Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Nov 2017, 15:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to partition an old HDD with GParted?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
coldmonday

Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 05 Nov 2017, 21:33    Post subject:  How to partition an old HDD with GParted?  

Hi, first time here, and to make it worse a Linux Newbie.

Here is the situation.

I'm running Puppy from a CD on an old machine of unknown provenance.

The hard drive is a 155 GigB unit (aprox) and it is partitioned up into a small (4 GiB) section that is formatted in FAT32 and holds my XP system.

The remainder is 149.05 Gig . And i believe it is NTFS.

I wish to partition this up.

However. I ran GParted , clicked DEVICES.

I found

/dev/sda (149.05 GiB) unallocated.

/dev/sdb1 (Here is a lock symbol and a green square) File system fat32: Mount Point /initrd/mnt/dev_save : Size 3.73GiB: Unused 1.5 GiB: Used 2.22 GiB boot


All well and good.

However, I accidentally locked out the /dev/sdb1 partition when trying to work on the larger one. Forgot to switch GParted to /dev/sda .

So I can't access it. Sb1, sb2 and sb3 no longer show on the desktop and I can't boot my XP from the hard drive.



So, two things. How do I unlock /dev/sdb1

And how do I use GParted to actually partition the large partition /dev/sda .

The icons New, Delete, Resize/Move, Copy, Paste. Undo and Apply are all shaded and don't do anything.

Hope you can help.

Coldmonday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4219
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 03:44    Post subject:  

coldmonday: a la Linux Newbie.

Mate I am just posting to say welcome to Puppy.

Others will be along soon to help you out on this question.

Hang in there till then.

"""""

Some starters.

Of course Puppy has GParted in it so no need for a new download.

How To Use GParted To Partition Your Hard Drive

https://www.lifewire.com/use-gparted-to-partition-hard-drive-2205693

http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/gparted

https://www.wikihow.com/Remove-a-Hard-Drive-Partition-Using-Gparted

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQzi7epI70Q

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9530
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 03:51    Post subject:  

What version of Puppy are you using on the CD?

Did you make a save on the hard drive when you shutdown running Puppy from the CD?

Do you want to still have Windows XP on the computer?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4721
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 04:03    Post subject: Re: How to partition an old HDD with GParted?  

coldmonday wrote:
However. I ran GParted , clicked DEVICES.
.
Hi, can you explain how you clicked "DEVICES" ? I have never seen this option.
cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 274
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 04:31    Post subject: XP has gone  

If I am understanding and interpreting matters right that when you say you worked on sdb that you formatted it or took out the partition table by accident. And sdb contained your XP If that is the case then TestDisk is a tool that can recover the partitions, if you are lucky.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12699
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 11:43    Post subject:  

I seem to recall that a Windows XP installation disk can repair a borked partition table.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
coldmonday

Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 17:27    Post subject:  

greengeek,

...Hi, can you explain how you clicked "DEVICES" ? I have never seen this option.
cheers

Hmmm, I wrote..


...However. I ran GParted , clicked DEVICES...




I have GParted open in front of me.

If I click the 'GParted' tab, top right hand side, next to Edit etc. There appears a drop down which gives you the choices

Refresh Devices Ctrl+R

Devices

This is where I clicked 'Devices'.

Or is it my use of the upper case you objected to mea culpa.

coldmonday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
coldmonday

Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 18:11    Post subject:  

bigpup,

I have version 5.2.8

I am running from a CD and have a USB stick plugged in to hold my details.

The hard drive.

I just managed to carve out another small partition using my XP. and partition Magic.

So I have

/dev/sda1 This is a 1 GigB , formatted FAT32 . spare file with nothing on it. Label SPARE1.

/dev/sda 149.05 formatted, I think, NTFS. This is unallocated.

/dev/sdb This is 3.73 GigB , formatted FAT32 and holds my XP . It is the partition I boot up from to work XP.


In 'Devices', this is the one that shows up as /dev/sdb1 with a lock symbol along side it. Plus it is the boot drive.

So I can't use it to boot XP or for any other purpose.

At the moment I am using the CD.

..Did you make a save on the hard drive when you shutdown running Puppy from the CD? ..

