Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Jun 2018, 10:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox Quantum (60.0.1) portable with apulse All-in
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3105
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 21 Dec 2017, 17:23    Post subject:  Firefox Quantum (60.0.1) portable with apulse All-in
Subject description: Extract and run "ff" script inside folder
 

Firefox Quantum (60.0.1) portable with apulse included, the settings for it, to make audio work (in about:config), are preconfigured (EDIT not anymore required for 60.0.1)
Extract to someplace and (inside extracted folder) run the "ff" script
To update (if available), go to Help > About
Thanks to OscarTalks for providing apulse !
EDIT: The personal profile will be inside "profile" folder

EDIT2: Changed to version 58.0, (settings for apulse fixed) download links replaced.
EDIT 2018-01-31:Changed to version 58.0.1 download links replaced.
EDIT 2018-02-08:Changed to version 58.0.2 download links replaced.
EDIT 2018-02-19:See here info and a gtk3 sfs for running on systems without having gtk3 installed, e,g, x-slacko:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=983400#983400
EDIT 2018-04-26, See here for a precise gtk3 pet package from Mike Walsh:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=989764#989764
EDIT 2018-04-29 Version 59.02 now, download links below updated.
EDIT 2018-05-17 Updated to version 60.0.1
Mike Walsh provided a pet for a menu entry:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/w5525xfpu0j33sw/FF_Quantum-MenuEntry.pet
Required for this is that the firefox32 (or firefox64) folder is in /opt (so the path is e.g: /opt/firefox32/).
EDIT: Re-uploaded without any special "sandbox.security" pre-configuration included (not needed anymore), see also EDIT Here

32-bit:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/mpiebwpu4zevpey/firefox-60.0.1-32-bit.tar.gz?dl=1
64-bit:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/7i2e2t7namakpe8/firefox-60.0.1-64-bit.tar.gz?dl=1

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website

Last edited by fredx181 on Fri 18 May 2018, 05:04; edited 16 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1064

PostPosted: Tue 26 Dec 2017, 15:19    Post subject:  

I remastered this into the new Debian Stretch CE puppy.

Works great.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=978391#978391
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
frenchiveruti

Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jan 2018, 02:26    Post subject:  

Thanks a lot fred, I'll try it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1064

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2018, 15:29    Post subject:  

I am not using this, I made my own before Fred came out with this, but I upgraded to Firefox 58 last night and it broke the sound. A little bit of googling seems to indicate they've tightened up the sandbox security a little more.

Going to about:config and changing security.sandbox.content.level from 3 to 0 made the sound work again, but I am under the impression that turns off a lot of security stuff. I am sure there is a better setting to use that will allow the sound and leave more of the sandbox security in place that rcrsn51 and fred will figure out.

I'll cross post this in the Debian Stretch thread to rcrsn51 will see it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1773
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2018, 21:47    Post subject:  

Reply posted in the other thread:-
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=111199&start=969

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3105
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 15:32    Post subject:  

Changed to version 58.0, settings for apulse fixed, thanks OscarTalks
Download links replaced, see first post.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3367
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jan 2018, 06:23    Post subject:  

Thanks indeed to @OscarTalks....

For info: the magic number for LxPupSc and ArtfulPup is 54.....

sfs

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3105
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jan 2018, 13:58    Post subject:  

Previously made mistake with the 32bit version, it still was version 57.0 (and should have been 58.0)

Fixed now and upgraded to latest v58.0.1, see download links in first post.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3800
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jan 2018, 19:41    Post subject:  

dancytron wrote:
I am not using this, I made my own before Fred came out with this, but I upgraded to Firefox 58 last night and it broke the sound. A little bit of googling seems to indicate they've tightened up the sandbox security a little more.

Going to about:config and changing security.sandbox.content.level from 3 to 0 made the sound work again, but I am under the impression that turns off a lot of security stuff. I am sure there is a better setting to use that will allow the sound and leave more of the sandbox security in place that rcrsn51 and fred will figure out.

I'll cross post this in the Debian Stretch thread to rcrsn51 will see it.


Just updated to 58.0.1 in Tahr64. No sound. Trying the security.sandbox.content.level change makes absolutely no difference. Radiotunes flips rapidly through a whole bunch of tracks before giving up, with a pop-up informing you that it is 'Unable to capture the stream. Stream disconnected. Giving up.....'

Good job I don't rely on this. I only keep up with it purely out of curiosity...!

