Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Nov 2017, 18:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Need A Script To Copy From Windows Share
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1121
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2017, 20:15    Post subject:  Need A Script To Copy From Windows Share  

So I have been using puppy to make an automated backup from a windows share for a couple of years and it works fine. So I decided to change things...

I am trying to use Xenial to mount a samba share. The mount section of the script I have previously been using in Carolina without issue is:

Code:
mount.cifs //192.168.1.50/c-drive /mnt/server -o password=123


but now it hangs and refuses to mount. I am not sure what the issue is. There is no actual password on the windows share, and I cannot change that.

If I use the command

Code:
smbclient //server/c-drive -U root%woofwoof


it happily looks into the windows share, but I can't / don't know how to copy from it.

Any help?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 948
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2017, 15:25    Post subject:  

It happened to me and had to change mount.cifs for mount -t cifs

In my script I have something like this:
Code:

mount -t cifs -o username=anonymous,password=anonymous //192.168.1.23/C /root/server/C/


Hope that helps.

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1121
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2017, 19:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
Hope that helps.


I was hoping too. Unfortunately that does nothing to change things for me. It works with the older Puppy, but the exact same thing doesn't work here. Very frustrating! Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1121
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2017, 20:15    Post subject:  

Ok. Got it to work.

This is a problem with 4.13+ kernels. I found out about the problem mentioned in the YASSM thread and the solution was almost there, but further googling confirmed.

The version needs to be added to the mount line to make it work. So now I have:

Code:
mount.cifs -o username=root,password=123,vers=1.0 //192.168.1.50/c-drive /mnt/server


note the vers=1.0 after username & password and it works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11729
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 09 Nov 2017, 10:17    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
note the vers=1.0

So it looks like you must now explicitly state the SMB version of the target server, regardless of its age.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1121
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 09 Nov 2017, 17:33    Post subject:  

It seems that the default in Kernel 4.13 is to use SMB version 3 for security with modern windows.

My windows machines in this instance are XP based, which is version 1, so that is why it wasn't working.

After reading some info in the XFXenial thread, and the YASSM thread I googled to find this page:

https://www.linux.com/blog/2017/9/linux-kernel-413-dont-use-smb1

and this info:

https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/josebda/2012/06/06/windows-server-2012-which-version-of-the-smb-protocol-smb-1-0-smb-2-0-smb-2-1-or-smb-3-0-are-you-using-on-your-file-server/

So yes, it seems like you have to state the version of smb protocol to use, definitely for older windows. Someone might have to see if they can get their hands on a modern windows pc (8 or 10) to see if you can omit the vers part of the code and have it still work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0352s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]