Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 11 Nov 2019, 21:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
The Debian-Stretch-Live Starter Kit
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 21 [309 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 17:17    Post subject:  

I noticed that Vostro pause before X started and Latitude did not.
This pause is more noticeable if you open a second session (Ctrl-Alt-F2).
And if you switched between sessions, the pause is very bad.

I investigated further and found the difference ('culprit') - graphics driver.

Dell Vostro 1510
Intel Core2Duo @2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 60GB SSD, Graphics - Intel 965

Code:
CPU:  Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T5870  @ 2.00GHz
Cores:  2   
RAM:  2043116 kB

Video:
 Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary) (rev 0c)
 Kernel driver in use: i915

Xorg driver in use: modesetting
Other loaded modules: fb glamoregl glx libinput shadow
Current resolution: 1280x800

PCI Audio:
 Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
 Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Multimedia Cards:  none
Devices: 
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel]

PCI Ethernet:
 Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
 Kernel driver in use: r8169
Devices:  eth0

PCI Wireless:
 Broadcom Limited BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)
 Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
Devices:  wlan0


Dell Latitude D630
Intel Core2Duo @2.2GHz, 2GB RAM, 120GB SSD, Graphics - nVidia Quadro NVS 135M
Code:
CPU:  Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T7500  @ 2.20GHz
Cores:  2
RAM:  2050840 kB

Video:
 NVIDIA Corporation G86M [Quadro NVS 135M] (rev a1)
 Kernel driver in use: nouveau

Xorg driver in use: modesetting
Other loaded modules: fb glamoregl glx libinput shadow
Current resolution: 1280x800

PCI Audio:
 Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
 Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Multimedia Cards:  none
Devices: 
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel]

PCI Ethernet:
 Broadcom Limited NetXtreme BCM5755M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)
 Kernel driver in use: tg3
Devices:  eth0

PCI Wireless:
 Broadcom Limited BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 03)
 Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
Devices:  none


How can I tell Vostro to use nouveau driver? Is it possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 18:01    Post subject:  

dcung wrote:
How can I tell Vostro to use nouveau driver? Is it possible?

You can't. The nouveau driver is specifically for nVidia cards.

But you can try forcing the Intel video to use a different Xorg driver. Put "i915.modeset=0" on the GRUB kernel line.

The machine may switch to the "intel" driver, which is included and appears to support your card.

If not, you may have to fall back to vesa mode. At the console prompt, type:
Code:
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-vesa
startx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 18:38    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
But you can try forcing the Intel video to use a different Xorg driver. Put "i915.modeset=0" on the GRUB kernel line.

The machine may switch to the "intel" driver, which is included and appears to support your card.

Didn't work. It keeps doing "Sending discover" repeatedly.


rcrsn51 wrote:
If not, you may have to fall back to vesa mode. At the console prompt, type:
Code:
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-vesa
startx

This works. Switching between sessions is fast now. No more pausing.

Thanks Bill.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 21:33    Post subject:  

@Bill,

My apology. This is off-topic. Should be in XenPup thread (I searched a little).

On the Vostro, I also installed XenialPup64_75.
Upon boot, it also pause before X start...(same symptoms)
Would I be correct in thinking that this is the same graphic card driver issue?
I put 'nomodeset' but didn't seem to make difference. I hate staring at blank screen when it boots.
I think it uses vesa driver eventually (?), I just want to 'hurry it up'.

EDIT
I put a posting there too, linking here for history.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106479&start=723
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 23:17    Post subject:  

I can't comment on Xenial, but it's my sense that the Xorg in Debian Stretch is pretty good. If it can't find the best driver on its own, the likely alternative is a fall-back to vesa.

[Edit] I found a source claiming that installing the package intel-microcode might get you better results with the native video driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2018, 23:08    Post subject:  

FYI

Installed Starter Kit (32bit).
I added broadcom driver.
PeasyWifi - wlan0 not activated/detected.
I used frisbee instead and it was ok.

HP Mini 110-1000
Intel Atom N280 @1.66GHz 1GB RAM

Code:
[   11.020843] b43-phy0: Broadcom 4312 WLAN found (core revision 15)
[   11.064143] b43-phy0: Found PHY: Analog 6, Type 5 (LP), Revision 1
[   11.064165] b43-phy0: Found Radio: Manuf 0x17F, ID 0x2062, Revision 2, Version 0
[   11.080373] Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PNLS ]
[   11.103772] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: direct-loading firmware b43/ucode15.fw
[   11.115039] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: direct-loading firmware b43/lp0initvals15.fw
[   11.115676] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: direct-loading firmware b43/lp0bsinitvals15.fw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 05:55    Post subject:  

I have questions about Power Management.

Both my Dell Vostro & Dell Latitude, go to sleep/suspend when lid is closed or when menu/logout/suspend selected. But both laptops wake up to blank screen. I can only press power button and that trigger shutdown. Is there additional package to install?

