Page 44 of 60

Posted: Sat 27 Apr 2019, 07:23
by s243a
darry19662018 wrote:Sigh in this distro there is no way to stop polkit so seem to be stuck with this problem may have to find another window manager.
I found a way to get rid of this error message. In /ect/xdg/autostart:
rename:

Code: Select all

lxpolkit.desktop
to

Code: Select all

lxpolkit.desktop-back
in $HOME/.config/lxsession/LXDE/desktop.conf
change:

Code: Select all

polkit/command=lxpolkit
to

Code: Select all

polkit/command=none
The last change was a complete guess so I don't know if it will cause any problems. It did get rid of the GDBus message at startup though :)

P.S. I did read that you can replace lxpolkit with policykit-1-gnome. However, to do this we would need to compile policykit-1-gnome. The disadvantage of this is that policykit-1-gnome has more dependencies. The advantage though is that policykit-1-gnome is probably less buggy.

Posted: Sat 27 Apr 2019, 07:49
by darry19662018
Thanks mate working so far will report back any problems.

Posted: Sun 28 Apr 2019, 11:35
by mistfire
TazPuppy Beta 26 released

Changes:
* Build from recent slitaz release
* Improve boot process and initrd
* Now supports debian, red hat, slackware, and arch linux packages natively

Download: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1wjMr1 ... vbinNXs9Ok

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lEm0n ... iUYrbdACSr

Posted: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 00:18
by thinkpadfreak
Hello.
I have installed beta 26.

One thing I have noticed is that, when I click a desktop icon, for example, "home" icon, I am asked whether to execute the application or not.
(I have logged in as root.)

Such a thing did not happen before.

Posted: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 05:07
by mistfire
@thinkpadfreak this will fix the problem

1. Go to PCManFM
2. Click Edit preferences
3. Tick "Don't ask option to launch executable file"
4. Click OK

Posted: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 06:26
by peebee
mistfire wrote:@thinkpadfreak this will fix the problem

1. Go to PCManFM
2. Click Edit preferences
3. Tick "Don't ask option to launch executable file"
4. Click OK
Sadly, this is a "feature" of pcmanfm since version 1.3.... and if you tick that option it affects not only .desktop files but also scripts....... which is unfortunate.

There is a workaround whereby you put the .desktop file in a subdirectory of /usr/share/applications with NoDisplay=true set and then make a 2nd Type=Link .desktop file where you want it to be. Rather messy.

e.g.
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Link
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Web Check
URL=/usr/share/applications/cloud/webcheck.desktop
Icon=secondlife_icon

Posted: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 12:39
by thinkpadfreak
Hi, mistfire and peebee.

Thank you both for the advice / information.

Posted: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 14:07
by mistfire
TazPuppy Beta 27 released

Changes:
* "Don't ask option to launch executable file" setting in PCManFM is now enabled by default in order to handle desktop files
* Improved rc.update script

Download: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Hj49z ... zL3kyt-BpZ
MD5 Checksum: d2c7381aa939e4c0a89e938b77ff56c6

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/19C3JQE ... sp=sharing

Posted: Fri 03 May 2019, 11:56
by mistfire
About gdbus error, the latest build of slitaz has a bug. lxpolkit requires consolekit. I posted this bug on slitaz forum. I hope they will fix it

Posted: Tue 07 May 2019, 02:03
by mistfire
TazPuppy Beta 28 released

* Bugfix on gdbus occuring from later slitaz rolling releases
* Improved underdog


Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1A2hM3s ... sp=sharing
MD5 Checksum: 7a4dc63969ed15e1b4787a9c079d2810

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Wc0PRg ... sp=sharing

Posted: Wed 08 May 2019, 13:49
by thinkpadfreak
Hello.
I have installed beta 28.

This time I have noticed that "lxappearance" does not seem to function.
Preview is OK, but the settings are not actually applied.

Posted: Fri 10 May 2019, 06:47
by s243a
I'm not sure if there is an actual "install" scripts for sfs files. By install, I don't mean copy it into the save file, instead I mean run all the post install scripts.

I was looking at the make-devx script. All the receipts are copied to their normal place. Once the sfs is mounted at some layer (top or bottom?), one could loop through all the files within the sfs located at /var/lib/tazpkg/installed, and run each post install script. The post install script is located in the receipt. Path:

Code: Select all

/var/lib/tazpkg/installed/$PACKAGE/receipt
Here is an example of a receipt with a post install script (from TazPup64):

