Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 20 Nov 2014, 22:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
1.0.3 says my ethernet cable is unplugged - OK with 1.0.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
theelf


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 55
Location: Temperance Hall, TN

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2005, 13:44    Post subject:  1.0.3 says my ethernet cable is unplugged - OK with 1.0.2  

Puppy 1.0.3 has decided that my network cable is unpluged. I have two machines that have the same mb, video card, ram, ethernet card (3com 3C905B) sound card and CPU. The only thing different is the drives and monitors. Network connected via a Zoom router/dsl modem. I am still able to connect to the internet with other OSs on both machines but Puppy says that my ethernet cable on one machine is unpluged
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2005, 18:28    Post subject:  

Did the wizard identify your ethernet card correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theelf


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 55
Location: Temperance Hall, TN

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2005, 20:19    Post subject:  

Yes it was identified correctly and had been working until this morning when I get a message on bootup that the ethernet cable is unpluged. It works fine in Win98SE, Win2K, WinXP, BeOS, and PCLinuxOS. Puppy is the only place I'm getting this error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theelf


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 55
Location: Temperance Hall, TN

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2005, 01:42    Post subject:  

Reinstalled 1.0.2 - problem solved. Seems to be a bug with 1.0.3 maybe it will get fixed in 1.0.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2005, 03:56    Post subject: The Puppy woofs  

Not really a bug - Puppy 1.0.2 uses the 2.6 Linux kernel which is 30% faster on some machines (mine for example) and supports more hardware (yours for example)

1.0.4 will have better hardware support but it will be using the more stable 2.4 kernel (1.0.2 used 2.6 as an experiment)

From what I know we will eventually be moving to the later kernel, however not yet (no need - 2.4 is still in active development)

Barrys aim as I understand it it is to make Puppy work with either kernel (which of course bodes well for future upgrades)

Hope that makes sense Smile

If you have the broadband and CD-RW's ready then by all means try 1.0.4 (available within the next 9 days) and tell us if it works . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
theelf


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 55
Location: Temperance Hall, TN

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2005, 06:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
Not really a bug - Puppy 1.0.2 uses the 2.6 Linux kernel which is 30% faster on some machines (mine for example) and supports more hardware (yours for example)

My ethernet card was working before and still does on my other machine which has most all the same hardware including ethernet cards using 1.0.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2005, 07:12    Post subject: Description of situation  

Yes indeed

but as I say different hardware is supported in 1.0.2 to 1.0.3
Not everything that works with 1.0.2 will work with 1.0.3

Your natural assumption is that if it works in 1.0.2 it must and should work in 1.0.3
- not necessarily
- your situation proves that
(though ideally that would be so)

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
theelf


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 55
Location: Temperance Hall, TN

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2005, 07:48    Post subject:  

It was working in 1.0.3 until yesterday as I said in the original post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0494s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]