Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Nov 2019, 09:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
BionicDog (updated: 2018-06-04)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 56 of 57 [844 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 54, 55, 56, 57 Next
Author Message
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2019, 08:09    Post subject:  

magerlab wrote:
I've managed to connect my phone using camphonetab. So for now BionicDog fits the netbook very well. I want to transfer the casper folder with changes to to another laptop which has grub2. Are there any instructions on what one have to put into Grub2 to boot bionicdog without installing grub4dos?


The following is just an example extract from grub.cfg of what I use for booting using grub2 from the second partition of my harddrive (/dev/sda2). For this example I have casper directory installed inside /bionicdog64 directory of that /dev/sda2 partition:

Code:
menuentry 'BionicDog64 on /dev/sda2' {
    set root='hd0,msdos2'
    linux /bionicdog64/casper/vmlinuz from=/bionicdog64/ noauto changes=EXIT:/bionicdog64/casper
    initrd /bionicdog64/casper/initrd1.xz
}


wiak

_________________
Tiny Linux Blog: http://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
tinycore/slitaz: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=990130#990130
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4165
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2019, 12:35    Post subject:  

Thanks wiak for answering, btw, I could never understand what means the "msdos2" at the "set root=..."
Anyway, this should work also with grub2 for sda2 (similar as grub4dos, but with the difference that for grub4dos it should be (hd0,1) for the second partition (sda2), confusing.... Rolling Eyes )
Code:
 set root=(hd0,2)


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gabtech

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2019, 06:42    Post subject: Bionicdog amd64 wifi drivers  

I just downloaded Bionicdog and testing it on my lenovo X140e processor AMD ,broadcom wifi device. Peasy wifi can't see my wifi connection, huawei usb 3g modem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2535
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 16 Aug 2019, 05:15    Post subject: Re: Bionicdog amd64 wifi drivers  

gabtech wrote:
I just downloaded Bionicdog and testing it on my lenovo X140e processor AMD ,broadcom wifi device. Peasy wifi can't see my wifi connection, huawei usb 3g modem.

Install/load Wifi-TrayNet (developed on BionicDog)

or cli
Code:
ifconfig usb0 up
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iusb0 -c/path/to/apconfig -B
busybox udhcpc
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" >/etc/resolv.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
gabtech

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2019, 09:24    Post subject:  

@stemsee

Thanks buddie.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
recobayu


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 366
Location: indonesia

PostPosted: Wed 25 Sep 2019, 22:00    Post subject:  

Is there any makelive script based on ubuntu bionic? Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2535
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 30 Sep 2019, 10:21    Post subject:  

hi Fred

Can you help. I cannot get right click working in BionicDog. It's frustrating.

On fatdog the workaround is to use the wacom driver instead of udev, this detects two touch events, with custom rules. But it doesn't work for me.

cheers
stemsee
edit: this works after installing mousetweaks
Code:
gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.a11y.mouse secondary-click-enabled "true"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2535
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 30 Sep 2019, 20:43    Post subject:  

I'm using the cinnamon version by ETP, I have no problems using Wifi-TrayNet, the builtin Gnome-Network-Manager is very good regardless.

Cinnamon is a bit buggy for touchscreen use sometimes, crashes and logsout of X. Sometimes requires forced shutdown, but overall it's really useable.

Blueman cannot connect to phone or headset. I will replace bluez5 with bluez4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
puppytahruser

Joined: 02 Oct 2016
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2019, 08:49    Post subject: synaptic showing only installed program  

Hi fred,
I tried bionicdog32 bit doing manual frugal insatall ( extracted casper and edit menu.lst) booted fine. When open synaptic that only shows program which are already install no new program available while search) . Why is this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1834
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2019, 08:57    Post subject:  

Connected to the Internet ?
Did you hit the "reload" Button in Synaptic ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppytahruser

Joined: 02 Oct 2016
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2019, 08:59    Post subject: re  

yes net connected but not click reload button
will clicking reload solve the problem?
@backi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1834
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2019, 09:34    Post subject:  

Probably ........why not just test it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppytahruser

Joined: 02 Oct 2016
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2019, 10:17    Post subject: re  

Thank you Backi. Problem solved Smile just hit the reload button.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1834
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2019, 10:27    Post subject:  

Congratulation !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2019, 03:35    Post subject:  

https://getpublii.com/

Quote:
Create beautiful websites

Perfect HTML CMS for blogs, portfolios and company websites. Publii allows to you build, modify and manage an unlimited number of sites from the same app with instant switching; no databases or other credentials to remember. No coding or HTML required.


So, very excited to try this...I downloaded deb package of static site generator Publii (an electron app) onto my BionicDog64 system and it seemed to install fine. I ran it by:

Code:
cd /opt/Publii
./Publii --no-sandbox


It started up without issue. I clicked top right X to close it and restarted it; all fine. Then I did a save2flash and rebooted and tried starting it again but wouldn't start (big error message). I did an apt purge publii, and re-installed it and all fine again (until save2flash and reboot, which causes it not to work again...). Very sad. It's a very interesting static site creator, but I can't find out why it stops working on save2flash followed by reboot...

Help! Any ideas???

wiak

_________________
Tiny Linux Blog: http://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
tinycore/slitaz: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=990130#990130
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 56 of 57 [844 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 54, 55, 56, 57 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0885s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0392s) ][ GZIP on ]