Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Oct 2019, 11:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
USB-Mouse not working in Slacko 6.3 after HD install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 10 [142 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 71
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 15:32    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:

Did you try unplugging then re-plugging the mouse?


Of course I did. I checked out two different mouses, a wired and a wireless one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fossil


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 1154
Location: Gloucestershire, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 16:05    Post subject:  

@rimatheou
I Still use Puppy 431 along with several other older Puppy's on equally ancient computers, all booting from a USB!
I'm with greengeek, try removing the hard drive and then booting from the USB. Have you made the USB bootable by ticking the flag in GParted?

If all else fails and the BIOS will not see the USB stick as a bootable device, try the boot manager, PLOP.
https://www.plop.at/en/bootmanagers.html
Enclosed an image of one of my USB sticks with various older Puppy's frugally installed using Grub4DOS. There is no need for multiple partitions.
USB-Bootable.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.85 KB
 Viewed   236 Time(s)

USB-Bootable.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 71
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 16:26    Post subject:  

lupu-500 is booting fine from hd, x-server works out of the box, mouse is working. After installing one has to setup grub manually and edit menu.lst.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12762
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 16:40    Post subject:  

OK!

I think we are getting confused on what you are exactly doing and what your problem still is.

Need to be detailed and specific.
Booting from what device?
Using what boot loader?
You do what?
You see what?

At this point.

I do not know if booting from a hard drive is a problem.

Booting from a USB drive is a problem.

Mouse still not working when Puppy Slacko 6.3 is installed to the hard drive, and you are booting from that hard drive install.

Slacko 6.3 may just not be a good Puppy for your hardware.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5623
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sun 17 Dec 2017, 00:18    Post subject:  

rimatheou wrote:
I checked out two different mouses, a wired and a wireless one.
OK - if you ever back to Slacko 6.3 and still get the mouse problem it would be interesting to see the output of the command: "#dmesg" after you replug the mouse.

All I can suggest is that the timing of usb bus initialisation is different between an HDD boot and a usb (or CD) boot - maybe if it fails to detect an external mouse during boot (from HDD) then it can never allow any other mouse to be plugged in via usb.

(I have a similar problem on a Toshiba where it sometimes boots without recognising the touchpad mouse which is a usb device - after failing to detect it at boot it seems to lock it out and will never see it again)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 71
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 17 Dec 2017, 15:01    Post subject:  

@ bigpup

I'm also a little bit confused on what I've all done, because I cannot remember all the steps.

I now boot from hard drive, using Grub (not Grub4Dos). I run Puppy Linux 500 frugal in sda1 dir puppy500. X-Server is great. Mouse is working.

Booting from USB is no problem, I think you missunderstood.

I have the following interfaces:
eth0; Driver: sis900
wlan0; Driver: prism2_usb

Internet connection would be the next thing, but a new thread might be better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5623
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2017, 01:48    Post subject:  

Now you are using grub instead of grub4dos it would be interesting to see how Slacko 6.3.2 behaved when booted from HDD. Same or different?

If Slacko 6.3.2 does not run well on your hardware 01micko would be interested I think - and may be able to offer possible reasons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 71
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 21 Dec 2017, 11:17    Post subject:  

Someone here said that he has several Puppies on a usb drive. I want to check out different Puppies because of wlan detection, and I don't want to delete the Puppies from the usb drive. Can you tell me how to make a multiboot usb drive? I now have Puppy 431 and Puppy 500 on hard drive and Grub installed. X-Server ist great and mouse is working. I want to install puppy 520 and so on, until wlan is working (and mouse not Wink ) Now there is a usb drive with puppy 431 and one with 500. I have no more drives, and I don't want to buy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12762
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Dec 2017, 13:58    Post subject:  

Each Puppy is a frugal install in their own separate directories.
Puppy 4.3.1 in directory puppy431.
Puppy 500 in directory puppy500.
Puppy 520 in directory puppy520.
Etc........

Install Grub4dos Boot loader, to the USB flash drive, to have a boot menu with each one listed.

