Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Nov 2017, 06:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Tahr pup won't boot from USB, Lucid will
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
frenchy

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct 2017, 09:58    Post subject:  Tahr pup won't boot from USB, Lucid will  

I've got a really strange problem with my Asus laptop X71SL.I've been running Ubuntu on it for a couple of years with no problems,until one day it wouldn't boot up and I had a blank screen with a blinking underscore.Rather than go through days of looking for potential fixes I decided to try another version of Linux.I've got quite a few versions on CD and USB so picked up the first that came to hand,PC Linux stupidly I installed it without doing any homework.I'd used a 32 bit disc which is no longer supported.So I tried several other discs and usb versions but none would boot until I tried a usb of Lucid 528 which seems to work OK.So full of confidence I made a usb of puppylinux/puppy-tahr/iso/tahrpup -6.0-CE,but this version wouldn't boot.Is there anything I can do while I'm in Lucid to repair the boot system like the boot repair that is part of Ubuntu? Regards David
ally

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct 2017, 10:07    Post subject:  

booting cd or usb?

my old asus would only boot from right hand usb sockets?!

Smile
bigpup

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct 2017, 10:22    Post subject:  

Quote:
tahrpup -6.0-CE

Tahrpup 6.0 was a little buggy.
It has been updated and bug fixed.
Tahrpup 6.0.5 and 6.0.6
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/puppy-tahr/iso/tahrpup%20-6.0-CE/

Quote: