Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 29 Jan 2020, 00:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
TazPuppy Beta 44
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 68 of 73 [1088 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73 Next
Author Message
TiredPup


Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Posts: 49
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed 04 Dec 2019, 15:17    Post subject:  

zagreb999 wrote:

Quote:
vlc

please, can you give a link
for vlc that works
in tazpuppy?

thanks


From a recent post in the Slitaz Forum:

Quote:

The menu shortcut doesn't work for Vlc because it has no graphical user interface.
Slitaz-5.0 doesn't support Qt5 which is required to build the graphical user interface plugin of Vlc-3.
Vlc-3 can be used from the command line if you have the desire to learn how.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TiredPup


Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Posts: 49
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed 04 Dec 2019, 15:29    Post subject:  

I am posting from Beta 40 of TazPuppy. I have manually installed this to hard drive on a Dell Optiplex 745 USFF with 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4G RAM.

Looking good so far.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1503
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Thu 05 Dec 2019, 11:31    Post subject:  

TazPuppy Beta 40 working ok here, a nice new variation of puppy Smile

Booted on compaq presario cq60-211dx laptop
Sound working
wifi connected and working fine
multiple saves to save directory on flash boot device working fine no problems there

Did manual install to USB and ran grub4dos to create menu.lst on the USB flash stick
Installed to subdirectory /tazpup-b40

Installed manually ok, grub4dos kernel line needed to be changed
Original psubdir=tazpup-b40
Changed to psubdir=/tazpup-b40
needed to add "/" to psubdir kernel line, see complete menu.lst entry below
my menu.lst entry is this
Code:

title Puppy tazpup 5.0 (sdb1/tazpup-b40)
  uuid 4551002a-293f-4ea0-82f9-9b0762d12106
  kernel /tazpup-b40/vmlinuz autologin psubdir=/tazpup-b40 pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /tazpup-b40/initrd.xz

Added autologin to the kernel line, default automatic login as tux (whoami = tux@TazPuppy )

--->How to autologin as root from 1st post
Code:
* To autologin as root. Edit the /etc/slim.conf using this parameters
Code:   

default_user root
auto_login yes

then restart the TazPuppy


#############################################
One bug so far when I booted from CD
#############################################
When I first booted from CD and trying to install to USB
Using Applications-->Setup-->Puppy installer
f2fs USB Installer
"Install puppy on USB flash devices using f2fs file system"
I got an error
Code:
No kernel config found


If you want more from this error let me know what you want and I will post it.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1315
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2019, 04:02    Post subject:  

@zagreb999
If since vlc was not broken on slitaz repo. Just command line only. You may install vlc-gtk gui frontend for vlc here on this puppy forum

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54753
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 549
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2019, 05:22    Post subject:  

mistfire, thanks!

is there quicksetup-firstrun
for tazpuppy?

tazpuppy is the best
puppylinux os,
because of it ,it is pity
that there is not
normal-gui-video vlc

greetings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1315
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2019, 05:24    Post subject:  

zagreb999 wrote:
mistfire, thanks!

is there quicksetup-firstrun
for tazpuppy?

tazpuppy is the best
puppylinux os,
because of it ,it is pity
that there is not
normal-gui-video vlc

greetings


Actually TazPuppy is a hybrid system. All traits of vanilla Puppy is not always applicable to TazPuppy. Because Slitaz works on top while Puppy works underhood
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1315
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2019, 05:26    Post subject:  

TazPuppy Beta 41 released

Changes:
* Fixes on f2fs-usb-installer
* Some bugfixes

Download: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1rt9wfkIYaiD87pGc_gXSTspWCdpxQ7gQ
MD5 Checksum: bf1d0d76ca4d821fdd19f0dc1264bf36

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1MoCrvxbb976Q2HtDKMKJQWcxOauKkreU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
didit