Those are some old Puppies.
You may want to be using the latest version of Grub4dos boot loader.
Grub4dos config
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

When you run Grub4dos bootloader config.
select the usb flash drive as the device to install on.
Select search only within this device.
All the other default settings are OK.
OK.
OK.
OK.
Done.

If you remove a Puppy version or install a new one.
Simply rerun Grub4dos config to update the boot menu.

Last edited by bigpup on Thu 21 Dec 2017, 14:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5623
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 21 Dec 2017, 13:59    Post subject:  

There are several different methods that can be used to set up multiple puppies on one stick. Is it possible for you to post an image of what Gparted sees on the stick so we can see your partitioning arrangement and sizes?

Also - if you could take a screenshot showing what files are in each of the partitions that hold the grub loader, the menu.lst, and the puppy files, that will help us visualise your starting point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 71
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 07:59    Post subject:  

I've now installed Grub4Dos on the USB flash drive with nothing else on it. I have these files on it:
Code:

ls
grldr  lost+found  menu-advanced.lst  menu.lst  sdb_mbr.bak

The flash drive is in only one partition partitionated and formatted with ext4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 71
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 08:01    Post subject:  

This is menu.lst

Code:

# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.9
color blue/cyan yellow/blue white/black cyan/black
#splashimage=/splash.xpm
timeout 10
default 0

# Windows
# this entry searches Windows on the HDD and boot it up
title Windows\nBoot up Windows if installed
  map (hd1) (hd0)
  map (hd0) (hd1)
  map --hook
  errorcheck off
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /bootmgr
  chainloader /bootmgr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /ntldr
  chainloader /ntldr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd   /io.sys
  chainloader /io.sys
  errorcheck on

# Advanced Menu
title Advanced menu
  configfile /menu-advanced.lst
  commandline
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 71
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 14:09    Post subject:  

I have a directory puppy431 on the drive and this is the content:
Code:

initrd.gz  pup-431.sfs  syslinux.cfg  vmlinuz

as it is described here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54566
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5623
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 14:13    Post subject:  

EDIT : - looks like you and I were posting at the same time so you have already started what I was about to suggest below:

From this point on you have a number of options in order to load multiple puppies - we may all do it slightly differently so try not to mix different methods.

I have never used ext4 so my method may not be suitable but here is what I would suggest:

First - make sure that the boot flag is set on the stick.

Make a subdirectory with a name that reflects the first Puppy that you want to try. Go for a basic one that seems to have liked your hardware. I think you mentioned Lucid as one option. I will use puppy 431 as an example: call the subdirectory "pup431" and inside it copy the 3 files from the puppy 4.3.1 iso eg vmlinuz, initrd.gz and pup431.sfs

Now run grub4dos again to get a new menu.lst (you may even have to remove the one that is allready there).

Recent Grub4dos versions will identify the pup431 subdirectory as a frugal install and write the menu.lst in such a way that the stick can now boot from pup431. Older versions of Grub4dos do not properly understand frugal - and will build an incorrect menu.lst.

If the stick does not boot please post back what happens, along with the menu.lst contents.

If the stick DOES boot then you can now add other subdirectories with other names that identify which pup files you are trialling (eg Precise 56, Lupu2, Tahr503 etc etc). Manually add a new stanza into the menu.lst for each new frugal subdirectory. You should find it straightforward to copy the format of the pup431 stanza when you set up the other entries - just change the names as required.

Some puppies need more than 3 files loaded into their frugal directory - some puppies have a zdrv or an adrv etc. I don't know if they require special treatment in the boot stanza - others will be able to tell you.

I would suggest proving the "multiple frugal" method first by using puppies that have 3 files not the ones that have 4.

Last edited by greengeek on Fri 29 Dec 2017, 14:20; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5623
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 14:15    Post subject:  

rimatheou wrote:
I have a directory puppy431 on the drive and this is the content:
Code:

initrd.gz  pup-431.sfs  syslinux.cfg  vmlinuz

as it is described here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54566

Remove that syslinux.cfg file. It does not belong there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 10 [142 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0717s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0218s) ][ GZIP on ]