Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Sep 2019, 08:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
TazPuppy Beta 33
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 54 of 63 [935 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Author Message
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1191
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2019, 22:11    Post subject:  

@thinkpadfreak
On my latest experiment I modified both initrd and sfs_load. It can now track the kernel modules from other sfs modules other than zdrv sfs file. If there are external kernel modules for a specific kernel version found. It will trigger the depmod. The boot time is now much faster on subsequent boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1191
Location: PH

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2019, 06:53    Post subject:  

I sucessfully modified the rc.update and sfs_load scripts which I add auditing of gdk-pixbuf loaders, gconv modules, glib schemas, fonts, hi-color icons, gio modules, gtk immodules, pango modules, mimetypes (The audited info always stored at /var/filecount) This will determine when they are need to generate cache file by comparing the number of files on last session compared to current session instead of generating them in every boot. This will make the boot time even faster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1191
Location: PH

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2019, 07:00    Post subject:  

I also created a tool named tazcook-sfs which creates sfs modules for an app very easily. It uses the capabilities of tazpkg, chroot, and aufs.

All it need was an internet connection. run the script then install apps using tazpkg interactive mode (tazpkg will run at sandbox environment) after installing apps just exit to the tazpkg shell and it will packed it the installed program as SFS modules. This will create an SFS module with high accuracy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2019, 07:14    Post subject:  

I noticed that no sfses are listed in the right pane of bootmanager though the extra sfses are listed in sfs_load. There seems to be some inconsistency in beta 20.

I am looking forward to improvements in the next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1191
Location: PH

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2019, 09:17    Post subject:  

@thinkpad I studied the bootmanager script. The problems lies only on Xdialog program. The script actually works on puppy. By the way I will try to redirect it on sfs_load script
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1191
Location: PH

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2019, 22:11    Post subject:  

TazPuppy Beta 21 released

Changes:
* Improved modular design
* Faster boot when savefile is loaded subsequently
* Some fixes

New tool added in TazPuppy: tazcook-sfs
(Located at Menu>System Tools>Make SFS module package)
Create SFS module version of an app easily and accurately (requires internet connection) Just specify where to save the sfs modules, install packages using tazpkg shell. Exit the tazpkg shell and it will start creating sfs modules. It allows to install many apps as long the user does not quit tazpkg shell

NOTE: When SFS module created by tazcook-sfs is loaded in TazPuppy. The tazpkg sees it as installed an package but not visible for updating package.

Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ndMJCNLpyBfcUS8Sf0BuvM5IIcjyqp9A/view?usp=sharing
MD5 Checksum: 89ff398b77575e5f2c19454d76798888

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hdGmNf9b-aTWNxv87Z80sX4DOqR3deWW/view?usp=sharing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2019, 12:58    Post subject:  

Hello.
I have installed beta 21. I have tried loading 5 extra sfses as I did before.

Part of boot.log
Code:
zram started
Starting pup_sfs_load...
sfs_load: Loading '/initrd/mnt/dev_save/OpenOffice415-ja-i386.sfs'...
umount: can't unmount /initrd/pup_z: Device or resource busy
losetup-FULL: /initrd/mnt/dev_save/OpenOffice415-ja-i386.sfs: failed to set up loop device: Device or resource busy

sfs_load: Do not assosiate /initrd/mnt/dev_save/OpenOffice415-ja-i386.sfs to /dev/loop4 but /dev/loop2.
Starting httpd...


After loading openoffice (sfs), I see the message "next boot will be faster!" at every boot.
Indeed, the message disappears sooner than before, but sfs_load is changing the mount point of openoffice (sfs) from /dev/loop4 to /dev/loop2. The boot.log says, "losetup-FULL."
I am afraid that this means the 5th extra sfs (openoffice) exceeds the number of loadable sfses.

