Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Jan 2018, 22:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to release memory frozen by VLC? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2249
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 06:15    Post subject:  How to release memory frozen by VLC? (Solved)  

It seems that VLC uses an aweful lot of memory to the point that it actually freezes. I've noted that Tahr does not release this RAM used up by VLC to great effect even when VLC is closed. Is there an application that can free this memory that should be available otherwise?

Edit: Actually this command seems to do the trick
Code:
sync && echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2249
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 20:21    Post subject:  

One has to run the command before VLC and the system freezes of course. So free memory has to be checked after relatively hard use of VLC ( I use the "free" command to check the memory). This is also generally applicable only when running fully in RAM, so the amount of RAM available for your particular system will obviously play a role. Having said the latter, VLC also freezes my Windows system after heavy usage even with a huge swap file in operation. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11508
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 22:53    Post subject:  

Hi nic007.

It sounds as though you are ready to chuck vlc in favor of mpv, xine or
mplayer ??!! (Where is the tongue-in-cheek icon?) Laughing

I think the problem you are describing is called a "memory leak". It looks a lot like
how the pekwm WM, which is now very solid, behaved in a very early version. Have
you tried another version of VLC? Have the devs now fixed this problem?

Besides, no media player will say it publicly of course, but none of them does it all.
Experience has taught me that they all have their "whims", they all "go nuts" in
some situations. The user should always have two media players in his toolbox: if
# 1 fails at playing media X, don't lock horns with it, use media player # 2.

It's the main rule of computing, you know: always have a back-up for everything.
Even programs; not just files and disks.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)

Last edited by musher0 on Sun 17 Dec 2017, 07:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2249
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 17 Dec 2017, 01:58    Post subject:  

Hi, musher0. Yes, could be the VLC version. I'm using basically the same version in Tahr and Windows. The newer versions are much bigger, would be surprised if it goes "lighter" on system resources. I'm talking heavy usage here, running a few hours of HD quality videos so perhaps being a bit harsh. Otherwise, VLC is good. Better than mplayer which is even less stable and of course my version of windows media player does not play mp4's by default...and I'm not going to download extra codecs just for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2249
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jan 2018, 03:55    Post subject:  

Another easy way of freeing up the memory is to unmount the drive you have read from. This of course is only possible if you don't have your system files on that drive so you are able to unmount it (typically when one is running totally in RAM). As soon as the drive is unmounted, the memory will be flushed and will be available immediately. A quick unmount and mount does the trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0475s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0187s) ][ GZIP on ]