Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 15 Dec 2018, 10:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
How to use Atheros AR5BXB63 WLAN modul in my Laptop?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
puppi

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2018, 15:28    Post subject:  How to use Atheros AR5BXB63 WLAN modul in my Laptop?
Subject description: Puppy 7.5
 

Whats the name of the Driver for the WLAN modul?
Or there's a description how to install the Driver?

TIA
p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2844
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2018, 17:12    Post subject:  

It's very likely your driver's name is James. I suppose you could call him up and ask about his rates and availability.

But seriously. According to Ally, who archives them, there are now about 4500 versions of Puppy. God alone knows how many possible computer variants exist. Which Puppy? What make and model of computer?

And before we get too deep into the weeds, How did you determine that an Atheros WLAN modul was needed? Do you know how to find out what your version of Puppy thinks it needs?

mikesLr

Last edited by mikeslr on Mon 16 Apr 2018, 17:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2018, 17:25    Post subject:  

Are you using a 32bit Xenialpup 7.5 system? Because that one is missing a bunch of Atheros drivers:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=976999#976999
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppi

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2018, 18:43    Post subject:  

Yes, I've installed a 32bit Xenialpup 7.5 system, but the install not sees tha my laptop has the WLAN module Atheros AR5BXB63 included.

Thanks for the link!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11389
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2018, 00:27    Post subject:  

If you try to use wifi.

Good chance that laptop has a wifi on/off keyboard switch.

Check the computers manual for turning wifi on or off.

Must be on for Puppy to see it.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppi

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2018, 14:45    Post subject:  

To bigpup

Thank you. I know about the switch.

But first I have to install the WLAN connection.
I must read about...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11389
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2018, 15:59    Post subject:  

See if it is already working.

menu>Setup>Internet Connection Wizard>Wired or wireless Lan>Network Wizard

Does it show any interface devices?

If no.

Install this pet and see if that helps.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/puppy-xenial/32/atheros_kernel_modules-4.4.95noPAE-xenial32.pet
REBOOT after you install the pet package.

If Xenialpup is a frugal install or a live CD or USB.
Make sure you have made a save file/folder so the pet install is still there after the reboot.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppi

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2018, 17:56    Post subject: to bigpup  

Yes, it shows the interface wlan0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11389
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2018, 03:57    Post subject:  

menu->Setup->Internet Connection Wizard->Wired or wireless LAN->Network Wizard

Network Wizard wireless connection steps.

1. Select Network Wizard
2. Select wlan0 (your network card may have a different description)
3. Select Wireless in the Configure wireless network box.
4. Select Scan and your ESSID should come up.
5. Select your ESSID and OK
6. Give a name to your profile. It should already be what you selected in step 5.
7. Encryption. Most people use WPA/TKIP - select it or WPA2.
8. A box will open for you to write the WPA password. It is called a Shared Key. Enter the password.
9. Leave the other boxes as they are. Rarely do these need adjustment.
9. Select Save
10. Select Use This Profile
11. A box will appear showing Puppy trying to connect
12. A box will come up “REPORT ON TEST 0f wlan0CONNECTION”
13. Select Auto DHCP in the Configure interface box and it will go through a handshake routine. and declare itself successful
14. Select done

If something does not work.
What step?
You do what?
You see what?


Also make sure your system's time zone setting is correct - if not, many website's certificates then act as if they are expired, and the webpage won't display.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppi

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2018, 16:43    Post subject:  

Thank you very much for your help!

After 8.
No box open Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppi

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 03:54    Post subject: to mikesir  

My laptop has a Atheros AR5BXB63 card included.
I ve Puppy 4.5
Where can I downlod the driver for the card?

TIA
p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppi

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 04:14    Post subject:  

Shit Sad I ve Puppy Version 7.5!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11389
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 04:46    Post subject:  

puppi wrote:
Thank you very much for your help!

After 8.
No box open Sad

It is a entry box that opens on the same window.

Quote:
7. Encryption. Most people use WPA/TKIP - select it or WPA2.
8. A box will open for you to write the WPA password. It is called a Shared Key. Enter the password.
capture12990.png
 Description   
 Filesize   41.66 KB
 Viewed   298 Time(s)

capture12990.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppi

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 12:33    Post subject:  

Thank you for your answer!

Why not select a profile to load?
Why 'autoconnect'?

If I load my profile is the field 'Profile name' empty
and 'ESSID' too.

There's no field 'Shared Key' Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7858
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 13:04    Post subject:  

You must first "create" a New Profile "before" you can load one. Try again..
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0483s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]