Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 19 Nov 2018, 17:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox with Jack enabled
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 948

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2018, 14:09    Post subject:  Firefox with Jack enabled
Subject description: for bit perfect audio?
 

Hi, here is a link for a Firefox 64 bit binary compiled with Jack enabled by Zam Audio:

http://zamaudio.com/mbox2/firefox-54.0a1.en-US.linux-x86_64-withjack.tar.bz2

And also a build recipe for compiling Firefox generally with Jack Audio enabled:

https://github.com/rowanthorpe/build-jack-fox

If any 64 bit puppy users feel inclined to confirm that that Firefox actually loads up in a 64 bit Pup that would be handy.

For sound, you are going to need Jack and the convenience of qjackctl to route the audio.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2018, 16:24    Post subject:  

First I was some kind of happy, when I read "Firefox with Jack enabled". Wanted to download...

puhh, 64bit... ...displeased...

...want to have this in 32bit... Crying or Very sad

Wink

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 948

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 05:12    Post subject:  

Ha, yes I think there's only you and me that would like the browser through Jack as an option!

I just didn't want to have to download all the 64 bit Pups to see if it is any good, i.e not stuttering or other things.
Also people complaining that Puppy audio is too quiet and not as good as windows.
Well if it went through Jack you could use a blooming big master limiter etc in the chain to blast the audio and upset the neighbours, cat/dog/goldfish.

Anyways will see if anyone reports back on zam audio's firefox just to see if it is a goer. 32 bit would be fine by me also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 21:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
Also people complaining that Puppy audio is too quiet and not as good as windows.

Can't confirm this. Confused

Might be dependent on the hardware specs of the computer.

I'm using a set of Creative A300 external computer speakers with sub-woofer on one machine.

On the other machine (used to do Audio-/MIDI etc.) the stereo out of the computer is connected to the stereo input of a Yamaha MG 10 mixing console.

The output of the MG 10 is connected to a Technics SU-V3 Amplifier connected from main output to JVC SK-600sII Speakers. The remote output of the Amplifier is connected to Sony SS-CCP1 speakers.

All sounds pretty good and is definitely able to upset some neighbours. Though, I won't. That's why I got several headphones, in case if I want to listen to music extremely loud!

Quote:
Anyways will see if anyone reports back on zam audio's firefox just to see if it is a goer. 32 bit would be fine by me also.

Yes.

This would be definitely the cream on the cake in my LazY Puppy Art Studio. Cool

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1152

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 21:53    Post subject:  

You can try adding a preamp in your /etc/asound.conf file. I've used this on Debian Dog and there are messages on this board saying it has worked in Fatdog and older versions of slacko.

It might take some trial and error.

http://alien.slackbook.org/blog/adding-an-alsa-software-pre-amp-to-fix-low-sound-levels/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 948

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2018, 04:12    Post subject:  

Apulse is really broken with kde. I still think jack could be the way forward for audio with browsers. Youtube is now..silent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0348s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]