Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Jun 2020, 11:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
BionicPup32 (UPupBB) (08 May 2020)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 52 of 55 [815 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5542
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 13 Mar 2020, 04:46    Post subject:  

Look for a converter cable (e-Bay?). You can get a SATA -to -USB cable, but that may not be two-way, so you might need two converters? Not sure about HW compatibility, some combos just aren't! Use a desktop machine, avoid laptops when attempting systems inter-conversions. Might need a Stanley and soldering iron?! Should be able to use an USB power unit and a separate USB signal line? USB hub? Somebody out there probably has done what you ask?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 2003
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 13 Mar 2020, 06:34    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Look for a converter cable (e-Bay?). You can get a SATA -to -USB cable, but that may not be two-way, so you might need two converters? Not sure about HW compatibility, some combos just aren't! Use a desktop machine, avoid laptops when attempting systems inter-conversions. Might need a Stanley and soldering iron?! Should be able to use an USB power unit and a separate USB signal line? USB hub? Somebody out there probably has done what you ask?


These SATA to USB bridge chips are all actually quite sophisticated. Here is one short article about the technology:

https://www.electronicdesign.com/technologies/digital-ics/article/21789074/usb-30tosata-bridge-ic-supports-superspeed-usb

_________________
WeeDogLinux forum: https://weedoglinux.rockedge.org/viewforum.php?f=4
Tiny Linux Blog: https://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wanderer

Joined: 20 Oct 2007
Posts: 1119

PostPosted: Fri 13 Mar 2020, 07:19    Post subject:  

thanks for all the help

im actually trying to do something much simpler
but it may not be possible

i have a portable hard drive that uses a usb connection
i want to use it as a usb
load upupbb32 on a partition on the usb hard drive
and then have it boot from the hard drive as though it was a usb

so far i havnt been able to get the puppy installer
to install puppy to the 1st partition of the usb hard drive

will keep messing with it
maybe there is a way

thanks again guys

wanderer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13097
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 13 Mar 2020, 12:29    Post subject:  

Have you installed a bootloader like Grub4Dos on the USB hard drive?

How is partition #1 formatted? Check its status in Gparted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wanderer

Joined: 20 Oct 2007
Posts: 1119

PostPosted: Fri 13 Mar 2020, 16:00    Post subject:  

thanks rcrsn51

partition #1 is ext2

i will look into grub for dos

will continue to mess with it


wanderer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darry19662018

Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 731
Location: Rakaia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Mar 2020, 18:45    Post subject:  

wanderer wrote:
thanks rcrsn51

partition #1 is ext2

i will look into grub for dos

will continue to mess with it


wanderer


Nice to see you back Wanderer:)

_________________
Puppy Linux Wiki: http://wikka.puppylinux.com/HomePage

https://freemedia.neocities.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wanderer

Joined: 20 Oct 2007
Posts: 1119

PostPosted: Sat 14 Mar 2020, 00:32    Post subject:  

thanks darry

i read the forum everyday
but just didnt have anything to bother people about

i will start a new thread with this topic
so i dont clog up peebees thread ... sorry

wanderer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 4332
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 15 Mar 2020, 06:27    Post subject:  

Update 15-Mar-2020:

iso md5 = 9610a1bc7d30e12979d2fd0dbd985859 bionicpup32-8.0+19-uefi.iso

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ethplorer

Joined: 21 Apr 2017
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2020, 09:48    Post subject:  

can i install the frugal way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13823
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2020, 13:37    Post subject:  

Yes.
Frugal is the best way to have any Puppy Linux version installed.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 2182
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2020, 05:31    Post subject:  

Someone in the Users section mentioned a problem of no sound in Firefox and I was taking a look.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=118440

Created a save-file and used Menu>Internet>Get Web Browser to download and load Firefox .sfs
I selected "Sub Directory" as the location because it is a frugal in a sub-directory

Minor thing, the Menu entry for Firefox has no icon so I edited the path in the .desktop file:-
Icon=/usr/lib/firefox/browser/chrome/icons/default/default48.png
Then run fixmenus and jwm-reload to get the icon to display.

In my test, Firefox does have sound when "installed" this way.

However, I note that the apulse is a bit old and the apulse libraries are in /usr/lib (replacing the real pulse libraries) rather than being in the sub-directory /usr/lib/apulse
This will mean that the apulse wrapper script /usr/bin/apulse will have no effect, although firefox will have sound without it.