No. I was in the process of trying to make my hard drive bootable from Puppy when the problem occurred.

..Do you want to still have Windows XP on the computer?..

No. it will eventually be purely Linux.


coldmonday.

(Just found out my (the key to the left of 'W') has failed. as it's a laptop I'm using at the moment I will have to buy a USB keyboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
coldmonday

Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 18:14    Post subject:  

cthisbear,

Hi, thanks. Nice to be here.

coldmonday.

p.s. Almost forgot, thanks for the links.

Last edited by coldmonday on Mon 06 Nov 2017, 18:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
coldmonday

Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 18:30    Post subject:  

peterw,


Yes, that's about it.

Where can I find this 'TestDisk' tool ?

/dev/sdb1 is the bit that is showing the lock.

coldmonday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3154
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 18:35    Post subject:  

Hi, coldmonday.

gParted really isn't the 'beast' many people seem to regard it as; in all honesty, once you've used it a few times, you'll wonder what all the fuss was about!

In addition to Chris's links to tutorials, I'm going to add one of my own. This really is the most comprehensive, and easy-to-understand tutorial on using gParted that I've ever come across. I used this quite a bit in my early Linux days, 3-4 years ago, before I moved over to Puppy full-time.

https://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/gparted.html

Hope it proves as helpful for you as it did me.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1291

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 18:40    Post subject:  

I think in one Puppy, Slacko64 or Tahr64, it just showed my entire drive as an unallocated sda rather than sda1, sda2, sda3 too.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=936163#936163

Then I tried Slacko or Tahr 32-bit and it showed all the partitions correctly. I was somehow able to get the 64-bit ones to show sda correctly eventually as well, maybe by reducing the size of the ntfs partition in windows or in a puppy that worked then looking at GParted in the 64-bit puppy again afterwards, not sure. I guess what I'm trying to say is, I've seen the "only shows sda" bug in GParted too, and that this is not normal (I think) and it should show them as "sda1, sda2, sda3, etc." so maybe just keep trying different puppies until you find one where the GParted works with your HDD (showing sda1, sda2 instead of just sda). Tahrpup 6.0.5 32-bit was one that worked for me I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 274
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 19:21    Post subject: Gparted and lost sdb
Subject description: testdisk
 

I am not certain about whether your Puppy version has the programme testdisk in its PPM, you will have to try it. If it does not then the gparted iso will have it or if you have an Ubuntu variant it will be in the repository. Instructions for using it are https://www.howtoforge.com/data_recovery_with_testdisk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 19:41    Post subject:  

coldmonday wrote:
(Just found out my (the key to the left of 'W') has failed. as it's a laptop I'm using at the moment I will have to buy a USB keyboard.

You mean the "Q" key?

If you are on Puppy, you can use the script below, which should remap your Q to the caps lock key (provided your caps lock has the keycode 66, else you'll have to edit it). Copy and paste that code into a text editor, save it, and make your new script executable by right-clicking it in the ROX file manager and choosing "Permissions", or by typing chmod 755 /path/to/your/script in a terminal. The change will only last for your current session, but you can make it permanent by putting the script into /root/Startup, so that it runs every time the X server starts up.

Code:
#!/bin/sh

xmodmap -e "remove Lock = Caps_Lock"

# Map "q" to caps lock key. Of course, you could also choose another key.
# (Caps lock has keycode 66 on my keyboard. To find a key's code, run "xev" in
# a terminal; a small window will open. Press the key you want to test.)

xmodmap -e "keycode 66 = q"   

# enable auto-repeat:

xset r 66
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4721
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2017, 00:50    Post subject:  

coldmonday wrote:
If I click the 'GParted' tab, top right hand side, next to Edit etc. There appears a drop down which gives you the choices
Refresh Devices Ctrl+R
Devices
This is where I clicked 'Devices'.
Thanks for pointing that out coldmonday - i have never even noticed the Gparted menu before - let alone the refresh devices options Confused

Whenever I use gparted I start it by going through the main puppy menu (Menu, System, Gparted) and that brings up an extra step which allows you to select your device before the main Gparted screen shows up. I think that is a much safer way to start Gparted, rather than using a terminal to start it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0539s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]