Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 14 Nov 2018, 18:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to change root password?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
Grogster


Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2018, 00:57    Post subject:  How to change root password?  

Hi all. Slacko 64, 6.3.0

Run terminal and passwd root, enter in new password for root, confirm it, get back a message to say password has been changed. Exit terminal. Reboot.

...but new password does not take effect. Sad

Password for root is still the default of woofwoof. If I try to connect to the Puppy box via Windows 10, the new password does not work, but the OLD one does. IE: I can access the puppy machine fine with root/woofwoof as you would expect with a clean install, but the new root password is being ignored.

Anyone got any ideas why that should be?
Is there something else I am supposed to do to make the new password take effect?

EDIT: I think this was my mistake. I needed to use smbpasswd root to change the SAMBA password for the networking. I have now done this and rebooted, and now Windows totally refuses to talk to the puppy box at all. Wink Comes up with message saying I don't have permission to access it - which would be right if I changed the password. Now I just have to work out how to get Bill(Windows) to update the credentials for the puppy box - the experimenting continues....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 390

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2018, 10:21    Post subject:  

Quote:
...but new password does not take effect. Sad


AFAICS, the password is stored in the file /etc/shadow and to keep the password over reboots would require that the contents of this file be preserved. Presumably, the copy of /etc/shadow is kept in the main puppy software repository squashed file. For Puppy Tahr, that file would be puupy_tahr_6.xxx.sfs (where xxx is the version number). The other alternative is to find a way in the initial boot process to overwrite the /etc/shadow with a copy that has the correct password. For a full install, the process is automatic. For a frugal there may be a way via the save file. I don't use a save file (I prefer to manually make any changes) so can't advise well on how to do this but there is plenty of topics about updating and checking savefiles on these forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12324
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2018, 10:31    Post subject:  

@Peterm321: Did you read the EDIT above?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 848
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2018, 15:04    Post subject:  

Code:
smbpasswd -a root


and I change to the root passwd to match
Code:

passwd root


the Samba config may need some slight modification
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Grogster


Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2018, 18:22    Post subject:  

Well, that has REALLY stuffed things up. Wink

After having done that, no Windows boxes can see the Puppy box anymore, and OpenElec can't see it either! :p

Oh dear..... Sad

I would not have thought it would matter, really, to the VISIBILITY of the box on the network. IE: The Puppy box should still be visible to the other boxes on the LAN, but you just can't talk to it without the correct password. This is not the case.

That, AND several of the other boxes that WERE visible on the LAN have now vanished, and I can only access one box out of about six machines on the LAN. Weird....

I shut down the ENTIRE network, including all switches and the ADSL router, and rebooted everything. As soon as I boot the Puppy box, it now blocks the visibility of most of the other boxes on the LAN. I would not have thought that possible, just by changing the root password on that one Puppy box. Power off the Puppy box, and the other boxes come back on the LAN and can be seen and accessed.

I think I will have to install a new copy of Puppy to fix this, as I need that machine on the LAN - it has 16TB of hard-drive storage in it! :p I will keep the problem one on it's USB drive, and will setup a new copy - I see they have Slacko-64 6.3.2 now, so it is a chance to update the Puppy distro.

I can't understand how just playing with the passwords on that one box could have mucked up the LAN for all the other boxes so badly though. If anyone has any ideas as to how or why that should be, I would LOVE to hear about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Grogster


Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2018, 20:17    Post subject:  

Hi all. Smile

Just a little update for you:

Clean install Slacko-64 6.3.2.
Configure network IP address to static.
Mount partitions
Terminal: smbpasswd -a root and proceed.
Terminal: passwd root and proceed.
Exit terminal.
Reboot.

Windoze still refuses to talk to the box via networking(is still totally invisible), but I can connect to the location using the IP address of the Puppy box, the share-name, and entering in the Samba password, and Windoze linked to it easily then.

I found that information in a very useful page here:

https://www.techrepublic.com/article/how-to-connect-to-linux-samba-shares-from-windows-10/

It would seem that Windows 10 is a little touchy with Samba shares.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 390

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2018, 11:47    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 6 August 2018, at 10:31 wrote:

@Peterm321: Did you read the EDIT above?


Yes I had read the edit section before I posted. The OP advises "the experimenting continues...." and may be interested (or perhaps not ) in some more information provided to explain why a root password change may not survive a reboot.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0609s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]