Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Aug 2018, 17:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
BionicDog (updated: 2018-06-04)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 28 [417 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 26, 27, 28 Next
Author Message
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 271

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2018, 17:12    Post subject:  

fredx181 waited ten minutes so the screensaver seems to be disabled ok. I'll double check later.
Just one other thing if I run the script to disable the screensaver at startup then It will be disabled permanently which wouldn't be a good idea. It would be better to just disable it when needed.
Thanks to yourself and rcrsn51 for sorting me out.
irishrm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3224
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 16 May 2018, 06:02    Post subject:  

For who is having problems booting with the included kernel in BionicDog, here's older kernel (from Xenial, latest release: linux-image-4.4.0-124-generic).
Just extract the archive in the "casper" directory (see also Readme-kernel-4.4.0-124.txt) and (re)boot Bionicdog.
For a frugal install only.

32-bit:
https://fredx181.github.io/bionicdog/Packages-i386/Kernel/
64-bit:
https://fredx181.github.io/bionicdog/Packages-amd64/Kernel/

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website

Last edited by fredx181 on Wed 16 May 2018, 10:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12276
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 16 May 2018, 09:02    Post subject: Re: PeasyWifi - WEP  

mikeslr wrote:
Got distracted by other, more pressing questions. Good to know the problem is me. It will be awhile before I get to it. I'm leaving for a two week trip on Wednesday. You may have to remind me when I get back.

I'm satisfied with my own testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2018, 10:01    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
To make vlc run as root, this works (it's a hack of course, and has to be done again if you possibly upgrade vlc in the future):

Code:
sed -i 's/geteuid/getppid/' /usr/bin/vlc

This seem to work pretty well.

Thanks Smile

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 934
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2018, 05:05    Post subject: cast2chrome ver 0.0.2 released
Subject description: with new save youtube facility
 

Hi Fred,

I 'completed' version 0.0.2 of my cast2chrome program, which will hopefully prove stable. Developed it in XenialDog64 but is architecture independent and will work in Bionic. Latest post and info about ver 0.0.2 in link below (download includes debs and pets):

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=992902#992902

Main change is that this version allows the user to not only play local and internet media (such as youtube) on their chromecast dongle enabled TV but will also (optionally) save the youtube videos as they play.

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3224
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 23 May 2018, 15:30    Post subject:  

Thanks wiak,

Added cast2chrome and stream2chromecast to custom repos (Xenial, Bionic, Stretch (I assume it works for Stretch also))

Install cast2chrome with synaptic or from terminal using apt-get:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install cast2chrome


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2260
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2018, 10:33    Post subject:  

I downloaded and frugally installed bionicdog, but the repository keys are incorrect. Also git is not in the devx.

Why does this always happen to me?

The screen sot happened for most of the repos!
2018-05-24-153313_518x936_scrot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   159.75 KB
 Viewed   396 Time(s)

2018-05-24-153313_518x936_scrot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12276
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2018, 13:01    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
Why does this always happen to me?

It works for me. Are you sure you had a live network connection?

[Edit] It looks like you have a different problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3224
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2018, 15:29    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
I downloaded and frugally installed bionicdog, but the repository keys are incorrect. Also git is not in the devx.

Why does this always happen to me?


Always ?
Sorry, I can't understand why this happens to you, I've never seen that (all repositories not recognized as secure is very strange)
Could it be that you have a conflict with another "casper" folder on some partition ?
Otherwise I have no idea what can be wrong.

EDIT: What happens when you try to reload again ?
(sometimes such problem may be a temporarily thing)
Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 351
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2018, 18:13    Post subject:  

stemsee,
for me it works great...
regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2260
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2018, 19:34    Post subject:  

This was the 32bit iso ... I had a web browser running and tried different websites ... dns is 9.9.9.9 ...

I will start again and report back!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 934
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2018, 01:17    Post subject:  

Hi Fred,

I'm frustrated that we need to run bash as the system shell for so many of our Puppy-like bash/gtkdialog programs to work. i.e. the problem with dash not able to see bash exported functions (export -f).

