Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 May 2018, 20:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Business
Softmaker Office 2018 for Linux is out now
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1985

PostPosted: Wed 07 Feb 2018, 05:45    Post subject:  Softmaker Office 2018 for Linux is out now  

Here's a link for those who are interested;

http://www.softmaker.com/en/

What does everyone think? At the moment I'm cool on the idea of upgrading to it (I have a paid-for copy of Office 2016), especially for £44.99. I didn't like the ribbon (a new feature in Office 2018) when it was introduced in Microsoft Office, though it can be turned off in Softmaker.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 Beta, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Slackware64 14.2, VLocity 7.2 Final, Salix 14.2, Vector 7.2 Light (32-bit), OpenSUSE 42 Li-f-e, Stella 6.8 and Precise 5.7.1 Large.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 526
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Wed 07 Feb 2018, 09:31    Post subject:  

I have been using the free 2016 and 2018 Beta... i like it. Reminds me of StarOffice back in the day... also from Germany.... Softmaker runs great on my Puppies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1985

PostPosted: Sun 11 Feb 2018, 09:54    Post subject:  

There doesn't seem to be an autosave function in Textmaker 2018 (I can't find one in the manual).

I've just lost about a quarter of an hour's work when the program crashed (or I closed it accidentally) ... no major harm done as I was able to reinstate it, but it would definitely deter me from purchasing the program. I probably need to check with the Softmaker forum about whether I'm right about this though.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 Beta, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Slackware64 14.2, VLocity 7.2 Final, Salix 14.2, Vector 7.2 Light (32-bit), OpenSUSE 42 Li-f-e, Stella 6.8 and Precise 5.7.1 Large.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 526
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sun 11 Feb 2018, 15:13    Post subject:  

gee I just ran across the autosave on and off I think..... but can not find it again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1104
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 14 Feb 2018, 09:58    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
There doesn't seem to be an autosave function in Textmaker 2018 (I can't find one in the manua).

Tools->Options->Files->Auto recovery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1985

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2018, 03:04    Post subject:  

jrb wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
There doesn't seem to be an autosave function in Textmaker 2018 (I can't find one in the manua).

Tools->Options->Files->Auto recovery


Thanks. I'm still waiting for someone to reply to my post on the Softmaker forum.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 Beta, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Slackware64 14.2, VLocity 7.2 Final, Salix 14.2, Vector 7.2 Light (32-bit), OpenSUSE 42 Li-f-e, Stella 6.8 and Precise 5.7.1 Large.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Business
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0607s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]