(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Sep 2020, 16:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 45 of 87 [1305 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 08:45    Post subject:  

Actually the /pet_packages-bionic64/pmcputemp-0.63-x86_64.pet also works fine as the required libsensors.so that pmcpucurt installs is already present.
However, that too needs a desktop entry.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 266
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 09:07    Post subject:  

Been away from from digital world for a few days lost in blizzard, wow,you had your "bionic el nino" too,hard working testers and debuggers here!!
666philb wrote:
bionicpup64 8.0
please test everything!!! Smile
That's a task...
For now8.0 fresh lick/uefi/ataflash manual frugal .
pupsave.2fs from first 8.0,yes,to test.
All that been is still working,
-all previously798 (and first8.0) tested here from ppm or sfs .
-tweaks;xcompmgr/compton for menu/tray/xvkbd opacity or "transparency"(jwmrc-theme <TrayStyle>need<Opacity>)
Gxlat ,new? or not ,i like it!
Scratching the surface of an "everything''..

Thanks philb ,testing users ,woofce team and all.

_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
corvus


Joined: 12 Jun 2015
Posts: 156
Location: In the peninsula shaped like a boot.

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 12:54    Post subject:  

G'day,
new clean manual frugal install on Cruzer_Edge 16GB USB Flash drive, installed the following apps: wbar-2.3.4, gkrellm-2.3.10, bleachbit-2.0, gsmartcontrol-1.1.3, samsung_print_uld-1.0.37, tlp-1.1, EditSFS-2.1.3, RamdiskV2 and pmcpucurt-x86_64.
Erased the save2flash icon, using wbar it's like an eyesore. I prefer Terry H's method.

Terry H wrote:
I copy the save2flash.desktop to /usr/share/applications to be able include it in my top panel.

Thanks Terry H.

I agree with Revolverve Gxlat is much appreciated (I'm using it to translate this post). No issues so far.

Thanks 666philb.

Code:
root# inxi -Fxxz
System:    Host: puppypc1828 Kernel: 4.19.23 x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0 Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 dm: N/A
           Distro: bionicpup64 8.0
Machine:   Device: laptop System: ASUSTeK product: X555LB v: 1.0 serial: <filter>
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: X555LB v: 1.0 serial: <filter>
           UEFI [Legacy]: American Megatrends v: X555LB.204 date: 01/13/2015
Battery    BAT0: charge: 4.6 Wh 36.4% condition: 12.6/37.3 Wh (34%) volts: 7.6/7.6
           model: ASUSTeK X555-50 serial: N/A status: Discharging
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i7-5500U (-MT-MCP-) arch: Broadwell rev.4 cache: 4096 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9589
           clock speeds: min/max: 500/2401 MHz 1: 832 MHz 2: 847 MHz 3: 861 MHz 4: 815 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel HD Graphics 5500 bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:1616
           Card-2: NVIDIA GM108M [GeForce 940M] bus-ID: 04:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:1347
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.03hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 5500 (Broadwell GT2)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.2.2 (compat-v: 3.0) Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:9ca0
           Card-2 Intel Broadwell-U Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0 chip-ID: 8086:160c
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.19.23
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 port: e000 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 03:00.0 chip-ID: 168c:0036
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1015.9GB (0.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD1 size: 1000.2GB serial: N/A
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: Cruzer_Edge size: 15.7GB serial: N/A
RAID:      System: supported: linear raid0 raid1 raid10 raid6 raid5 raid4
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 36.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 163 Uptime: 45 min Memory: 915.6/11912.2MB Init: SysVinit v: N/A runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: N/A
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191 running in urxvt) inxi: 2.3.56

_________________
We are waves of the same sea, leaves of the same tree, flowers of the same garden.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2008
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 16:23    Post subject: simple_network_setup possible unexpected behavior  

Simple_network_setup 2.2 (SNS) can misbehave the first time it is used after first boot-up or after using another network manager (network wizard, frisbee, peasywifi). The problem is that it may not correctly identify itself as the current manager, so that :
- starting a new connection may fail.
- Re-connection may not occur after a reboot

Even if neither malfunction occurs, starting SNS and immediately Quitting it will prevent or resolve the issue. That need be done only once after first boot-up or changing from another network manager.

The bug has been fixed in woofCE but too late for BionicPup 8.0. To avoid exposure to the bug, pet package simple_network_setup-2.2.1 is available here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=952876#952876

Also at that link is network-wizard-2.1.1. (Ignore the other packages there.) Both of those packages change the "current manager" only if a connection is configured, started or stopped. That way, merely viewing their main pages does not terminate a connection started by another manager.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gychang


Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 416
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 20:10    Post subject: Bionicpup64 vs xenialpup64 RAM  

Significant ram use difference on same pc on boot. Bionicpup64 480M vs Xenialpup64 140M. Both with HTOP. Not sure what it means...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2019, 08:43    Post subject: Re: Bionicpup64 vs xenialpup64 RAM  

gychang wrote:
Significant ram use difference on same pc on boot. Bionicpup64 480M vs Xenialpup64 140M. Both with HTOP. Not sure what it means...


This was discussed earlier here. Xenialpup uses HTOP version 1.0.3 that
disagrees considerably with version 2.0.2 as used on bionicpup. That
became apparent when version 8.0 bionicpup was initially released using
version 1.0.3 of HTOP.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gychang


Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 416
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2019, 13:00    Post subject: Re: Bionicpup64 vs xenialpup64 RAM  

artsown wrote:
gychang wrote:
Significant ram use difference on same pc on boot. Bionicpup64 480M vs Xenialpup64 140M. Both with HTOP. Not sure what it means...