So I have to conclude that it is safer to limit the number of extra sfses to 4 at most, in which case the message "next boot will be faster!" does not appear.
I think that there is nothing wrong with the openoffice (sfs), because it does not cause any trouble on other Puppies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1191
Location: PH

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2019, 22:20    Post subject:  

@thinkpadfreak losetup-FULL is just command. It means that it was a full version losetup is used (compiled executable) not losetup from busybox. By the way does your open office sfs sucessfully loaded upon boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2019, 22:45    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
> By the way does your open office sfs sucessfully loaded upon boot?

What I did is as follows:
First, I loaded openoffice sfs as the 5th extra sfs by means of sfs_load.
(It took much longer than when I loaded other sfses.)
Openoffice started normally.
I rebooted tazpuppy. The message "next boot will be faster!" appeared.
(After that, I see the message at every boot.)

So openoffice itself works fine. But the behavior of tazpuppy when it loads extra sfses is different from those of other Puppies.

I wonder if other users of tazpuppy do not load as many as 5 or more extra sfses. It seems that some more tests are needed about this issue.
(As I stated before, it is my understanding that modern Puppies can load up to 6 extra sfses safely.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 652
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2019, 00:55    Post subject:  

thinkpadfreak wrote:
mistfire wrote:
> if a certain loop device number is already use. It will automatically search for available loop device number which is not in use.

I wonder why zdrv must be mounted at /dev/loop4, instead of /dev/loop2 or dev/loop3. If /dev/loop4 is not in use, openoffice (sfs) will use it, so that depmod will not be run.

The fact that fdrv is listed in sfs_load is also strange. In case of UpupBB, for example, fdrv is not listed as an extra sfs.

(I do not know much about the mechanism of puppy, so what i am saying may be pointless.)


To eliminate the fdrv, have you thought about eliminating the fdrv and manually extracting the required firmware, which can be copied to /lib/firmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2019, 02:47    Post subject:  

Terry H wrote:
> To eliminate the fdrv, have you thought about eliminating the fdrv and manually extracting the required firmware, which can be copied to /lib/firmware.

Thank you for the advice.
I tried eliminating fdrv by merging fdrv and zdrv to make a new zdrv.
Naturally, fdrv is not listed in sfs_load any more.

But still, the message "next boot will be faster!" appears at every boot, and the 5th extra sfs is mounted at /dev/loop2.
The extra sfses are mounted at /dev/loop6 ~ /devloop9 and /dev/loop2.
/dev/loop5 is not in use, probably because it is reserved for fdrv.

It is clear that tazpuppy behaves differently from other Puppies. If it is the way tazpuppy should be, I will give up further discussion about this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1191
Location: PH

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2019, 03:23    Post subject:  

@thinkpadfreak I reviewed to init code of initrd which was responsible of loading sfs files prior to execution of sfs_load. According to the comments of init script. 6 sfs files is the limit that can be only loaded when the puppy boots up because the performance degrades as the number of sfs file loaded increase.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2019, 04:34    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
> According to the comments of init script. 6 sfs files is the limit that can be only loaded when the puppy boots up because the performance degrades as the number of sfs file loaded increase.

I wonder if the number 6 means the number including adrv, fdrv, etc.
UpupBB has adrv, fdrv, ydrv and zdrv. If we take main sfs and save file into account, they already make 6. But, of course, UpupBB can load extra sfses.

I also remember that older Puppies were able to load up to 3 extra sfses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1191
Location: PH

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2019, 06:32    Post subject:  

@thinkpad the number excludes adrv, fdrv, ydrv, and zdrv. yes its possible by editing the initrd. You need to modify the init script then create more pup_ro folders in initrd filesystem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2019, 09:19    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
> yes its possible by editing the initrd. You need to modify the init script then create more pup_ro folders in initrd filesystem.

If tazpuppy does not support 6 extra sfses, I will use it as it is. I am not going to go so far as to edit the initrd.

I thank you for making boot faster. However, I do not want to see the message "next boot will be faster!" at every boot.

I have unloaded devx sfs. As a result, the extra sfses are 4 in total, and tazpuppy boots smoothly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 54 of 63 [935 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0907s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0415s) ][ GZIP on ]