The possible drawback is that some programs (other than firefox) which depend on libpulse are not happy with the apulse replacement libraries.

The alternative approach to using apulse is to install the libs into /usr/lib/apulse and have the official pulse libs in /usr/lib but this does then mean that you have to ensure that firefox (or anything else which needs apulse) is launched via the /usr/bin/apulse wrapper.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 4332
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2020, 04:51    Post subject:  

Thanks OT

The icon change will be in the next Firefox build.

BionicPup32 is getting quite old.... the apulse in it is dated 03/18 so was the up-to-date version at the time of first build. I think I will leave well alone unless its causing problems.

Thanks
peebee

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5806
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Fri 17 Apr 2020, 22:14    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
Update 15-Mar-2020:

iso md5 = 9610a1bc7d30e12979d2fd0dbd985859 bionicpup32-8.0+19-uefi.iso
Is anyone able to post a sample grub stanza that works for usb boot for this release please?

I get an error that suggests it is looking for "sr0" (also says unable to locate base sfs) but i am attempting to boot from usb frugal exactly the way I normally do (non UEFI Toshiba laptop)

The CD that I copied the bionic files from will boot the laptop fine and runs well. Just want to boot from usb for extra boot speed.

Here are my grub stanzas - the first 3 work but the two bionic attempts don't.
Code:
title Linux b3libre (sdb2/b3libre)
  uuid bf185e4e-5fe7-487d-8e65-55f78c94430a
  kernel /b3libre/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb2 ro
  initrd /b3libre/initrd.gz
 
  title Linux tazpup (sdb2/tazpup)
  uuid bf185e4e-5fe7-487d-8e65-55f78c94430a
  kernel /tazpup/vmlinuz psubdir=tazpup pmedia=usbflash
  initrd /tazpup/initrd.xz
 
  title Linux Radky Dpup Stretch (sdb2/RadkyDpupStretch)
  uuid bf185e4e-5fe7-487d-8e65-55f78c94430a
  kernel /RadkyDpupStretch/vmlinuz psubdir=RadkyDpupStretch pmedia=usbflash
  initrd /RadkyDpupStretch/initrd.xz
 
  title Linux Peebee Bionic32 (sdb2/PeebeeBionic32)
  uuid bf185e4e-5fe7-487d-8e65-55f78c94430a
  kernel /PeebeeBionic32/vmlinuz psubdir=PeebeeBionic32 pmedia=usbflash
  initrd /PeebeeBionic32/initrd.gz

  title Linux Peebee Bionic32 (sdb2/PeebeeBionic32)
  uuid bf185e4e-5fe7-487d-8e65-55f78c94430a
  kernel /PeebeeBionic32/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb2 ro
  initrd /PeebeeBionic32/initrd.gz


Once I find my camera I will post back with an image of the boot screen message detail.
**************************

EDIT : For some reason that I can't identify, the problem occurred relentlessly for two days then disappeared totally.

Truly weird and quite disturbing.

Why should a USB boot be unsuccessful for two days, then correct itself???????

Twilight zone.
.
EDIT: I finally got past the problem with the bootloader not finding the base puppy sfs. The attached image shows exactly the same problem, but with jrb's Quirky 7.

The fix took me a couple of days to stumble across - it was necessary to remove AC power from the laptop, AND ALSO pull out the usb stick and re-insert it. Weird i know - but that is what reset the error. The usb boot stanza had been perfect all along - but i assume the bios of the laptop kept a table somewhere that needed resetting somehow.

I have a feeling i read about this a couple of years ago in a post by rcrsn51 but this is the first time i can recall experiencing it.
IMG_20200420_221219.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   70.98 KB
 Viewed   267 Time(s)

IMG_20200420_221219.jpg


Last edited by greengeek on Wed 22 Apr 2020, 18:15; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 4332
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2020, 06:38    Post subject:  

Update 18-Apr-2020:

iso md5 = dbf1b6dd0e9a5bdfdc7662eb0820a46d bionicpup32-8.0+20-uefi.iso

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5806
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 22 Apr 2020, 18:18    Post subject:  

Edited my post above with regard to boot stanza not working. Pretty sure rcrsn51 described the fix in some post a long time ago but i had forgotten about it.

I don't recall seeing this issue with non-UEFI pup CDs but my recent trials with BionicPup32 and jrb's Quirky7 - which are both UEFI aware iso files - gave the same error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 52 of 55 [815 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0941s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0395s) ][ GZIP on ]