Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 14 Nov 2019, 13:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 69 [1022 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Author Message
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 350

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 08:55    Post subject:  

Fresh frugal on hard drive of 7.9.6
Test computer is a dell desktop Dimension E510. This machine does not
provide cpu temp sensors, yet pmcputemp displays a constant 32 degrees
in the bottom tray.

Psync is working well.

Memory usage is still relatively high compared to Fatdog 721, Xenialpup64
7.5 and Tahrpup64 6.0.6 My tests on this computer using only one gig
ram plus one gig swap suggested that more than 1 gig ram is required,
especially with "heavy" browsers instead of "light".

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6606
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 12:03    Post subject:  

Test 7.9.6 on Lenovo yoga 530
AMD Ryzen 5 2500u
Pristine frugal install

Thanks for the included Realtek RTL8821CE wifi kernel module. Sorry to say, the device was not detected. Is there anything I can test/do?

I thought the newer kernel would have positive effect on the graphical experience... But it hasn't... It sometimes loads into X, sometimes not. When reaching X, the system freezes after minutes (sometimes seconds).
It uses the ati driver, and I wonder if I should try the AMD proprietary driver? The problem is that I can't connect to the web, so I have to somehow include it into my usb-pendrive that I boot from. Secondly, I have to force Puppy to use it during boot. Can I do that in xorgwizard?

Neither the touchpad nor the touchscreen works.

Thanks for any help

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 666
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 13:30    Post subject:  

ozsouth wrote:
@Terry H - your AMD cpu probably just a bit old for the k10temp module. If you edit /usr/bin/pmcpucurt.sh, replacing all (3) k10temp with k8temp, then restart window manager, will probably work. Would love you to test that, as I don't have many machines to test with.


Changed as requested. Initially it appeared OK when checked against PupSysInfo it was displaying what was the same as pmcputemp.sh had previously shown, which was temp1 it8772 reading, however over time the reading in PupsysInfo increased and fluctuates when checked, but the CPU Temp in the Tray has remained static at the initial value of 32.
temp1.png
 Description   Pup-SysInfo > Devices > Sensorrs
 Filesize   42.67 KB
 Viewed   750 Time(s)

temp1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
torgo

Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 13:37    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
I had done some testing of Ubuntu Mate 18.4.1, so I had it installed all by itself on a SSD drive. With no other hard drives on the system, I tried a frugal install of 7.9.5 on this same drive.
The screen shows:

wee 0> find --set-root /grldr
(0x80,0)
wee 0> /grldr
wee 13>

This is a bug in Grub4dos not being able to handle ext4 64bit format.
Ubuntu Mate 18.4.1 probably formatted the SSD drive partition ext4 64bit.
Ext4 64bit is used now by a lot of newer Linux OS's.

Here is more info and some info on ways to get around this:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=111376
If you change the format of the drive partition to ext4 32bit, Grub4dos should work.
The Gparted in Puppy only makes ext4 32bit format.



Thanks, bigpup!

I guess the easiest approach is just to go with the GRUB2 used by Ubuntu and add various Frugal Pups to the 40_custom file in the grub.d folder. Probably also best to make a separate partition for Pups and other stuff, keeping them out of the Ubuntu partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
znekk

Joined: 22 Jul 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 16:15    Post subject:  

Hello all,

This is just a quick report to say that everything works as expected basically on a frugal install to a usb drive.
I noticed some sound distortions with the first iso, but now this seems to be resolved for me, it might have been the kernel?
I also updated palemoon to the latest, no problems with that. Running with an I3-2140 and 8GB of ram the pup is flying!

Thank you very much for the hard work, to all the Puppy community.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6606
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 16:45    Post subject:  

7.9.6
It seems the charset is limited in cli.
Can't remember this from earlier versions.
xorgwizard.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   41.58 KB
 Viewed   680 Time(s)

xorgwizard.jpg


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 582
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 18:17    Post subject:  

@Terry H - thankyou for testing cpu temperature. No k8temp in the output. Just running sensors in a terminal should give the same output. Need to determine which sensor is actively monitoring temp & use it. Mick's original didn't do that either. Could read it, apply a burst to CPU & read again, to pick up changes, but don't like to do that to folks CPU's. That means several different possibilities. I've worked on 2 angles - sensor & path. There are 2 main paths so a changed pmcpucurt.sh, checking those paths would do for now.
Here's a pet to test. For other folk, ONLY try this if current pmcpucurt NOT working.
pmcpucurt2path.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pmcpucurt2path.pet 
Filesize  628 Bytes 
Downloaded  57 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 20:47    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
Memory usage is still relatively high compared to Fatdog 721, Xenialpup64
7.5 and Tahrpup64 6.0.6 My tests on this computer using only one gig
ram plus one gig swap suggested that more than 1 gig ram is required,
especially with "heavy" browsers instead of "light".

