Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 18 Dec 2017, 14:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
FF 45.9.0 ESR incompatable with newly updated Banking Portal
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Alberz

Joined: 06 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 00:00    Post subject:  FF 45.9.0 ESR incompatable with newly updated Banking Portal
Subject description: Help needed to find suitable Browser setup
 

(Setup - HP Compaq 6720s - Slacko 64 Puppy 6.3.0 - Flash Drive install)

Hi, I've been using Puppy Linux for a couple of years for secure Online Banking and just ran into trouble when trying to access My Banks newly updated site.

It appears that FF 45.9.0 ESR is no longer a suitable browser for the banking portal - Is there a way to install an updated browser to Puppy 64?
If not, does anyone have recommendations for an alternative Linux Distro with a more up-to date Browser, suitable for USB install?


The Banks site lists the Minimum Browser requirements as follows :

The latest versions of the following browsers:

Google Chrome
Microsoft Edge
Internet explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox

Minimum Settings

Session Cookies Enabled
JavaScript/Scripting Enabled



Code:
 https://www.heritage.com.au/help-centre/system-requirements



Help would be most welcome !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 956

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 00:54    Post subject:  

The newest version of Firefox should work for you. The only hiccup is getting the sound to work. I assume your bank doesn't need sound.

It comes as a compressed file. Unzip it to /opt/ and then go into /opt/firefox and click on the file called firefox. (you can really unzip it anywhere, including on your drive outside the filesystem, but /opt is the usual place to put it). For convenience you can drag the firefox file to your desktop to make a shortcut.
https://download.mozilla.org/?product=firefox-latest-ssl&os=linux64&lang=en-US

Search for "apulse" for how to get the sound working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alberz

Joined: 06 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 01:11    Post subject:  

Thanks very much for your help dancytron.

Sorry, but could I please ask what "opt" stands for?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 956

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 01:44    Post subject:  

Alberz wrote:
Thanks very much for your help dancytron.

Sorry, but could I please ask what "opt" stands for?


Just a wild guess, but I think "optional." It is the standard place to put big programs that are separate from the main operating system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alberz

Joined: 06 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 02:10    Post subject:  

Thanks again.

I've now got to the point where the unzipped files show in XArchive0.2.8.6 - but now am lost as to how to proceed with the installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9716
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 02:57    Post subject:  

Click on select all.
Click on extract.
A window will pop up asking where to exact to:
Put this as the location
Code:
/opt

Select OK.

After it completes the install.
Navigate to directory /opt
Should be a directory for Firefox.
All the Firefox files are in it.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alberz

Joined: 06 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 03:50    Post subject:  

Thanks bigpup.

I have the files extracted and am viewing them in opt.

I've tried right clicking on the file named simply firefox nothing happens - so I tried left clicking and selecting "open with" and again I'm not sure how to proceed from here!


P.S Thanks again for your help Guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9716
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 04:11    Post subject:  

You left click on the firefox file.

It may take a few seconds to open the firefox browser window.
5 or 6 seconds for me.

This is going to be a 64bit version of Firefox.
It should work in Slacko 64.

This one:
capture21544.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   95.04 KB
 Viewed   130 Time(s)

capture21544.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alberz

Joined: 06 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 04:20    Post subject:  

Thanks bigup.

When I left click the following comes up in a dialog box.

Quote:
No run action specified for files of this type(aplicatio/x-excutable) - you can set run action by choosing 'Set Run Action' from the file menu, or you can just drag the file to an application.

Note: If this is a computer program which you want to run, you need to set the execute bit by choosing Permissions from the File menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9716
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 04:23    Post subject:  

In the PPM(puppy package manager)
You can do a search for firefox.
It may offer a newer version of firefox esr to try.

Firefox is just getting to be one big piece of, nothing but trouble, to get working.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9716
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 04:31    Post subject:  

You should not even be getting that error.

Right click on the firefox file.
Choose properties.
Does it look like this?
capture7013.png
 Description   
 Filesize   28.98 KB
 Viewed   119 Time(s)

capture7013.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alberz

Joined: 06 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 04:40    Post subject:  

Yeah sorry that error happened when clicking on a copy of the FF exe that I put on the desk top. Nothing happens when I click on the file in the opt.

One difference for Me to your screen grab is the following "Extended attributes Not supported"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9716
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 04:45    Post subject:  

Try deleting the firefox directory from /opt to uninstall what you installed.
Start over.
Get a new download of the Firefox from their web site.
Install the new one.

Could be, I hope, a bad download/install.

Are you having fun ,Yet?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9716
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 04:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
Yeah sorry that error happened when clicking on a copy of the FF exe that I put on the desk top.

Do this by dragging and dropping the firefox file to the desktop.
That should make it work as a desktop icon to click on.

Not sure exactly why this is being so much trouble for you, but we will figure it out.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alberz

Joined: 06 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 05:20    Post subject:  

Thanks bigpup I'l try starting over.

I really appreciate your help, as secure banking is important to me.

By the way is there an easy way to access 'opt' directly as I got to it via the FF save files before ?


I managed to upload a previous screen shot of firefox permissions showing the differences with your install - which include "Extended Attributes Not Supported" and "uses shared libs" instead of "interpreter"


Do you think I may need to uninstall FF 45.9.0 ESR before installing FF 57 ?

Last edited by Alberz on Sun 19 Nov 2017, 05:53; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0493s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]