaps?)
-- Did your BreedX Puppy 6.3.2 boot before you did the edit? If it didn't, maybe
the fault is not with your edit of the login procedure.

IHTH. TWYL.


Slacko64 Puppy 6.3.2
idk the cpu or ram, but its a thinkpad w510, not old and I had no problems working in puppy linux before this. It's a full instal to my hdd and I did the edit directly. It booted before I did the edit, I removed this
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1 . I don't know what that does, but now I can't get in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aioy

Joined: 22 Oct 2017
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2017, 23:37    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Aioy, so Puppy booted the first time after you installed it, and you were able to set a password, but after that it wouldn't boot again?

It booted the first time I installed it, but I wasn't able to set a password. I found the thread showing how to set a password that I linked and removed this line of code from the /etc/inittab file
Code:
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1

It still boots, but it stops at "recognising media devices... optical input done" and I can't get passed that, but I can also type stuff after that just don't know any commands to fix it.
I'm using Slacko64 Puppy 6.3.2 and its fully installed to my hdd. It was booting with no issues before I did the edit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14724
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 00:05    Post subject:  

aioy wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Hello aioy.

I don't want to sound coarse, but to get an answer to this sort of question, it is
customary on this forum to mention

-- which breed of Puppy (slacko, xenial, lucid, etc.)?
-- the type of install: frugal install with folder, frugal with pupsave file, full HD install?
-- a short description of your box with type of CPU, how much RAM it has,
type of video card, etc.), like a short hardinfo, inxi, or lshw report?

That info would be needed if you want us to help you. Otherwise we'll just be groping
in the dark.

Now a couple of questions:
-- How did you do your edit? From the BreedX Pup itself or from another Puppy
looking in? (and then remastering, perhaps?)
-- Did your BreedX Puppy 6.3.2 boot before you did the edit? If it didn't, maybe
the fault is not with your edit of the login procedure.

IHTH. TWYL.

Slacko64 Puppy 6.3.2
idk the cpu or ram, but its a thinkpad w510, not old and I had no problems working in puppy linux before this. It's a full instal to my hdd and I did the edit directly. It booted before I did the edit, I removed this
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1 . I don't know what that does, but now I can't get in.

Hello aioy.

I'd say restore the original if you have a back-up -- or re-install the Pup. Then research
and study what " tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1 . " does
before doing it again ? Embarassed

I for one sure don't know! Smile

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1501
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 00:14    Post subject:  

Hello and welcome!

Removed my post, do what musher0 suggests!
---
EDIT: Or do what musher0 suggests will work too.

.

Last edited by perdido on Wed 25 Oct 2017, 10:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13201
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 02:41    Post subject:  

Try using a newer procedure to change password bootup.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=828781#828781

Several posts down, from this one, is a way to use xlock to boot to a locked screen, that requires a password to get the screen unlocked.

In the future, when looking for info on how to do something.
Look for topics that are not too old.
Really old topics are talking about really old versions of Puppy.
Puppy has changed a lot. Some of that old info no longer applies.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3450
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 05:11    Post subject: Re: stuck on "recognising media devices...optical input"
Subject description: After removing a line in /etc/inittab
 

aioy wrote:
... after I tried making a login and password following the steps op showed in this post http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21338 I removed the second line and reboot, but now I'm stuck ...


Bruce B on http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21338 wrote:
Here is the modified /etc/inittab file, changes on line 2 only:

Code:
::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot
(emphasize added by me)
There isn't anything about removing a line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 10:47    Post subject:  

Tested on a frugal Tahrpup 6.0.5, but might be the same on Slacko:

When you are at the command line after the "recognising media devices", press CONTROL + ALT + F2; this should bring you to a different terminal with a login prompt (by removing the line from inittab, you deleted the first - default - one, but you should still have one or two others). Log in (username: root, password: woofwoof, unless you changed it) and then go fix your inittab by re-adding the tty1 line as L18L quoted above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aioy

Joined: 22 Oct 2017
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 19:20    Post subject:  

mostly_lurking wrote:
Tested on a frugal Tahrpup 6.0.5, but might be the same on Slacko:

When you are at the command line after the "recognising media devices", press CONTROL + ALT + F2; this should bring you to a different terminal with a login prompt (by removing the line from inittab, you deleted the first - default - one, but you should still have one or two others). Log in (username: root, password: woofwoof, unless you changed it) and then go fix your inittab by re-adding the tty1 line as L18L quoted above.

this works, I'm in now. Thanks for all the help and replies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0514s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]