Art

What are you using to measure ram usage?
Pup-Sysinfo>Devices>Memory gives the best information.
Actual Used RAM:
Actual Free RAM:

RAM set aside for buffers and cached is not actually in use, until something needs it.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 666
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 21:20    Post subject:  

ozsouth wrote:
@Terry H - thankyou for testing cpu temperature. No k8temp in the output. Just running sensors in a terminal should give the same output. Need to determine which sensor is actively monitoring temp & use it. Mick's original didn't do that either. Could read it, apply a burst to CPU & read again, to pick up changes, but don't like to do that to folks CPU's. That means several different possibilities. I've worked on 2 angles - sensor & path. There are 2 main paths so a changed pmcpucurt.sh, checking those paths would do for now.
Here's a pet to test. For other folk, ONLY try this if current pmcpucurt NOT working.


At present I'll have to wait to run this tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 582
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 22:09    Post subject:  

Update 1 for pmcpucurt - not essential, but expands options & simplifies amendments. Some still may need 2path pet instead.
See: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1008196#1008196
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1237
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2018, 01:22    Post subject: sensor - modules not loading problem
Subject description: 64Bionic796 and smsc47b397.ko
 

G'day,

I'm not sure if this new problem for my computer has the same origin as recent temperature reporting issues but.....

..... I cannot get my required hwmon module to work in this Pup. I need it for my Temp-CPU widget.
Boot Manager reports the module to be loaded but sensors in a terminal says no modules are loaded.

I switched kernels in 64Bionic796 to an older kernel but still nothing reported for system temperatures.

This non-module-working situation was also in 64Bionic795 and now I see it in the most recent 32-bit Pup (CosmicCuttlefish).

All my other 64-bit Pups and 32-bit Pups are fine with this smsc47b397 module loaded either via the Boot Manager or editing MODULESCONFIG.

Should I suspect a problem with Boot Manager Modules section in the latest woof failing to actually load hwmon modules??

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 350

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2018, 07:01    Post subject:  

@bigpup
The problem of determining physical ram demand in Linux is a difficult
one. I'm not entirely clear on the HTOP method, but I still have the
sense that it seems to yield a realistic estimate. For example, HTOP
sort of predicted that I would experience crashes under certain
conditions using a mere one gig ram when testing version 7.9.5,
and I did. As soon as HTOP showed ram useage crawling up to the
one gig area, I saw crashes. The simple formula method you suggest
gives too small of a estimate.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 666
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2018, 11:09    Post subject:  

Terry H wrote:
ozsouth wrote:
@Terry H - thankyou for testing cpu temperature. No k8temp in the output. Just running sensors in a terminal should give the same output. Need to determine which sensor is actively monitoring temp & use it. Mick's original didn't do that either. Could read it, apply a burst to CPU & read again, to pick up changes, but don't like to do that to folks CPU's. That means several different possibilities. I've worked on 2 angles - sensor & path. There are 2 main paths so a changed pmcpucurt.sh, checking those paths would do for now.
Here's a pet to test. For other folk, ONLY try this if current pmcpucurt NOT working.


At present I'll have to wait to run this tomorrow.


I installed the path pet and it still appears as constant 32 (probably displaying the icon from the pmcpucurt .config file. I ran the script in terminal

Code:
cat: /sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/pmcpucurt.sh: line 25: /1000 : syntax error: operand expected (error token is "/1000 ")
Script completed hit RETURN to close window.


I ran the old pmcputemp.sh script from the previous .iso to check the path. The AMD processor used the third option from the old script. This produced this output:
Code:
/sys/devices/platform/it87.2608/hwmon/hwmon3/temp1_input is written to /root/.config/pmcputemp
Script completed hit RETURN to close window.


I changed the AMD path in the pccpucurt.sh to match the file shown above. The Tray icon now shows a variable CPU temp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 582
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2018, 18:34    Post subject:  

@Terry - thankyou for extensively testing. That explodes my path theory for AMD. At least, as per your last line, it's easy to amend the path - one of my objectives. Newer Intel and newer AMD seems OK (80+% of users???), but back to the drawing board for older AMD.
Any Intel users out there having issues with pmcpucurt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 861
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2018, 19:55    Post subject: pmcpucurt  

ozsouth (in part) wrote:
.. Newer Intel and newer AMD seems OK (80+% of users???), but back to the drawing board for older AMD.
Any Intel users out there having issues with pmcpucurt?
Hello, ozsouth. I have Bionicpup64 on this PC only, a Dell laptop E6410. Whatever cpu temp measurer it came with seems to work.
I'll download pmcpucurt and boot Bionicpup64, and hope to report back.
-----------
Oh, I seem to have it already. Is this it?
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 23144 Oct 24 13:51 /usr/bin/pmcpucurt
Tray icon is 56, 55, 57,..
I guess that's normal?

_________________
Dell E6410: BusterPup, Ermine, Xenial, etc
Intel DQ35JOE, Dell Vostro 430
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 69 [1022 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1278s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0263s) ][ GZIP on ]