TazPuppy 5.0 rc2

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
Terry H
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:48
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

#751 Post by Terry H »

Result of running from terminal:

Code: Select all

sh-4.4$ cd /mnt/home
sh-4.4$ pwd
/mnt/home
sh-4.4$ tazpet inxi-2.3.8-noarch_all.pet
tar: invalid magic
tar: short read
sh-4.4$ tazpet /mnt/home/inxi-2.3.8-noarch_all.pet
tar: invalid magic
tar: short read
sh-4.4$ 

Terry H
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:48
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

#752 Post by Terry H »

I converted the pet to a tazpkg, which appeared to install correctly, however when I attempted run from terminal I got not found. TazPanel has it as Installed package, however it says 0 installed files. Doing a search finds the /var/lib entries and the script that is installed in another puppy, but not in this tazpuppy. Not sure what is happening here.



Edit: I uninstalled the converted tazpkg and installed slitaz inxi package which also installed some dependencies. So it appears that installing the converted pet/tazpkg did not do any dependcy checking.

screenshot below is after attempting to install converted package:
Attachments
Screenshot-TazPanel.png
(83.01 KiB) Downloaded 689 times

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#753 Post by mistfire »

don570 wrote:I tested version 15 -- frugal install went well - booted fast

Observations : Opening log-in window doesn't support tab key.
Instead I had to press ENTER to move to next field.

_________________________________

Request ptmtimer 2.5 be included.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112410
_______________________________
@don570 thats the problem of slim login manager. It cant support tab

@Terry H can you please gave me the download link of that pet package?

Terry H
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:48
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

#754 Post by Terry H »

@misfire, sorry I don't remember where I got it from. I could upload it if you want to check it.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#755 Post by mistfire »

@Terry H I finally found the problem. TazPet installer extracts only gzip compressed pet packages. I revise the script and it now extracts xz or bzip compressed pet packages. Also an error message shown in tazpet-box if there is any error on extracting pet packages

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#756 Post by don570 »

uextract does a good job of extracting packages
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87864
___________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#757 Post by don570 »

I found that ptmtimer will work if mpg321 or mpg123 is installed
I compiled mpg321 using devx file in first post.
Attachments
mpg321-tazpup.tar.gz
Used by ptmtimer
(33.06 KiB) Downloaded 88 times
Last edited by don570 on Tue 15 Jan 2019, 18:54, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#758 Post by don570 »

I installed devx and tried to compile mpg123 from sourceforge
https://sourceforge.net/projects/mpg123 ... t/download

However I got this error

Code: Select all

/bin/grep: /usr/lib/libstdc++.la: No such file or directory
sed: /usr/lib/libstdc++.la: No such file or directory
libtool:   error: '/usr/lib/libstdc++.la' is not a valid libtool archive
make: *** [src/libout123/modules/output_esd.la] Error 1

The compile of mpg321 went smoothly with only
./configuration --prefix=/usr

_____________________________________________________

Also I have a suggestion...

There needs to be a right click menu for SFS files.
'Load_SFS' is used by some puppy distros.
It is useful for the devx sfs.
_______________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#759 Post by don570 »

Also I noticed a strange problem with gtkdialog...

The launching from a button didn't work.
Try this example in tazpup. I couldn't get it to launch DIALOG.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

#
# Some action function types are still missing.
# See execute_action() for more information.
#

GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog

DIALOG='
<window>
	<vbox>
		<text>
			<label>This is another dialog window.</label>
		</text>
		<button>
			<label>Close</label>
			<action function="closewindow">DIALOG</action>
		</button>
	</vbox>
	<variable>DIALOG</variable>
</window>
'
export DIALOG

MAIN_DIALOG='
<window>
	<vbox>
		<frame Widgets>
			<checkbox>
				<label>This is a checkbox</label>
				<variable>CHECKBOX</variable>
			</checkbox>
			<entry>
				<input>date</input>
				<variable>ENTRY</variable>
			</entry>
		</frame>
		<frame Button actions>
			<hbox>
				<button>
					<label>exit</label>
					<action>echo You pressed the exit button</action>
					<action function="exit">Exit by button</action>
				</button>
			</hbox>
			<hbox>
				<button>
					<label>launch</label>
					<action function="launch">DIALOG</action>
				</button>
				<button>
					<label>closewindow</label>
					<action function="closewindow">DIALOG</action>
				</button>
			</hbox>
			<hbox>
				<button>
					<label>enable</label>
					<action function="enable">ENTRY</action>
					<action function="enable">CHECKBOX</action>
				</button>
				<button>
					<label>disable</label>
					<action function="disable">ENTRY</action>
					<action function="disable">CHECKBOX</action>
				</button>
			</hbox>
			<hbox>
				<button>
					<label>refresh</label>
					<action function="refresh">ENTRY</action>
				</button>
				<button>
					<label>clear</label>
					<action function="clear">ENTRY</action>
				</button>
				<button>
					<label>fileselect</label>
					<action function="fileselect">ENTRY</action>
				</button>
			</hbox>
		</frame>
		<hbox>
			<button ok></button>
			<button cancel></button>
		</hbox>
	</vbox>
</window>
'
export MAIN_DIALOG

case $1 in
	-d | --dump) echo "$DIALOG" "$MAIN_DIALOG" ;;
	*) $GTKDIALOG --program=MAIN_DIALOG ;;
esac
________________________________________________

