(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 03 Dec 2020, 06:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
TazPuppy 5.0 rc2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 32 of 80 [1186 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, ..., 78, 79, 80 Next
Author Message
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1265
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 15:56    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
TazPup alpha 13 released

Changes:
* Fallback mounting implemented
Quick check of alpha 13 with EXT2 savefile. Updated my alpha11(EXT2) savefile. Booted correctly. Keeping the fallback line in my local.sh to mount my data partition for now. With that it mounts correctly at boot. I may try swapping one of peebees 4.17.0 kernels in but later...

Cheers,

Edit: Swapped in huge-4.17.0-lxpup64.tar.bz2 to alpha 13 and updated an unaltered tazpup alpha 11 EXT2 savefile. No mount fallbacks, EXT2 data directory mounted at boot with mount -t, bootinit.log (attached) looks clean to me. I just used the (large) zdrv from that kernel unchanged, knowing that there were firmware redundancies. WIFI connection with Ath9 card unchanged with it.
bootinit.log.gz
Description  true gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  bootinit.log.gz 
Filesize  1.36 KB 
Downloaded  106 Time(s) 

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy Older LxPupSc and X-slacko-4.4 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupSc64 and upupEF for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS.

Last edited by Marv on Sat 09 Jun 2018, 16:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darry19662018

Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 731
Location: Rakaia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 16:18    Post subject:  

I have found with recent Alphas that Dogradio and Yradio couldn't play streams with any station so Fredx181 advised to install the full grep from the package manager this corrects the issue which started at around the 11 alpha,

reference: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=995107#995107
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darry19662018

Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 731
Location: Rakaia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 16:52    Post subject:  

I found a bug with alpha 13 when installing flash from command line getting the following:

so flash package is downloaded but
sh-4.4# get-flash-plugin
Connecting to fpdownload.adobe.com (104.95.148.162:443)
flash_player_npapi_l 100% |*******************************| 8325k 0:00:00 ETA

Packing package "flash-plugin-30.0.0.113"
================================================================================
Creating the list of files... [ Done ]
Creating md5sum of files... [ Done ]
Compressing the FS... [ Done ]
Updating receipt sizes... [ Done ]
Creating full cpio archive... [ Done ]
Restoring original package tree... [ Done ]
================================================================================
Package "flash-plugin-30.0.0.113" compressed successfully.

but this happens:

/usr/libexec/tazpkg/install: line 414: can't open flash-plugin-30.0.0.113.tazpkg: no such file
/usr/libexec/tazpkg/install: .: line 415: can't open '/tmp/tmp.ZeWTpH/receipt'
sh-4.4#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2626

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 17:47    Post subject:  

The following menu item "manage locale packages" doesn't work for me in alpha 12:

Code:

sh-4.4# tazbox su "tazbox manage_i18n"
/usr/bin/tazbox: line 827: exec: tazbox manage_i18n: not found


I'll try installing the following:

Code:

slitaz-i18n   161124   SliTaz internationalization meta package to build locale pack.
slitaz-i18n-extra   4.2   SliTaz internationalization meta package to build extra locale pack.


probably first item only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
slackfan

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 18:35    Post subject:  

a way to remasterise in commando line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1424
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 18:48    Post subject:  

@slackfan you can use the remaster script on tazpup or build your own tazpup using build kit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2626

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 23:46    Post subject:  

darry19662018 wrote:
I found a bug with alpha 13 when installing flash from command line getting the following:

so flash package is downloaded but
sh-4.4# get-flash-plugin
Connecting to fpdownload.adobe.com (104.95.148.162:443)
flash_player_npapi_l 100% |*******************************| 8325k 0:00:00 ETA

Packing package "flash-plugin-30.0.0.113"
================================================================================
Creating the list of files... [ Done ]
Creating md5sum of files... [ Done ]
Compressing the FS... [ Done ]
Updating receipt sizes... [ Done ]
Creating full cpio archive... [ Done ]
Restoring original package tree... [ Done ]
================================================================================
Package "flash-plugin-30.0.0.113" compressed successfully.

but this happens:

/usr/libexec/tazpkg/install: line 414: can't open flash-plugin-30.0.0.113.tazpkg: no such file
/usr/libexec/tazpkg/install: .: line 415: can't open '/tmp/tmp.ZeWTpH/receipt'
sh-4.4#


This relates to an error that I previously reported:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=994515#994515

for tazpkg install, you have to specify the full path. In other cases maybe try running the script in the /tmp directory. I tried this for the get-OpenOffice3 script, let me see if it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2626

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 00:22    Post subject:  

From tracing a related bug
Lne 183 of https://pastebin.com/a0PtyBWX
Code:

+ cd /tmp/OpenOffice3.22078/OOO330_m20_native_packed-1_en-US.9567/RPMS

line 419 to 425
Code:

+ mv opt/openoffice.org opt/openoffice.org3 OpenOffice3-3.3.0/fs/usr/lib/openoffice
+ mv usr/share/mime OpenOffice3-3.3.0/fs/usr/share
+ mv usr/share/icons OpenOffice3-3.3.0/fs/usr/share
+ mv usr/bin OpenOffice3-3.3.0/fs/usr
+ sed -i s#/opt/#/usr/lib/openoffice/# OpenOffice3-3.3.0/fs/usr/bin/openoffice.org3 OpenOffice3-3.3.0/fs/usr/bin/openoffice.org3-printeradmin
+ cat
+ tazpkg pack OpenOffice3-3.3.0

Line 439 to 442
Code:

+ rm -rf OpenOffice3-3.3.0
+ tazpkg install OpenOffice3-3.3.0.tazpkg --root=
/usr/libexec/tazpkg/install: line 414: can't open OpenOffice3-3.3.0.tazpkg: no such file
/usr/libexec/tazpkg/install: .: line 415: can't open '/tmp/tmp.Wjxlis/receipt'