This was discussed earlier here. Xenialpup uses HTOP version 1.0.3 that
disagrees considerably with version 2.0.2 as used on bionicpup. That
became apparent when version 8.0 bionicpup was initially released using
version 1.0.3 of HTOP.

Art


can I assume there is no significant difference between the two as far as RAM use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3635
Location: wales ... by the sea

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2019, 13:00    Post subject:  

the newer htop actually shows the puppy files loaded into ram as ram used, which it is! you can test this by booting with pfix=nocopy.
_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2019, 18:15    Post subject: Re: Bionicpup64 vs xenialpup64 RAM  

gychang wrote:
artsown wrote:
gychang wrote:
Significant ram use difference on same pc on boot. Bionicpup64 480M vs Xenialpup64 140M. Both with HTOP. Not sure what it means...


This was discussed earlier here. Xenialpup uses HTOP version 1.0.3 that
disagrees considerably with version 2.0.2 as used on bionicpup. That
became apparent when version 8.0 bionicpup was initially released using
version 1.0.3 of HTOP.

Art


can I assume there is no significant difference between the two as far as RAM use?


I can tell you that when I compared xenialpup with biopup and both were
using HTOP 1.0.3 that the HTOP mem useage reports were almost the same.

But what is needed is to install HTOP 2.0.2 in xenialpup and then make the
comparison to bionicpup.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2019, 06:09    Post subject: Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Subject description: Rshift not working
 

Hi Phil,

Thanks for Bionicpup64 8.0 CE.
In a previous post on 3rd January I raised the issue of Rshift not working which is still the case:

Looking at it again it seems that changes to the redshiftgui_tray wrapper may be needed and/or an extra symlink.

I have not confirmed that as I prefer fredx181´s rshift-portable-64-v3.tar.gz and have just installed that.

Please press F11 to toggle into full-screen then click on link;---

https://drive.google.com/uc?export=view&id=1Lt1FJ89CTO04u1wVnQDjRY7Xc2pFiy3M

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2008
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2019, 09:29    Post subject:  

ETP wrote:
Looking at it again it seems that changes to the redshiftgui_tray wrapper may be needed and/or an extra symlink.
Could you explain further? The tray and wrapper scripts are different files. They seem to function correctly, for me.

I see that I could reorganize the library export logic. But that would not change the operation. I would like to include your suggestion, but do not understand it. I also plan to include 666philb's modification of the menu category, to desktop.

BTW, the redshiftgui_wrapper package is no longer needed with redshiftgui-0.2.4, because its content is included in the 0.2.4 package. The wrapper package will be removed from woofCE. But it does not appear to impact the operation.

The wrapper was intended for packages of the original versions of redshiftgui. But with bionic pups and later, original packages do not work, necessitating addition of some adaptive code. So the wrapper logic is included, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1323

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2019, 11:54    Post subject:  

Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
# ppm
Code:
click configure icon
/usr/local/petget/configure.sh: line 172: /var/local/petget/ui_choice: No such file or directory
/usr/local/petget/configure.sh: line 196: /var/local/petget/sd_category: No such file or directory


By the way, is /run really needed and by which programs ? Could be a symlink to /var/run ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2019, 15:02    Post subject:  

I noticed redshift gui not being started automatically from script /root/Startup/redshiftgui_tray.

I had to modify to get it working.

Original:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# redshiftgui_tray - Part of wrapper for RedshiftGUI (redshiftgui)
# Automatic minimized startup only if a location other than 0:0 specified.
# To prevent automatic start-up but retain a location, remove
# execute permissions for this file (chmod -x /root/Startup/redshiftgui_tray).

[ -f ~/.redshiftgrc ] || exit 1
! grep 'latlon=' ~/.redshiftgrc | grep -q '0.000000:0.000000' ~/.redshiftgrc || exit

grep -q '|' ~/.redshiftgrc \
  && sed -i -e '/^min/d' -e '/map=/ s/|/,/g' ~/.redshiftgrc

vercmp $(readlink /usr/lib/libcurl.so.4 | grep -o '[0-9][0-9.]*') gt 4.4.0 \
  && [ -f /usr/lib/redshiftgui/libcurl.so.4.4.0 ] \
  && export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/redshiftgui:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
exec redshiftgui.sh  --min

Modification:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# redshiftgui_tray - Part of wrapper for RedshiftGUI (redshiftgui)
# Automatic minimized startup only if a location other than 0:0 specified.
# To prevent automatic start-up but retain a location, remove
# execute permissions for this file (chmod -x /root/Startup/redshiftgui_tray).

redshiftgui.sh  --min

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2008
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2019, 17:22    Post subject:  

ITSMERSH wrote:
I noticed redshift gui not being started automatically from script /root/Startup/redshiftgui_tray.

I had to modify to get it working.
It works if you enter a location other than the default of 0 0. No need to modify the code. For automatic startup to be useful, the tool needs to know your location. The "IP" option in the drop-down option list seems easiest for setting it.

This seemed like the simplest way to allow users to prevent the automatic startup. Admittedly, it would not work at the equator in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean.

Dpup_stretch uses a separate window for controlling automatic startup, making the "0 0" technique unnecessary. But that is an extra step in starting redshiftgui. I am willing to consider other ways to manage auto-startup, but need to hear opinions from anyone with strong feelings about that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2019, 18:15    Post subject:  

Quote:
It works if you enter a location other than the default of 0 0. No need to modify the code. For automatic startup to be useful, the tool needs to know your location. The "IP" option in the drop-down option list seems easiest for setting it.

Since I'm running in RAM only there's no chance to get the settings made stored for a next boot. So I manually edited the main .sfs to have it started at boot automatically.

The default settings are fine for my location atm.

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 45 of 87 [1305 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1488s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0829s) ][ GZIP on ]