Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 18 Aug 2018, 02:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
fix browser timeouts?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 446

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2018, 00:27    Post subject:  fix browser timeouts?
Subject description: Unable to connect to Aldi's prize site
 

I'm using firefox with xenialpup64-7.5. and trying to connect to aldi's prize site with no success.
I want to give ff more time to connect to site as they are claiming the site busy, but I think it's a deliberately delayed response to exclude/restrict access to prize claimants. pls advise. I am in a remote, low priority access area compared to the server? i'm assuming timeout is controlled at my end, not by their server?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10867
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2018, 14:21    Post subject:  

Try this:


Open Firefox & type in ‘about:config’ in the address bar & press Enter.
Click on the 'I'll be careful, I promise' button.
Type ‘timeout’ in the search box.
Scroll down to network.http.response.timeout parameter.
Doube click on the ‘network.http.response.timeout’ parameter & enter the time value (it is in seconds) that you don't want your session not to timeout.
Give it a higher setting.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 446

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2018, 22:40    Post subject:  

thanks, but no such page as about.config. does this require an account/signin?

edit:
solved--thx. Might have been scam popup on aldi.com.au. hope not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10867
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 16:49    Post subject:  

It is about:config
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3160
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 08:08    Post subject:  

Just to emphasise --- that is a COLON not a full stop or any other character.
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0737s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]