Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 May 2018, 01:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Puppy Sourcery
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1317
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2018, 07:39    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Right now, I am doing an aarch64 (arm 64-bit) compile in OpenEmbedded, just to see if it is doable.

Yes, it is. Did a complete build yesterday, it compiled most apps, and the big ones such as LibreOffice.

Started it again today, with some changes.

A generic build, not targeting any particular board.

I am thinking, while import the packages into PETs.

Jon,
Have you looked at the Kogan brand, very cheap:

https://www.kogan.com/au/kogan/shop/tablets-laptops/laptops/?order_by=price&page=1


Thanks Barry, I had looked at that one and a few others, but they can't supply my other requirements. And thank you for going with the ARM 64bit build testing so quickly. It's nice to know I can go this path without problems.

Whatever I end with, I still need to be able to run my Leadlighting Graphics Design software as well as my Storyboard/Manga packages on it for when training students and that needs a WXUGA+ if not a full 4K UHD screen. I picked this one as a specification base (for now) as it does almost everything I want to do in the one '2-in-1 Tablet' without me having to compomise. And of course being windows 10S (think of windows 10 being cutback to almost basics) and LTE, etc. inbuilt it's at least worth looking seriously at.

I could have stuck to intel/amd, but the NEAR equivalent starts over $A1000 dearer in value and to completely match it you would have had to look at $A3,600+. I might have money coming spare at present with my latest job being in it's final days, but i'd rather spend the money and have "a few of those extra jobs that need doing around the property completed" like a waterproof roof again before winter sets in.

I might add i'm not buying it yet as i've been in contact with another maker with basically the same thing in 14" and supposedly only a couple of hundred dearer in value.

EDIT1: Well I've just written off the HP Envy X2. It seems that HP has derated the screen to 1920x1080 and the Storage is now via UFS mounted on the motherboard like eMMC not a normal and replaceable SSD. The only place with some still at 2560 x 1600 is Microsoft's australian store and although the cost is the same I suspect it's one of those 'until they run out of stock' jobs. I like the snapdragon processor though so for now I shall await what happens. As I said earlier, the Intel equivalent is $A3600+ and i'm not paying that!
Oh, and the supposedly equivalent,wasn't, and that's the end of that.

EDIT2: And just as I was sorting out a new source for the Snapdragon Envy2... I received some information that's a killer as far as i'm concerned...it's a 32bit machine... Blast, now I do have to look at alternatives!

Last edited by scsijon on Sat 21 Apr 2018, 06:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1317
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2018, 01:51    Post subject: UEFI access and maybe a Windows S ?problem  

I found a very good explanation for access to UEFI on the HP support pagehttps://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-spectre-12-c000-x2-detachable-pc/15551142/model/15747483/dohttps://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-spectre-12-c000-x2-detachable-pc/15551142/model/15747483/document/c03801890cument/c03801890 and thought it might be worth sharing since it relates to both Notebooks as well as Tablets.

For Windows S I have had a report from a user with a new Windows S laptop (not a Microsoft branded one).

From the report given:

They could not get the bios changes we are use to doing (secure boot off, F12 access, etc.) to 'stick'. Apparently each time they changed it, saved the changes, rebooted to make use of the changes, the 'bios' would reset itself to what it was before.

Even worse, when they reduced "c" drive and added a new partition and installed by copying the relevant files across. After a reboot windows came up (naturally) and after checking, it deleted/rebuilt the 'c' partition to how it was before.

For others, Windows S is a 'cutdown' Windows 10 but has a lot of 'extra security and safety' bits included. It's only available pre-installed or installed by 'certified partners for schools and universities'. Updates apparently only can occur automatically over the net. It's sold with a free upgrade to windows 10 (pro I believe) but it's supposedly only the extra parts that are added, the 'S' components are supposedly permanent.

Do we have anyone else out there with one, or access to a laptop with Windows S that could either confirm or deny this action please. I would rather not have to travel a few hundred km if I don't have too, nor them to me.

EDIT1: Found a ref. https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05604470 on the HP site with others inset if anyone is interested.

EDIT2: Also found there is a Windows PE for pre-instalation/repair.

EDIT3: Apparently, and I quote:-
Quote:
Windows 10 is automatically updated, which is always enabled.

Last edited by scsijon on Sun 29 Apr 2018, 23:20; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1317
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2018, 23:32    Post subject: SSD can be eMMC  

I've been notified and just confirmed a notebook, even though it's listed as SSD, has 512gb of eMMC memory on an internal card, which is therefore technically right. Please be carefull people and check just what your getting for your money as eMMc is usually on the motherboard and therefore can't be changed if it goes faulty or upgraded if you so desire.

EDIT1:29 April:
1-And i've got my online workstation motherboard dying, just as it's cooling down here, so i had best replace it before I loose another system before I have duplicated it.
2-B... keyboards going at the same time, right a full swapout this week.

EDIT2: The SDD Card is listed as UFS 2.1 storage. There was no referance to eMMC until I checked the Maintenance Manual. (I was asked).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0388s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]