Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 20 Sep 2018, 16:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Slacko External monitor setup
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
SmartDuck


Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2018, 17:03    Post subject:  Slacko External monitor setup  

Hi there,

I' ve searched the forum and internet for a solution to setup the second screen. So far it is partially working.
One small problem with the offset of the screen.
I use xrandr and zarfy. Zarfy recognizes the laptop screen LVSD1 1024x768 and external monitor VGA1 1440x900.
The problem is I can't set the the virtual screen to the required 2464x900 so the external monitor is exactly on the left side. Now I have a overlap because the virtual screen is max 2048x2048.
I tried to configure xorg.conf manually set the virtual param in the Display section of the screen section. But then Slacko hangs on reboot.

Kind regards,

Marcel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
matchpoint

Joined: 26 Jan 2018
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2018, 20:22    Post subject:  

Hello Mate.

As a smart duck you should know which video driver you're running. Does the wizard offer an upgrade?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11016
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2018, 02:17    Post subject:  

What exact version of Slacko?????
Can you tell us what the graphics hardware is???

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SmartDuck


Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2018, 04:53    Post subject:  

Thanks for the quick response Smile

Slacko 6.3.2 (32 bit)
Running on a Dell Latitude D505, Intel 855 series chip set.
Using the standard graphics driver not the Intel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
matchpoint

Joined: 26 Jan 2018
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2018, 05:47    Post subject:  

Hello Marcel, what type of cable have you got connected there?

Have you tried setting any new modelines with Xrandr?

Very Happy My line of questioning not smart enough?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SmartDuck


Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2018, 06:21    Post subject:  

Connected via VGA connector.

when I try:
xrandr --output LVDS1 --auto --output VGA1 --auto --pos 1024x0
or
xrandr --output LVDS1 --auto --output VGA1 --auto --left-of LVDS1
I get the error xrandr: screen cannot be larger than 2048x2048 (desired size 2464x900)

When I set the subsection of the default Screen in xorg.conf to:

SubSection “Display”
Modes “1440x900″
Virtual 2464 900
EndSubSection

X hangs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
matchpoint

Joined: 26 Jan 2018
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2018, 07:20    Post subject:  

There's only so much Puppy is going to be able to do with that chipset.

While I'm no expert, I suspect your cable as a possible impediment, as commented by the EDIT.

The other aspect involves a new modeline using "cvt" as explained on SuperUser.

Granted you may have to juggle the syntax, but they're a start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SmartDuck


Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2018, 07:28    Post subject:  

Thanks for the help!

I will check the cvt option this evening.
If it does not work I can live with only the external monitor setting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
matchpoint

Joined: 26 Jan 2018
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2018, 14:15    Post subject:    

Marcel, aside from cvt and the cable, does your Xorg log file drop any (EE?) clues as to what's going on?

You can delete your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file and reboot, then copy / paste the contents here and leave the link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SmartDuck


Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2018, 18:04    Post subject:  

matchpoint wrote:
Marcel, aside from cvt and the cable, does your Xorg log file drop any (EE?) clues as to what's going on?

You can delete your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file and reboot, then copy / paste the contents here and leave the link.


Thanks for the tips.... Xorg.0.log https://pastebin.ca/4002389

I use only the Lenovo 19" external monitor for now.
1440x900 75hz mode works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0376s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]