BionicDog and Fatdog64 can do this function properly on these laptops which makes me think that there's config issues that I can find (?).

I also would like to know, how to change default lid close action from sleep/suspend to shutdown. (For Debian Dog & Bionic Dog).

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 09:00    Post subject:  

dcung wrote:
I added broadcom driver.
PeasyWifi - wlan0 not activated/detected.

This is probably an rfkill block. Clicking the Status button would confirm that.

The latest version of PWF has code to auto-clear the block.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 13:11    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn51

Plz don't be mad.

rcrsn51 wrote:
How to install Stretch-live on a UEFI computer3. Note that we are leaving the machine as a UEFI boot device. We are NOT switching it back to "Legacy" or "CSM" mode. Any settings like Load Legacy Option ROM must be set to Disable.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=997643#997643


I believe my machine's UEFI is already disabled, because i see "USB Boot: Legacy". I don't see anything else in BIOS about "UEFI" or "SecureBoot". Hibernation on my Windows is disabled.

If i disable "Legacy", then my existing grub fails.

Does your process require that i re-enable UEFI? Or can i simply use your non-UEFI recipe? That recipe is failing to find my .sgn file.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1004347#1004347


THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4156
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 15:36    Post subject:  

Hi dcung, it's a little confusing about what and where Debian uses systemd, even when it's booted with so-called "sysvinit" (older initscripts method), some functions are now handled by systemd.

I found that suspend (when lid is closed) is configured from /etc/systemd/logind.conf
Find the line "#HandleLidSwitch=suspend" and change to:
Code:
HandleLidSwitch=ignore

(if you don't want it to be handled by systemd (then acpi event can be used, see below) )

If you want lid close to execute shutdown, change to:
Code:
HandleLidSwitch=poweroff


Both changes require a reboot, or... kill the pid of systemd-logind
Code:
kill $(pidof /lib/systemd/systemd-logind)

(will exit X , then run startx from console and systemd-logind should be restarted)

If you changed to "HandleLidSwitch=ignore":
Needs installed package "acpid", install first if not already installed.
then acpi event can be used, see attached, extract the files inside archive in /etc/acpi/events

Then restart the acpi service:
Code:
service acpid restart

Default is suspend, look in /etc/acpi/events/lid.sh, for how to change to poweroff

There's package "acpi-support" which should be the official to handle this (and much more) but I couldn't make it work as I wanted (attached scripts worked for me).

Fred
events.tar.gz
Description  Extract in /etc/acpi/events
gz

 Download 
Filename  events.tar.gz 
Filesize  330 Bytes 
Downloaded  88 Time(s) 

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 18:49    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
If you want lid close to execute shutdown, change to:
Code:
HandleLidSwitch=poweroff


I tried that on 3 laptops (Stretch Starter Kit 64bit).
Lenovo/Thinkpad Mini 10
Dell Vostro 1510
Dell Latitude D630

All 3 shutdown properly when lid is closed. 👍

I have not tried acpid to fix 'suspend' yet.

Thank you Fred.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 21:19    Post subject:  

I use loadmodule to load sfs in startup.

Is there a way to suppress the 'success' message/popup?
So I don't have to click 'close'.

I tried redirecting to /dev/null or piping <enter>. Didn't work, maybe I used wrong syntax (?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 21:30    Post subject:  

dcung wrote:
I use loadmodule to load sfs in startup.

Is there a way to suppress the 'success' message/popup?
So I don't have to click 'close'.

I tried redirecting to /dev/null or piping <enter>. Didn't work, maybe I used wrong syntax (?).


You don't need to use loadmodule. Just put them in the /live folder. To control the order they load, prefix them in alpha-numeric order.

e.g.
01-filesystem.squashfs
66-vlc.squashfs
77-prboom.squashfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 21:59    Post subject:  

dancytron wrote:
You don't need to use loadmodule. Just put them in the /live folder. To control the order they load, prefix them in alpha-numeric order.


We have been thru this dancytron...not suitable for my need... Smile
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=113210&start=457

So I used Fred's suggestion back then. Just want to 'improve' it, if possible..🙂
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4156
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2018, 05:09    Post subject:  

dcung wrote:
I use loadmodule to load sfs in startup.

Is there a way to suppress the 'success' message/popup?
So I don't have to click 'close'.

I tried redirecting to /dev/null or piping <enter>. Didn't work, maybe I used wrong syntax (?).


Only way I can think of is to comment out the yad message in /usr/local/bin/loadmodule, probably line 171, so becomes:
Code:
# yad --title="LoadModule" --center --width="400" --text=" SUCCESS: Module '$BUNDLE' activated " --button="gtk-close:0" &


Or add a timeout:
Code:
yad --title="LoadModule" --center --width="400" --text=" SUCCESS: Module '$BUNDLE' activated " --button="gtk-close:0" --timeout=5 &


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 21 [309 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0886s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0283s) ][ GZIP on ]