Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 10 Dec 2019, 06:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
The Debian-Stretch-Live Starter Kit
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 22 [317 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 20, 21, 22 Next
Author Message
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 18:38    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
But you can try forcing the Intel video to use a different Xorg driver. Put "i915.modeset=0" on the GRUB kernel line.

The machine may switch to the "intel" driver, which is included and appears to support your card.

Didn't work. It keeps doing "Sending discover" repeatedly.


rcrsn51 wrote:
If not, you may have to fall back to vesa mode. At the console prompt, type:
Code:
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-vesa
startx

This works. Switching between sessions is fast now. No more pausing.

Thanks Bill.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 21:33    Post subject:  

@Bill,

My apology. This is off-topic. Should be in XenPup thread (I searched a little).

On the Vostro, I also installed XenialPup64_75.
Upon boot, it also pause before X start...(same symptoms)
Would I be correct in thinking that this is the same graphic card driver issue?
I put 'nomodeset' but didn't seem to make difference. I hate staring at blank screen when it boots.
I think it uses vesa driver eventually (?), I just want to 'hurry it up'.

EDIT
I put a posting there too, linking here for history.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106479&start=723
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12801
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 23:17    Post subject:  

I can't comment on Xenial, but it's my sense that the Xorg in Debian Stretch is pretty good. If it can't find the best driver on its own, the likely alternative is a fall-back to vesa.

[Edit] I found a source claiming that installing the package intel-microcode might get you better results with the native video driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2018, 23:08    Post subject:  

FYI

Installed Starter Kit (32bit).
I added broadcom driver.
PeasyWifi - wlan0 not activated/detected.
I used frisbee instead and it was ok.

HP Mini 110-1000
Intel Atom N280 @1.66GHz 1GB RAM

Code:
[   11.020843] b43-phy0: Broadcom 4312 WLAN found (core revision 15)
[   11.064143] b43-phy0: Found PHY: Analog 6, Type 5 (LP), Revision 1
[   11.064165] b43-phy0: Found Radio: Manuf 0x17F, ID 0x2062, Revision 2, Version 0
[   11.080373] Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PNLS ]
[   11.103772] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: direct-loading firmware b43/ucode15.fw
[   11.115039] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: direct-loading firmware b43/lp0initvals15.fw
[   11.115676] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: direct-loading firmware b43/lp0bsinitvals15.fw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 05:55    Post subject:  

I have questions about Power Management.

Both my Dell Vostro & Dell Latitude, go to sleep/suspend when lid is closed or when menu/logout/suspend selected. But both laptops wake up to blank screen. I can only press power button and that trigger shutdown. Is there additional package to install?

BionicDog and Fatdog64 can do this function properly on these laptops which makes me think that there's config issues that I can find (?).

I also would like to know, how to change default lid close action from sleep/suspend to shutdown. (For Debian Dog & Bionic Dog).

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12801
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 09:00    Post subject:  

dcung wrote:
I added broadcom driver.
PeasyWifi - wlan0 not activated/detected.

This is probably an rfkill block. Clicking the Status button would confirm that.

The latest version of PWF has code to auto-clear the block.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 13:11    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn51

Plz don't be mad.

rcrsn51 wrote:
How to install Stretch-live on a UEFI computer3. Note that we are leaving the machine as a UEFI boot device. We are NOT switching it back to "Legacy" or "CSM" mode. Any settings like Load Legacy Option ROM must be set to Disable.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=997643#997643


I believe my machine's UEFI is already disabled, because i see "USB Boot: Legacy". I don't see anything else in BIOS about "UEFI" or "SecureBoot". Hibernation on my Windows is disabled.

If i disable "Legacy", then my existing grub fails.

Does your process require that i re-enable UEFI? Or can i simply use your non-UEFI recipe? That recipe is failing to find my .sgn file.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1004347#1004347


THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4207
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 15:36    Post subject:  

Hi dcung, it's a little confusing about what and where Debian uses systemd, even when it's booted with so-called "sysvinit" (older initscripts method), some functions are now handled by systemd.

I found that suspend (when lid is closed) is configured from /etc/systemd/logind.conf
Find the line "#HandleLidSwitch=suspend" and change to:
Code:
HandleLidSwitch=ignore

(if you don't want it to be handled by systemd (then acpi event can be used, see below) )

If you want lid close to execute shutdown, change to:
Code:
HandleLidSwitch=poweroff


Both changes require a reboot, or... kill the pid of systemd-logind
Code:
kill $(pidof /lib/systemd/systemd-logind)

(will exit X , then run startx from console and systemd-logind should be restarted)

If you changed to "HandleLidSwitch=ignore":
Needs installed package "acpid", install first if not already installed.
then acpi event can be used, see attached, extract the files inside archive in /etc/acpi/events

Then restart the acpi service:
Code:
service acpid restart

Default is suspend, look in /etc/acpi/events/lid.sh, for how to change to poweroff

There's package "acpi-support" which should be the official to handle this (and much more) but I couldn't make it work as I wanted (attached scripts worked for me).

