Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 11 Dec 2019, 17:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Tight VNC Server/Viewer (Now with GUI!)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1548
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 24 Dec 2005, 00:50    Post subject:  

Wow! that works great. Thanks Rarsa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 24 Dec 2005, 01:39    Post subject:  

You're welcome.

I'm glad you find it usefull.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2006, 20:48    Post subject:  

Yes, but how does one start it up on bootup. I had to change permissions when I installed it. I tried adding 'exec /root/my-applications/bins/vncserver -display X11 -geometry 1024x768 -depth 16' in the /etc/rc.d/rc.local0 file, as well as the etc/rc.d/rc.local files. Tightvnc server will not start. Is says the password is not set. Any suggestions?
Back to top
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2006, 21:11    Post subject:  

-display X11 -geometry 1024x768 implies that Tightvnc is an X app ... X is not running yet when rc.local(0) executes ... also, PATH and LD_LIBRARY_PATH are not setup for X apps either

you probably have to start Tightvnc after X starts ... probably in .xinitrc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2006, 13:19    Post subject:  

That's what I needed. Thanks
Back to top
gliezl


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 322
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2006, 18:25    Post subject:  

I can't see my friends desktop. I mean, she has just opened mozilla yet I can't see what she's doing. It's like i'm viewing a different desktop or window? There should be an active application in used.
Is there any additional option used in vncserver? Thanks!

screenshot

_________________
"If you have knowledge, let others light their candles in it."
~Margaret Fuller


Last edited by gliezl on Fri 06 Jan 2006, 00:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2006, 19:50    Post subject:  

(try not downloading large images. John Murga is having problems with too much bandwidth)

OK,

the vncserver starts a secondary display. If she is working on the primary one, you won't be able to see it.

Somewhere else in this thread I explain how she can also connect to her secondary display so both can see the same thing. (she opens a vncviewer to localhost:1)

Some WM utilities allow sharing the primary. You can do that in KDE and I think also in Gnome. I don't know how to share it in JWM.

BTW. Nice to see you again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gliezl


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 322
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2006, 01:00    Post subject:  

ok. i've edited my screenshot. will that do?

Thanks for answering. Atleast for enlightening me... Very Happy

quite busy these days... I see that Puppy 107 has been released! Smile
and with lots of improvements. Very Happy

_________________
"If you have knowledge, let others light their candles in it."
~Margaret Fuller

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2006, 11:17    Post subject: Blank VNC screen?  

Ive managed to install the vncserver and get it to autostart, however when I connect to it from my windows machine I see nothing? Just the greyish background that comes up before x has finished loading properly.

Any ideas?
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2006, 02:48    Post subject: Re: Blank VNC screen?  

Anonymous wrote:
Ive managed to install the vncserver and get it to autostart, however when I connect to it from my windows machine I see nothing? Just the greyish background that comes up before x has finished loading properly.

Any ideas?


Try going into the home directory in a console/terminal window and run:

mv .vnc/xstartup /vnc/xstartup.bak
ln -s .xinitrc .vnc/xstartup

restart the vncserver
Back to top
Owl


Joined: 24 Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Location: Kirchroa, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb 2006, 08:54    Post subject: Re: Blank VNC screen?  

Anonymous wrote:
Ive managed to install the vncserver and get it to autostart, however when I connect to it from my windows machine I see nothing? Just the greyish background that comes up before x has finished loading properly.

Any ideas?


Hi,

I tried the solution above and it didn't work. However, there is (at least in my case) a very simple solution:
go to ~/.vnc/xstartup and make it executable.

This allows the server to execute the file. I did'nt like the fact that it starts jwm as default manager, so I changed it slightly to use icewm as windows manager.

Works like a charm !

Regards,
Owl.

_________________
________________________
Soooooooo happy with Puppy !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb 2006, 12:06    Post subject:  

the problem with tightvnc is that doesn't support advanced stuff like enchryption key or file transfer, like ultravnc does..
i installed ultravnc on alot of machines and used a 128bit key, with tightvnc i can't even access them because of those limitations..
it would be really good if someone adds the key features to tight as well as the file transfer!
Evil or Very Mad

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jmarsden


Joined: 31 Dec 2005
Posts: 263
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Mar 2006, 00:37    Post subject:  

Nevermore wrote:
the problem with tightvnc is that doesn't support advanced stuff like enchryption key or file transfer, like ultravnc does..
i installed ultravnc on alot of machines and used a 128bit key, with tightvnc i can't even access them because of those limitations..
Limitations? You used non-standard features of one particular VNC variant, and then say "I can't access them because of those limitations"!! Surely, the "limitation" was caused by your choice to use those particular non-standard features.

Most people who need extra security around VNC wrap it in an SSH tunnel. SSH is well understood, a documented and standard protocol, is portable to many platforms, and the codebase has been subject to a lot of code review and audit. Can you say the same for the UltraVNC codebase and protocols? Oh... you can also use sftp or scp or even sshfs to do file transfers over the same SSH connection. This seems to remove both of your "limitations" much more portably than using UltraVNC does.

Quote:
it would be really good if someone adds the key features to tight as well as the file transfer!
Go for it... let that someone be you! Make an ultravnc package for Puppy for both client and server... those who need the particular extra non-standard features ultraVNC offers will be thankful.

Jonathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Georg


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 24 Mar 2006, 14:37    Post subject: VNCSERVER STARTING AUTOMATICALLY  

just edit you /root/.xinitrc
and write at the end of file (i put it before exec $CURRENTTWM indeed)
vncserver

after reboot ( or maybe Xrestart)
you should have 1 display on 5901 available

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Georg


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 24 Mar 2006, 15:28    Post subject:  

of course in the .xinitrc you can add parameters like
vncserver :1 -geometry 1024x768 -depth 24
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2131s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0535s) ][ GZIP on ]