I identified the problem in gtkdialog source code: that it uses C 'system' calls to run commands, which means that it uses /bin/sh -c "command_string" which won't see bash exported functions when system shell is, for example, dash.

I noted that YAD --button doesn't have this issue since you can simply use bash -c "command_string" with that. But that doesn't work with gtkdialog calls (because of that C system call mechanism employed in gtkdialog).

In Programming Thread, I thus suggested improving gtkdialog such that bash -c "command_string" syntax will work even when underlying system shell is dash (we really need this fixed IMO).

step (of FatDog) suggested a very nice workaround to replace using export -f in our bash code. If gtkdialog source code isn't altered then the work around looks like something we should all consider for future portability of our bash/gtkdialog code:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=993024#993024

However, since YAD --button has no problem handling bash -c "command_string" syntax, I really think gtkdialog should adopt the same strategy because then it will be a very muchs simpler matter to update our existing bash/gtkdialog scripts to also work with dash underneath. I have thus checked YAD source code to see how it does it, and it's simple as far as I see it to make future versions of gtkdialog do the same...:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=993106#993106

As my above linked post explains, the key difference is that YAD uses 'cleverer' g-spawn-command-line-async() function from glib, instead of the simple C system() function call employed by gtkdialog to run commands. As far as I know, at quick glance, it is only one line in gtkdialog.c code that needs fixed to use the other function instead.

Were I not currently somewhat invalided (in pain and can't concentrate or work for long), I'd just DO IT, but in the circumstances I'm hoping someone else will implement my above simple proposal.

Maybe Dog developers will be interested if no-one else steps forward?

It would really be great if simple mod to our existing apps would allow them to be used in pristine Debian/Ubuntu (i.e. with /bin/sh -> dash).

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12276
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2018, 01:36    Post subject:  

Quote:
...even when underlying system shell is dash

Where is this occurring?

I don't understand. How does changing the code in Fred's version of gtkdialog allow our gtkdialog apps to be run on another OS that uses dash?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3224
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2018, 04:33    Post subject:  

Hi wiak,

I've read about it (for the most) in the programming thread, but, excuse me, still don't understand exactly, so let me ask:

Suppose you manage to compile gtkdialog the way you describe, do all the scripts using gtkdialog including "export -f" work without modifying (when changing sh symlink to dash or busybox) ?
Or do they all need addition of (step's) workaround ?
EDIT: After reading better, I think I understand that a simple mod to existing scripts is required. Then that would mean a lot of work to be done to change all the scripts and rebuild the packages. Rolling Eyes
But don't get me wrong, I'd love to have it like standard Debian with sh > dash, maybe you remember I've tried in the past by using "switchsh", but didn't work out.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=924995#924995

Btw (different subject, but not to forget), there could easily occur other problems when sh is symlink to dash, hopefully only sometimes:
How it is now (sh > bash) it doesn't matter if there's #!/bin/sh or #!/bin/bash on top of script.
If #!/bin/sh is on top and it contains bashisms it works ok since sh > bash. But in case of sh > dash, it doesn't work.
So in case of changing sh > dash in the system, all scripts with #!/bin/sh ot top need to be checked for bashisms (and if there are, changed to #!/bin/bash on top).

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 934
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2018, 06:14    Post subject:  

Yes, it would always become important to check that scripts with #!/bin/sh at the top did not contain bashisms. Yes, if it had worked (which it hasn't for me) only simple mod of putting bash -c before each function call would have worked (as is done with YAD --buttons).

step's program pattern works with current gtkdialog since it avoids the export -f issue altogether. In the circumstances I plan to adopt his idea or something similar for my next version of cast2chrome (though don't know when I'll get round to that). I really recommend that we all try to use a code pattern like that in future app writing if only so these apps would then be portable to pure Debian etc using dash as /bin/sh, but depends if the programmer can be bothered I suppose (though really step's idea is simple to implement).

Yes, I remember your struggles trying to address the dash issues via that switch script. It partly worked as far as I remember, but had unwanted other side-effects that resulted in you rejecting it.

I do wish gtkdialog behaved same way as yad in this bash -c exported functions situation, but it doesn't.

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 28 [417 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 26, 27, 28 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0726s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]