It looks like some "root" variable isn't set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2626

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 00:48    Post subject:  

The source from /usr/libexec/tazpkg/install::install_package()
could help us understand this issue because it is here where the receipt file is extracted from the package:

Code:
install_package() {
debug "\ninstall_package('$1')"
local dir
PACKAGE_FILE="$1"
TMP_DIR="$(mktemp -d)"
{ cd "$TMP_DIR"; cpio --quiet -i receipt >/dev/null 2>&1; } < "$PACKAGE_FILE"
(
. "$TMP_DIR/receipt"


also form /usr/libexec/tazpkg/install (line 411 in alpha 9?)
Code:

install_package "$(realpath "$1")"


/usr/bin/realpath is linked to busybox in alpha 9. I wonder if it is linked to coreutils in alpha 11/12/13 maybe if we link it back to busybox.

Editrealpath was linked to corutils but linking it back to busybox didn't fix my problem with the get-LiberOffice script. However, I cannot say whether or not it might fix a different problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2626

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 02:08    Post subject:  

Hmmm....I wonder if the script depends on "cd" and if it was modified to add a "cd" in the wrong spot it got messed up.

I see a cd here:
Code:

PACKAGE_DIR="$(cd $(dirname "$PACKAGE" 2>/dev/null) 2>/dev/null; pwd)"

which is from line 32 of /usr/bin/tazpkg.


Anyway here is some more random snipits of code (I think from alpha 9 for my reference. May or may not be useful:

lines 143 to 152 of /usr/bin/tazpkg (alpha 9?)
Code:

extract_package() {
action 'Extracting package...'
cpio -idm --quiet < "${PACKAGE_FILE##*/}" && rm -f "${PACKAGE_FILE##*/}"
if [ -f fs.cpio.lzma ]; then
unlzma < fs.cpio.lzma | cpio -idm --quiet && rm fs.cpio.lzma
elif [ -f fs.cpio.gz ]; then
zcat fs.cpio.gz | cpio -idm --quiet && rm fs.cpio.gz
fi
status
}



The full path is determined in lines 31 to 33 of the same script:
Code:

PACKAGE="${2%/}"
PACKAGE_DIR="$(cd $(dirname "$PACKAGE" 2>/dev/null) 2>/dev/null; pwd)"
[ -n "$PACKAGE" ] && PACKAGE_FILE="$PACKAGE_DIR/${PACKAGE##*/}"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hamoudoudou

Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1467
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 02:20    Post subject: version 13 installed,  

version 13 installed, mouse freezn a little, network available
Users blacklisted , updating packages, savefile, reboot.. feedback soon
pup_r01 activated something wrong with mouse,
everybody knows that pup_r01 is pupsave i suppose..
Mtpaint froze..
hardware.jpg
 Description   Pupsave
 Filesize   50.92 KB
 Viewed   188 Time(s)

hardware.jpg


Last edited by hamoudoudou on Sun 10 Jun 2018, 03:08; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2626

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 02:34    Post subject:  

Here some more observations about the current director.

In /usr/bin/tazpkg (line 40 in alpha 9?) we have:
Code:

export TOP_DIR="$(pwd)"


but I don't see this variable used. However, what I did find was

line 134 of /usr/libexec/tazpkg/getenv (in alpha 9?)
Code:

CUR_DIR="$(pwd)"


and there is no cd statments in this script. Also this script is sourced near the top of the files in /usr/libexec/tazpkg/ and since in TazPkg we cd to the directory there the package is:

Code:

PACKAGE_DIR="$(cd $(dirname "$PACKAGE" 2>/dev/null) 2>/dev/null; pwd)"


one would think that CUR_DIR should be the directory where the package is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hamoudoudou

Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1467
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 03:05    Post subject: mouse disconnect  

mouse disconnect in tazpup and x-slim Slacko
Posted in X-slim Slacko where Mistfire answers all questions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2626

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 03:25    Post subject:  

I think adding an if statment something like the following:
Code:

install_package() {
   
debug "\ninstall_package('$1')"
local dir
if [ -f "$1" ]; then
  PACKAGE_FILE="$1"
else
  PACKAGE_FILE="$CUR_DIR/$1"
fi

in /usr/libexec/tazpkg/install (around line 189) might help. I'm going to give it a try.

edit:

I think I need to do something simmilar around line 418 because that is where I got the error. Replacing $1 with "$PACKAGE_FILE"

So now it looks something like:

Code:

TMP_DIR=$(mktemp -d)
cd "$TMP_DIR"
if [ -f "$1" ]; then
  PACKAGE_FILE="$1"
else
  PACKAGE_FILE="$CUR_DIR/$1"
fi
cpio --quiet -i receipt < "$PACKAGE_FILE"
. $TMP_DIR/receipt
echo $PACKAGE
PACKAGE="$PACKAGE"
rm -rf "$TMP_DIR"


Edit 2

on the last line of /usr/libexec/tazpkg/install

replacing
Code:

install_package "$(realpath "$1")"

with
Code:

install_package "$(realpath "$PACKAGE_FILE")"

will test again and see if I get somewhere.

Last edited by s243a on Sun 10 Jun 2018, 04:19; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darry19662018

Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 731
Location: Rakaia

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 03:30    Post subject: Afternoon Stalker for TazPup  

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=39635
afternoonstalker-1.1.4-i486.tazpkg.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  afternoonstalker-1.1.4-i486.tazpkg.gz 
Filesize  92.72 KB 
Downloaded  92 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 32 of 80 [1186 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, ..., 78, 79, 80 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2623s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1496s) ][ GZIP on ]