Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 14 Aug 2018, 02:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Netgear A6100 USB dongle on Tahrpups
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
123sean

Joined: 30 May 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2018, 14:34    Post subject:  

So I restarted the computer, it's registered on bootup, I go to wireless and then i find absolutely no wlan connection. is there some sort of manual thing I gotta do to get the os to recognize the dongle currently plugged in?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
a_salty_dogg


Joined: 15 Dec 2013
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2018, 15:05    Post subject:  

Just a couple of thoughts:

1. Did you try unplugging and replugging the dongle after Puppy had loaded?

2. When I used to use a Huawei dongle (forget on which Puppy, was a long time ago) it showed up for some reason in Network Interfaces not as "usb0", which I was expecting, but as "eth1".
Have you tried connecting via ANY AND ALL interfaces showing up, on the offchance the same may be happening to you on wireless?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
123sean

Joined: 30 May 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2018, 15:41    Post subject:  

okay, so all I found in the network wizard was eth0, which is just the ethernet port on the back of my pc, and nothing else. I even unplugged it and plugged it back in to see if anything changed, but to no avail. I did, however, find all the connected devices, and it registered the dongle as a connected device. I don't know if it's important or not, but it also says there is no system driver, which I'm assuming means that there is no pre-built driver already on the system.

My current guess is that the driver isn't registering with the device.
devices.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  devices.png 
Filesize  192.64 KB 
Downloaded  46 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1792
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2018, 15:45    Post subject:  

If the driver module is definitely loaded then I would expect the device to show up as an interface in the network tool (as wlan0 or similar). If it doesn't then maybe the firmware is missing and needs to be chased up. The Netgear download package I saw was very big and perhaps contained all sorts of windows drivers and stuff. Firmware for any one device is usually quite small but may be contained inside that large download. Otherwise not sure, maybe someone else can offer more guidance.
_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 832

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2018, 16:12    Post subject:  

My approach with any Linux distro is to buy devices that I know the kernel will support instead of buying shiny things then trying to shoehorn them into linux.

Less stressful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
123sean

Joined: 30 May 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2018, 17:57    Post subject:  

Alrighty, I think this is a wrap. One video made by "Don't call me lenny!" on youtube provided me a github link with a modified version of the rtl8812AU driver software. So I downloaded it, booted up Xaniel, and a few minutes of compiling and installing the driver, everything was recognized, and I could connect.

I'd like to thank everyone for helping me on this. This was my first time using a linux distro like this, so having alot of help from you guys was great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10846
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2018, 00:50    Post subject:  

How about helping others and making a topic on this in the
Hardware>Networking>Wireless section of the forum.

Give details on what you did.
Got driver from here (Web link)
Etc......

This hardware is probably too new to have the driver already built into the Linux kernel.
You say you used a modified driver package, so it seems they are still working on making a good Linux driver.
In Linux there is at least a 6 month delay in making drivers for very new hardware.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4299
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2018, 22:51    Post subject:  

That bigpup is never happy....ha! ha!

My Mandrake the Magician Hat is now on.

I just love half-assed answers myself.

Anyway...might help the next bloke.

:::::

https://github.com/scrivy/rtl8812AU_8821AU_linux

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJ0gcA778Ms&app=desktop

" Published on Feb 4, 2017
In this video I show you how to install the Realtek rtl8812au driver in your Debian, Ubuntu, Arch, or Manjaro Linux install Hope you enjoy!
Show Notes:
Install and configure rtl8812au in Debian:

sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r) build-essential git

git clone https://github.com/scrivy/rtl8812AU_8...

cd rtl8812AU_8821AU_linux

"""""""""'

Someone might make a Pet for this.

My Mandrake moments....so much love..

http://45.33.15.200/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=631001&sid=17a0fd4da2f8eae0c0613b1b65cf5560

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4006
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2018, 08:07    Post subject:  

jafadmin wrote:
My approach with any Linux distro is to buy devices that I know the kernel will support instead of buying shiny things then trying to shoehorn them into linux.

Less stressful.


Well said, that man.

That's my exact same approach. Wireless dongles, webcams, any kind of peripheral like that.....do your research first, and it'll pay off. In spades; 'cos the item will be literally 'plug & play'. Plug it in; it'll work.

Perhaps I did go over the top with my recent purchase of a Logitech c920 HD Pro webcam.....but this top of the range cam gives exceptional picture quality, so was worth every shekel I laid out for it. From my research, I knew it was supported by the kernel 'uvc' driver module.....so should be plug & play.

And so it proved. Instead of spending days or weeks trying to make it work, right from day one I've instead simply enjoyed using it.....

It's a much more sensible approach.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0612s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0182s) ][ GZIP on ]