I think I'll stick with my Chromium-based browsers. I know what I'm doing with them. More proof that I was on the right track when I 'dropped' FF all those years ago.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3105
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2018, 14:19    Post subject:  

Updated to latest version 58.0.2, see first post for download.
The 32-bit included apulse settings changed to :
Code:
defaultPref("security.sandbox.content.level", 2);  // set new default value
defaultPref("security.sandbox.content.write_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");
defaultPref("security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist", "54");
defaultPref("security.sandbox.content.read_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");


The change to 54 (instead 53) for "security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist", for 32-bit version gives better chance that it works on most distro's, thanks peebee.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sat 17 Feb 2018, 01:01    Post subject:  

I'm trying to run ff32 on X-Slacko Slim 4.4.r9. Got that:

/mnt/sda1/firefox32/ff
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /mnt/sda1/firefox32/libmozgtk.so:
libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1064

PostPosted: Sat 17 Feb 2018, 01:22    Post subject:  

kuman11 wrote:
I'm trying to run ff32 on X-Slacko Slim 4.4.r9. Got that:

/mnt/sda1/firefox32/ff
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /mnt/sda1/firefox32/libmozgtk.so:
libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.


It needs gtk-3. What version of slackware is your puppy based on?

You should be able to search for gtk-3 or maybe just gtk in Puppy Package Manager and find what you need to install. Try that and report back if you can't make it work. If we know the slackware version, we could probably find what you need to add online. For example, this would be the right one for slackware 14. https://slackware.pkgs.org/14.0/slackware-i486/gtk+3-3.4.4-i486-1.txz.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1082

PostPosted: Sat 17 Feb 2018, 20:09    Post subject:  

This works on tahrpup but I get this error:

Code:

(/opt/firefox/firefox:31436): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion 'object->ref_count > 0' failed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2439
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sat 17 Feb 2018, 23:04    Post subject: firefox quantum on X-slacko-slim 4.4r9  

Hi All,

If I've tracked it down correctly, X-Slacko-slim 4.4r9 is compatible with "upstream 14.1", http://blog.puppylinux.com/?viewDetailed=00028. And as kuman11's running the 32 bit version, this is probably the package needed: https://slackware.pkgs.org/14.1/slackware-i486/gtk+3-3.8.2-i486-2.txz.html.

But it gets a little more complicated. Kuman11 runs a "remaster" without a SaveFile/Folder and prefers to continue with that system. Although one possibility would be to temporarily create a SaveFile and remaster, I was wondering if there wasn't another solution.

In order not to conflict with "builtin" applications, Watchdog's palemoon includes the glibc libraries. I think, similarly, fredx181 solves the apulse problem by including the necessary libraries. The code in "ff" is:

#!/bin/sh
LAUNCHDIR="$(cd "$(dirname "$0")"; pwd)"
mkdir "$LAUNCHDIR/profile" 2> /dev/null
"$LAUNCHDIR/apulse" "$LAUNCHDIR/firefox" "$@" -profile "$LAUNCHDIR/profile"

The reference to apulse above is (I think) to the bash-script named apulse which reads:

#!/bin/sh

APULSEPATH="/usr/lib/apulse"

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$APULSEPATH${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH} exec "$@"

Firefox's folder, itself, contains several libpulse-related libraries, and symbolic links (as necessary) to those. I also noticed gtk2 folder containing libmozgtk.so.

That's about as far as my understanding goes, As they say, a little knowledge is a dangerous thing. But I wondered if a similar method was possible for incorporating gtk-3 libraries necessary on kuman11's system.

I've raised this otherwise academic problem because both Mozilla and Google keep 'uping the ante' making it difficult for older systems to run web-browsers required by "modern" webpages. Fredx181's approach of employing everything within a self-contained "portable" folder is, IMHO, the best technique for overcoming that obstacle. An understanding of how to build on that method may come in handy.

But, perhaps it would be best to start a thread in the Programming Section to reply.

@ s243a: I get the same error in joomlapup=tahrpup 6.0.5. But despite it's assertion of "critical", this version of firefox runs, seemingly without problems. [Thought I'd see what joomla was all about]. Will boot into Tahrpup 6.0.6 with 4.1.30 kernel in a couple of minutes. Not having run it from the terminal I might never have known of the error.

Yep. 6.0.6 with 4.1.30 kernel also shows the error. As I hadn't gotten around to deleting the firefox 57 folder, started that version via the terminal as well. Reports the same "error".

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3105
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 08:12    Post subject:  

Installing gtk3 from PPM makes it work for me on X-slacko slim, package name: gtk+3-3.8.2

@mikeslr,
Quote:
But I wondered if a similar method was possible for incorporating gtk-3 libraries necessary on kuman11's system
.
In theory it should be possible to add the gtk3 libs to the portable package, but probably it won't work on all distro's.

EDIT: Here's a gtk3 sfs for x-slacko, Firefox Quantum works fine after loading it:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/28hr2yel3ulqkum/gtk3-xslacko.sfs?dl=0
(32 bit)

Also I tested loading above sfs on x-tahr (without gtk3, the x-tahr version I run), firefox runs after loading the sfs, but no audio, can be fixed by disabling the sandbox, open the file "ff4lxpup.cfg" in the folder and change setting for sandbox to 0 :
Code:
defaultPref("security.sandbox.content.level", 0);


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1799s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0272s) ][ GZIP on ]