Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 23 Apr 2018, 00:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Chrome to have an ad blocker
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
labbe5

Joined: 13 Nov 2013
Posts: 1148
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2018, 18:24    Post subject:  Chrome to have an ad blocker
Subject description: Google wants to prevent further loss of ad revenue with its own ad blocker
 

https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2017/12/chromes-ad-blocker-goes-live-on-february-15th/

Further reading :
https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2018/02/good-news-chrome-debuts-automatic-blocking-of-annoying-ads/

Last edited by labbe5 on Mon 19 Feb 2018, 11:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 828

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2018, 21:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
Google's ad blocker will only block ads deemed "unacceptable" by the "Coalition for Better Ads", an industry group that counts Google and Facebook among its members.
Now that doesn't look like loss of revenue.
More like monopoly on ad business.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 127
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2018, 22:36    Post subject:  

I'm using the Chrome 59 sfs file that Mike developed.
I don't see any indication that an ad blocker is in use. There was suppose to be some sort of icon that indicated it was in use. I don't see it.

Maybe it is only for the latest versions of Chrome!

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
quirkian2new

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 97
Location: on the inter-planet train

PostPosted: Sat 17 Feb 2018, 04:01    Post subject:  

According to another thread for google-chrome, running as root is prohibited from v62 or 63 several months ago(for the sake of ???)

As time goes by, some of us may think that there may be some connection between "prohibit running as root" and this "announced google ad-blocking plan".

Does this imply that future google-chrome can only be run in "google-advertising-mode" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0305s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]