Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 14 Aug 2018, 02:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
TazPup Beta 1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 40 [595 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 922
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2018, 20:28    Post subject:  

@zagreb999 is it the latest alpha release? does sfs icon show in pcmanfm? or unknown file type is shown?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 922
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2018, 20:30    Post subject:  

I was wondering why home icon does not show on desktop when using root account while. Home icon on desktop is shown on tux account?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2753
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2018, 21:12    Post subject:  

Marv wrote:

Yes, Tazpup is the same. It's just bouncing between the two modes and trying to get the configurations for Tux and root somewhat aligned and persistent that I have to get used to.

You could edit the slim.conf and just make it use user root and not use user tux at all. Doing this however still requires one to enter a password of root when doing admin tasks. I find this a bit silly.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2753
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2018, 21:22    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@smokey01 using your compiled kernel in tazpup can you please view the files in /sys/devices/system/cpu/
vulnerabilities/ and send me the results from your computer

meltdown="Not affected"
spectre_v1="Mitigation: __user pointer sanitization"
spectre_v2="Vulnerable: Minimal AMD ASM retpoline"

I have an AMD FX-8370 Eight-Core Processor.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 1158
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2018, 21:42    Post subject: Re: test  

zagreb999 wrote:

filemount of sfs not work....
-------------------
do you intend to:
use full lz4 compression,

quick remaster as in debiandog,
to create sfs files to be loaded...?


To create SFS you need to install squashfs, lzo, lz4, lz4-lib and I installed xz as well.

_________________
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
X-series repo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 1158
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2018, 22:35    Post subject:  

Quick test with Xfce
xfce.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.17 KB
 Viewed   352 Time(s)

xfce.jpg


_________________
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
X-series repo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1067
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2018, 22:53    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
Marv wrote:

Yes, Tazpup is the same. It's just bouncing between the two modes and trying to get the configurations for Tux and root somewhat aligned and persistent that I have to get used to.

You could edit the slim.conf and just make it use user root and not use user tux at all. Doing this however still requires one to enter a password of root when doing admin tasks. I find this a bit silly.
Just trying to test in stock form... After a bit more fiddling on my frugal Grub4Dos install of stock alpha-5 to a fat32 partition on an i5 based (sandy bridge) laptop SSD, I see what is giving me trouble. What is happening for me with both savefile and savefolder is that on first reboot the savefile or folder are created correctly and any changes made prior are saved to them and read correctly on reboot. However; any changes made before the second or subsequent reboots are not written to either the savefile on the fat32 partition or to a savefolder on an EXT2 partition. Finally checked this just making a single testfile in Documents and examining the savefile or savefolder using another pup after exiting tazpup. What should the owner & group be for Tux on the saves? Mine are ftp/disk. If I manually add anything into the savefolder while running another pup and then boot tazpup, the info is read correctly.. Can't remember if I tried this with the savefile but I think I did also.
_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy LxPupSc and X-slacko-4.4 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupSc64, and LxPupBB for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS. Now tazpup for puzzles Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 922
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2018, 23:19    Post subject:  

@smokey it means meltdown and spectre mitigation is working on your compiled kernel, nice.

@rg66 does the whole xfce package worked perfectly?

@Marv about persistence issue we might need more than one brain working to fix that problem.

Saving session on Slitaz is more tricky than in puppy. Because when X is terminated on Slitaz, it restarts X. If the login manager was stop then if will go to login prompt in command line and the process of the script stopped. The best solution was Save Session while X is running then call shutdown/reboot command.

Loading save file or folder should work because the initrd use in tazpup was came from X-Slacko Slim and it works fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 1158
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2018, 23:27    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:

@rg66 does the whole xfce package worked perfectly?


No, lots of broken things but it's usable. Used xfce pkgs from slitaz repo which are old. Will work on it in my spare time. What devx should be used?

_________________
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
X-series repo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 922
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 14 May 2018, 00:55    Post subject:  

@rg66 any devx of slacko or debian-based pups might work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 351
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Mon 14 May 2018, 03:12    Post subject:  

@zagreb999 is it the latest alpha release? does sfs icon show in pcmanfm? or unknown file type is shown?

yes, yes all icons... also on desktop...
it was latest iso

in test installed retrovol, but it was not sound and video...in media pl.

regards!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 922
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 14 May 2018, 06:38    Post subject:  

@zagreb did you boot on pristine state when it happened?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 351
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Mon 14 May 2018, 07:35    Post subject:  

i just copied files from iso
to usb, after made uefi boot...
and it boots...
i nothing install, noone iso file...

regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
festus


Joined: 14 Jan 2015
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Mon 14 May 2018, 08:14    Post subject:  

Marv wrote:
...I am currently running well with a 4.4.131 32bit made by Sailor Enceladus substituted in. I can't find the link right now Sad It has full spectre and meltdown mitigation and is my current favorite for 'smaller' pups...
Here is the link:http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=991109#991109

I switched to kernel 4.4.131-slacko using slacko-5.7.1(Sailor Enceladus') and this is the vulnerability report:
Code:
huge-4.4.131-slacko

meltdown           : Vulnerable
spectre_v1   : Mitigation   : __user pointer sanitization
spectre_v2   : Vulnerable   : Minimal generic ASM retpoline


hope this helps

bliss,
festus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5115
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 14 May 2018, 19:55    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:

@don570 how do you manage to run tazpup on raspberry pi because it is an arm platform while tazpup was x86?



Tazpup runs on a PC.
I made a connection with my ethernet cable and ssh app.
Midnight commander and scp worked as well to control the raspberry pi 2 board
from the tazpup computer. All the apps are built-in, so I didn't have to download anything.
_______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 40 [595 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0751s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]