Joined: 15 Nov 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2019, 20:08    Post subject:  

transmission is not working - error while loading shared libraries: libatk-bridge-2.0.so.0:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1315
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2019, 01:09    Post subject:  

@didit

Where did you get Tranmission torrent app?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1503
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2019, 04:10    Post subject:  

TazPuppy Beta 41 Bug Report

Using Applications-->Setup-->Puppy installer
f2fs USB Installer
"Install puppy on USB flash devices using f2fs file system"
No kernel config error now Smile
-------------
New issue now with GParted using same f2fs USB installer
When creating partitions

GParted does not support f2fs file system creation
I tried on 2-different kingston 8GB USB sticks and one MMC sandisk 4GB card

I tried on two different computers, I am given that option to create f2fs in other puppy versions with same hardware and storage devices.
Maybe GParted was compiled without that support?

Everything else functioning well for me.
Thanks for this TazPuppy, it is useful for me.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1315
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2019, 11:09    Post subject:  

@perdido

I think you need to install f2fs-tools in order gparted to format the disk into f2fs. Gparted depends on the availability of the filesystem tools. f2fs-tools was available of slitaz repo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1503
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2019, 11:44    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@perdido

I think you need to install f2fs-tools in order gparted to format the disk into f2fs. Gparted depends on the availability of the filesystem tools. f2fs-tools was available of slitaz repo

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TazPuppy Beta 41 another fresh start this time from USB Stick

The following is done from a USB stick boot with save of the f2fs-tools package installation to save folder
f2fs-tools is the only installed package

Using Applications-->Setup-->Puppy installer
f2fs USB Installer - f2fs usb installer - 1 v-0.23
Created 32MB ext2 partition and added boot flag
Created f2fs partition on rest of USB stick

On completion of f2fs partition GParted shows partitions
GParted does not automatically close
I manually exit from GParted using GParted menu "Quit"

Then after GParted window closes
A window opens with a red circle with a minus sign in it, to the right written "gettext" (no quotes)
Click "OK" and window closes.
Install script has quit.

Multiple tries/multiple boots with same results.

Getting closer Smile
gettext.png
 Description   
 Filesize   6.72 KB
 Viewed   142 Time(s)

gettext.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1315
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2019, 05:48    Post subject:  

@perdido

Could you please test this f2fs-usb-installer script. To see if the revised script works.
f2fs-usb-installer.zip
Description  Remove .zip extension
zip

 Download 
Filename  f2fs-usb-installer.zip 
Filesize  32.43 KB 
Downloaded  12 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1503
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2019, 14:26    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@perdido

Could you please test this f2fs-usb-installer script. To see if the revised script works.

Testing results, different error now.
Renamed script, made executable with owner root
installed to /usr/bin/
Ran multiple times
It gave me an error about flash drive not being bootable after creating partitions and making the ext2 32MB first partition bootable when closing GParted and returning to f2fs-USB installer

I verified GParted is running correctly by starting from terminal and manually creating both the ext2 and f2fs partitions and making the ext2 bootable with boot flag. No missing deps. I also verified the partitions and boot flag on another puppy linux, all formatting and boot flag are ok.

Attached the error window after manually exiting GParted when using f2fs-USB.
----------------
Edit: Ran it all from complete fresh install again with same result.
parts-created.png
 Description   Partitions created ok with boot flag on ext2
 Filesize   28.96 KB
 Viewed   59 Time(s)

parts-created.png

exit-gparted-window.png
 Description   This window appears after formatting USB stick and making bootable when I closed GParted
 Filesize   9.11 KB
 Viewed   88 Time(s)

exit-gparted-window.png


Last edited by perdido on Mon 09 Dec 2019, 17:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 549
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2019, 16:12    Post subject: pre-amp alsa  

what do i need to do
to add pre-amp alsa volume?


http://forum.slitaz.org/topic/alsa-adding-pre-amp-to-asoundconf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 68 of 73 [1088 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1342s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0824s) ][ GZIP on ]