Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 May 2018, 14:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to update SeaMonkey in 64-bit Quirky Werewolf?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12869
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2018, 21:59    Post subject:  How to update SeaMonkey in 64-bit Quirky Werewolf?  

I've tried several times over the years to update SeaMonkey in various versions of Puppy. I've been using Quirky Werewolf for many moons now, and the version of SeaMonkey it came with is getting long in the tooth, at least according to several websites I frequent.

A few weeks ago, following advice I read in a post in this forum (I'm sorry to say I can't remember the topic or who wrote the post) I downloaded the latest version of Firefox to /tmp, unpacked it, copied the resulting Firefox directory to /usr/lib, right-clicked on the directory, chose Permissions and then chose make executable. When I opened the Firefox directory and clicked on the Firefox gear icon, Firefox started right up.

I recently did the exact same steps with SeaMonkey (I assume I downloaded the 64-bit version; it didn't give me a choice,) but got a different result. It's the same result I get every time I try to update SeaMonkey. What am I doing wrong?
SeaMonkey error.png
 Description   
 Filesize   71.38 KB
 Viewed   228 Time(s)

SeaMonkey error.png

SeaMonkey new directory.png
 Description   
 Filesize   47.44 KB
 Viewed   226 Time(s)

SeaMonkey new directory.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1756
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2018, 22:35    Post subject:  

I believe the official builds are 32bit
There is a contributed 64bit non-official build listed on the page of different versions.
Right-click and look at properties of the executable seamonkey file to see if it is 32bit or 64bit
https://www.seamonkey-project.org/releases/#2.49.2

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 885

PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2018, 23:58    Post subject:  

Yes the contributed builds are 64bit and works in Fatdog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12869
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2018, 00:10    Post subject:  

Thanks, Oscar. Now we're making some progress. I found and downloaded the only 64-bit version and did the same things with it. The seamonkey gear throbbed once when I clicked on it but nothing happened after that. Then I opened a terminal in /usr/lib/Seamonkey and entered ./seamonkey. This is the error I got:
SeaMonkey error.png
 Description   
 Filesize   49.69 KB
 Viewed   210 Time(s)

SeaMonkey error.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 885

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2018, 00:17    Post subject:  

Looks like you will need gtk-3 installed.
Fatdog already has it so the latest seamonkey runs without fuss.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2102
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2018, 02:07    Post subject:  

Yeah, Seamonkey requires GTK 3, now. They switched not too long ago, although I don't remember offhand in which build.
_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12869
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2018, 10:36    Post subject:  

Where can I find gtk-3? I can't find it in any of the Quirky package repositories. I googled it and from the confused results I saw, the only thing that seems to be available is something called gtk+. Will that work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1756
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2018, 12:04    Post subject:  

I have very little experience of Quirky, but I presume this one uses Ubuntu binary packages so I expect that, as with Puppy, you just search for libgtk-3 in the Package Manager and include any dependencies it indicates.

Because Ubuntu (and Debian) do the thing of splitting up the packages this is a size advantage in this case. You can install the lib (and deps) without the bloat of the full gtk+3 package. Installed total size should not be too big at all and most of the latest "fully featured" browsers require this lib now.

Be aware that the browser will now be using the gtk3 theme. This sometimes needs a tweak if things like tooltips display in an unclear manner. Any gtk2 theme control will not apply to the appearance of the browser.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12869
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2018, 18:32    Post subject:  

After wasting half an hour looking without any luck in the System and Utility sections of the package manager, I noticed the package manager has a search function that will search all the repositories. Turns out I should have looked in the Desktop section. Mad

There is a libgtk3-perl_0.023.1 and a libgtk3.0-cil_2.99.3-2. Which one should I try first?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1756
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr 2018, 19:01    Post subject:  

You just type into the search rather than looking in sections.
Neither of those two look right.
You need the hyphen/dash between libgtk and the number 3
Looking in Xenial the name is libgtk-3-0_3.18.9
For Wily the numbers might be different

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 138
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 22 Apr 2018, 09:02    Post subject:  

I think the werewolf packages have been removed from ubuntu now.
If libgtk 3 did exist I dont think you will find it anywhere.
Same with unicorn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12869
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Apr 2018, 12:38    Post subject:  

It showed up when I searched for it but none of the repositories had it. So I guess I'll have to move on to a newer version of Puppy that has a later version of SeaMonkey. Xerus64-8.5 seems good, except tree wouldn't work in it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7827
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 22 Apr 2018, 13:37    Post subject:  

Read the amd64 package lists to locate your dwnld(s) >> http://old-releases.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/wily/
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2018, 07:13    Post subject:  

If its any help the new firefox works well with Quirky Werewolf and can be updated. I haven't tried to install pulseaudio.
irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2102
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2018, 07:29    Post subject:  

Don't the newer versions of Firefox require GTK 3 as well, though? Smile

(If this page is to be believed, it has since version 42.)

libgtk3 still shows up for me on searches in PPM for Precise, but of course, I haven't tried to redownload it (and I'm not on a 64-bit Puppy - only 1GB RAM in this tower. Sad )

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0512s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]