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#760 Post by mistfire »

@don570
Try to change #!/bin/sh to #!/bin/bash on your script

If you want to sfs modules just double click the sfs files and click Load modules

load_sfs of tazpuppy can also load slax and porteus modules

Rodney Byne
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri 31 Jan 2014, 14:12

Testing version 16

#761 Post by Rodney Byne »

My first-time user comments.

While testing version 16 installed to a USB Sandisk Cruzer Edge,
I noted that booting after the savefile process;
"Keyboard Layout Handler Settings"
country flags have disappeared, leaving in my case GB text only.

Midori is hopeless, TazWeb browser isn't much better and has
best described as, unrefined sticky page issues with bookmarks.

So from the on-demand features, I downloaded Firefox 17.0.11 esr
and VLC which run ok.
Just a pity being an elderly Firefox, due to lack of feature-support, U-Tube can't run.

I run world radio-station playlists and VLC makes a good job
of handling those lists to a stereo hi-fi system.
IceCast stations works ok too.

Otherwise overall, a nice tidy small distro - well done,
but needs consistent work to keep it modern and up to date.
Best regards.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#762 Post by mistfire »

TazPuppy beta 17 released

Changes:
* A CRITICAL BUG in tazpet installer where xz compressed pet packages failed to extract IS FIXED.
* Some tweaks

Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1yvtxIF ... sp=sharing
MD5 Checksum: fcc5113a775110b63c09a6a4231b688c

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/11oQLbo ... sp=sharing

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#763 Post by mistfire »

TazPuppy Beta 18 released

Changes:
* Dynamic Machine ID and Dynamic MAC address (Both enable by default but it can toggle ON and OFF (under Network Privacy Settings. Reboot required to apply the settings)

Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1kBw600 ... sp=sharing
MD5 Checksum: c9a120c4f8f353d5f89f340f4f21c691

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dchNmF ... sp=sharing

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#764 Post by don570 »

to Mistfire

Would you check this script...

https://fossies.org/linux/gtkdialog/exa ... _functions to see if DIALOG will appear.


The previous script I listed didn't copy correctly in the windows clipboard I guess. :cry:

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#765 Post by mistfire »

@don570

replace this line

Code: Select all

*) $GTKDIALOG --program=MAIN_DIALOG ;;
with this one

Code: Select all

*) $GTKDIALOG --center --program=MAIN_DIALOG ;;

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#766 Post by don570 »

I discovered what is wrong....

You need to get the more recent version of gtkdialog

Code: Select all

root@TazPuppy:~# gtkdialog -v

(process:16323): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
        Using the fallback 'C' locale.
gtkdialog version 0.8.2 release (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011-2012 Thunor
Built with additional support for: Glade, VTE.

I dragged over the version from the recent dpup stretch 7.5 32 bit
version and that upgraded tazpup to gtkdialog version 8.4.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112125

Then I checked the launch button and it works now.
By the way DIALOG is the function that the button launches.
Thunor wrote the script.
____________________________________________________

I assume radky got gtkdialog from HERE


Now ptmtimer log feature works.

Code: Select all

root@TazPuppy:~# gtkdialog -v

(process:16722): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
        Using the fallback 'C' locale.
gtkdialog version 0.8.4 release (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011-2012 Thunor
Built with support for: GTK+ 2, Glade, VTE.

___________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#767 Post by don570 »

Would you check if either mpg123 or mpg321 will compile???

I installed newest beta 18
I couldn't run 'configure' but 'make' command does work.

_________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#768 Post by don570 »

Also various default apps that BarryK supports need to be setup.

Code: Select all

defaultaudioplayer
-sh: defaultaudioplayer: command not found
root@TazPuppy:~# defaulttexteditor
/usr/local/bin/defaulttexteditor: line 2: exec: beaver: not found

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#769 Post by mistfire »

@don570 yes it is, but you must load 32-bit devx sfs module from any puppy.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#770 Post by mistfire »

TazPuppy beta 19 released

Changes:
* Added support for older pet packages. (Pre-woof era packages dated 2009 below)
* gtkdialog 0.8.4 is now used.
* defaulttextviewer and defaulttexteditor is fixed

Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WRe-Yz ... sp=sharing
MD5 Checksum: ded2abcd7f5005ce6924d7c86beb9704

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1sgE-_u ... sp=sharing

Post Reply