Code: Select all

# SliTaz package receipt v2.

PACKED_SIZE="288.0K"
UNPACKED_SIZE="888.0K"
PACKAGE="bash"
VERSION="4.4.p23"
CATEGORY="shells"
SHORT_DESC="The GNU bourne shell"
MAINTAINER="pankso@slitaz.org"
LICENSE="GPL3"
WEB_SITE="https://www.gnu.org/software/bash/"
TAGS="LFS shell"
DEPENDS="ncurses readline"
pre_remove() {
	echo
	echo 'Setting /bin/sh as default shell for all users'
	sed -i 's|:/bin/bash$|:/bin/sh|' "$1/etc/passwd"
	[ -f "$1/etc/skel/.bashrc" ] && rm "$1/etc/skel/.bashrc"
}
post_install() {
	mkdir -p "$1/etc/skel"; cp -a "$1/etc/bashrc" "$1/etc/skel/.bashrc"

	# Exit function in non-interactive mode (when user can't answer question)
	! tty -s && return

	echo -n 'Do you want to set /bin/bash to default (y/N) ? : '
	read -t 30 answer
	[ "$answer" != 'y' ] && return

	echo
	echo 'Setting /bin/bash as default shell for all users'
	sed -i 's|:/bin/[ckz]*sh$|:/bin/bash|' "$1/etc/passwd"

	echo 'Creating ~/.bashrc file for all users'
	for i in $(awk -F: '$7=="/bin/bash"{print $6}' "$1/etc/passwd"); do
		[ -e "$1$i/.bashrc" ] && continue
		cp "$1/etc/bashrc" "$1$i/.bashrc"
		chown $(stat -c%U:%G "$1$i") "$1$i/.bashrc"
	done
}

Posted: Mon 13 May 2019, 19:32
by mistfire
@s243a you can use the make sfs module utility for building devx if you want such feature. The devx package list was in /usr/share/devx.txt

I need some help me right now. Next TazPuppy was too close for release however I cant release it immediately because of only one problem. The dialog command of slitaz does not render properly. Here is something weird. If you boot a normal slitaz, dialog works correctly but it if you extract the slita rootfs and repack it as sfs. The dialog does not properly rendered.

To recreate this problem. Extract the slitaz rootfs in a folder after the extraction, type this command on terminal

Code: Select all

chroot [extracted slitaz rootfs folder] slitaz-config

Posted: Mon 13 May 2019, 19:55
by s243a
mistfire wrote:@s243a you can use the make sfs module utility for building devx if you want such feature. The devx package list was in /usr/share/devx.txt
I may do this. At this point it is only an idea of something that might be benificial.

Regarding devx.txt, I already modified this file in TazPup64. See post:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 33#1027733

the modifications might not be relevant to the official Tazpup.
I need some help me right now. Next TazPuppy was too close for release however I cant release it immediately because of only one problem. The dialog command of slitaz does not render properly. Here is something weird. If you boot a normal slitaz, dialog works correctly but it if you extract the slita rootfs and repack it as sfs. The dialog does not properly rendered.

To recreate this problem. Extract the slitaz rootfs in a folder after the extraction, type this command on terminal

Code: Select all

chroot [extracted slitaz rootfs folder] slitaz-config
Can you provide more details? On TazPup64 I did have an issue with tazbox. The fix was as follows:

Code: Select all

tazpkg get-install yad-html --forced 
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 01#1026801

What I think that the above command did was replace yad-gtk with yad-html.

Posted: Mon 13 May 2019, 23:26
by mistfire
@s243a there is no problem on tazbox. dialog command which is used to display dialog on command terminal is the problem. The dialog box was not properly rendered on terminal.

Posted: Tue 14 May 2019, 00:16
by s243a
mistfire wrote:@s243a there is no problem on tazbox. dialog command which is used to display dialog on command terminal is the problem. The dialog box was not properly rendered on terminal.
It's not listed as a dependency but you might need:
linuxconsoletools-1.6.0.tazpkg

this is just a guess I'm making since I know that the build script removes a bunch of files that start with linux. If I look at the dependencies for dialog in debian, it contains a dependency called libtinfo5, Perhaps linuxconsoletools-1.6.0.tazpkg has the same libraries as the debian package libtinfo5.

On another note, one can live without dialog if they they select the save options before we exit Xorg.

Posted: Tue 14 May 2019, 02:18
by mistfire
However the latest dialog and bash on slitaz was compiled against libtinfo 6.1. They rendered properly on pristine on slitaz but not rendering well when converted to TazPuppy.

Posted: Tue 14 May 2019, 02:27
by s243a
mistfire wrote:However the latest dialog and bash on slitaz was compiled against libtinfo 6.1. They rendered properly on pristine on slitaz but not rendering well when converted to TazPuppy.
If you give us a link to the latest iso we can try troubleshooting. As a quick fix have you tried just using an older version of dialog?

Posted: Tue 14 May 2019, 04:11
by mistfire
@s243a okay I will give a link of ISO file of latest tazpuppy build within few days due to limited internet connectivity here

Posted: Wed 15 May 2019, 01:54
by mistfire
Finally I figured out the problem on dialog command. There is something weird happened at /usr/share/terminfo/x files. So I replaced with it those from puppy file also I blocked the ncurses-common package on tazpkg