Fred
events.tar.gz
Description  Extract in /etc/acpi/events
gz

 Download 
Filename  events.tar.gz 
Filesize  330 Bytes 
Downloaded  88 Time(s) 

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 18:49    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
If you want lid close to execute shutdown, change to:
Code:
HandleLidSwitch=poweroff


I tried that on 3 laptops (Stretch Starter Kit 64bit).
Lenovo/Thinkpad Mini 10
Dell Vostro 1510
Dell Latitude D630

All 3 shutdown properly when lid is closed. 👍

I have not tried acpid to fix 'suspend' yet.

Thank you Fred.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 21:19    Post subject:  

I use loadmodule to load sfs in startup.

Is there a way to suppress the 'success' message/popup?
So I don't have to click 'close'.

I tried redirecting to /dev/null or piping <enter>. Didn't work, maybe I used wrong syntax (?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1413

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 21:30    Post subject:  

dcung wrote:
I use loadmodule to load sfs in startup.

Is there a way to suppress the 'success' message/popup?
So I don't have to click 'close'.

I tried redirecting to /dev/null or piping <enter>. Didn't work, maybe I used wrong syntax (?).


You don't need to use loadmodule. Just put them in the /live folder. To control the order they load, prefix them in alpha-numeric order.

e.g.
01-filesystem.squashfs
66-vlc.squashfs
77-prboom.squashfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 21:59    Post subject:  

dancytron wrote:
You don't need to use loadmodule. Just put them in the /live folder. To control the order they load, prefix them in alpha-numeric order.


We have been thru this dancytron...not suitable for my need... Smile
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=113210&start=457

So I used Fred's suggestion back then. Just want to 'improve' it, if possible..🙂
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4207
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2018, 05:09    Post subject:  

dcung wrote:
I use loadmodule to load sfs in startup.

Is there a way to suppress the 'success' message/popup?
So I don't have to click 'close'.

I tried redirecting to /dev/null or piping <enter>. Didn't work, maybe I used wrong syntax (?).


Only way I can think of is to comment out the yad message in /usr/local/bin/loadmodule, probably line 171, so becomes:
Code:
# yad --title="LoadModule" --center --width="400" --text=" SUCCESS: Module '$BUNDLE' activated " --button="gtk-close:0" &


Or add a timeout:
Code:
yad --title="LoadModule" --center --width="400" --text=" SUCCESS: Module '$BUNDLE' activated " --button="gtk-close:0" --timeout=5 &


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2018, 16:46    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Or add a timeout:
Code:
yad --title="LoadModule" --center --width="400" --text=" SUCCESS: Module '$BUNDLE' activated " --button="gtk-close:0" --timeout=5 &



I opted the timeout option, and timeout set to 1 instead. This way, I get to see it but don't have to click to close the popup.

Thank you Fred.🙂
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 236
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2018, 20:25    Post subject:  

I thought I check if there's 'working' wine in Stretch Dog (64 bit) thru repo.

These are applicable to both Starter Kit and Stretch Dog, since they're 'twin/sibling'.
I start from "Fresh" and update database for each testing.

'OOTB' there's wine 1.8.7 -> doesn't install/work.

I followed link below since Stretch is one of 'supported' distro.
https://wiki.winehq.org/Debian
Not too difficult to follow.

After following the guide, ie adding release key, list of packages, enable 386 architecture, etc.
all sorts 'additional' of wine packages appear in synaptic.

I tried Wine 3.0.2 (wine-stable) install using apt-get as per guide. Installing 'missing' dependency one after another until it won't go further, citing 'broken' package.

So, I re-start Fresh, and using 'synaptic' route.
Well, it does not go very far.
Any wine (3.0.2) you selected, can not start/proceed install.
'Broken' package 'OOTB'. And using broken filter, it shows wine is broken.

This need someone with more expertise than me to look into...🙂

Probably a known issue solved in other thread? Sorry if I missed it.

Code:

The following information may help to resolve the situation:
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 wine-stable-i386:i386 : Depends: libgphoto2-6:i386 (>= 2.5.10) but it is not going to be installed
                         Depends: libxml2:i386 (>= 2.9.0) but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
root@dstretch-sh:~/wine3#
snappie.png
 Description   
 Filesize   102.66 KB
 Viewed   549 Time(s)

snappie.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 22 [317 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 20, 21, 22 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0890s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0277s) ][ GZIP on ]