Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Jul 2019, 13:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Tight VNC Server/Viewer (Now with GUI!)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 May 2006, 16:52    Post subject:  

Finaly I got to it!

I've updated the vncserver package to fix the anoying bug of not setting the execute authority on the xstartup file.

I took the opportunity to add the .desktop file so it appears in the 109CE menu.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
andre1

Joined: 10 Dec 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 27 May 2006, 17:57    Post subject: great pup rarsa  

And thanks for posting how to make the thightvnc server auto start Georg.
Running it under puppy2 24may remotely on my windows pc right now Smile


Just one thing! Where should I place that line if I want it to start on x restart also?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
apex

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 05 Aug 2006, 13:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
Ive managed to install the vncserver and get it to autostart, however when I connect to it from my windows machine I see nothing? Just the greyish background that comes up before x has finished loading properly.


I'v have the same problem. What's the deel with this?

I have put 'vncserver' inside .xinitrc file before comand for starting window menager, and it's working, but i see only grey background from my win machine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SamSung

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 94
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 08:36    Post subject:  

Hi Apex

I have had the same problem as you relate greyish background and an X for the mouse pointer. In the thread above it mentions making the file /root/.vnc/xstartup executable. This means find the file and right click on it left click on permissions and choose yes to except the default of making the file executable.

That worked for me, hope it does for you too.

Sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Sep 2006, 13:08    Post subject:  

I installed and used this dot pup to connect to a Solaris server. I used server.name:50 to make this connection. The server was at California State University, Sacramento and didn't require a password as it opens to a Solaris login anyway. I accessed using the campus wifi, then later from home. The only issue I ran across was the scrolling issue I saw in a previous post. I can only scroll one time on a given axis (verticle or horizontal, once each); fortunately I am able to almost fit everything in the window, and if I scroll only a 0.5cm down I fit everything of any significance in the window. This worked with both the common desktop only as I don't have Java installed I was unable to test the Java desktop.
Great Job! Very well done.
-Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1156
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed 27 Sep 2006, 14:21    Post subject: Re: Blank VNC screen?  

Anonymous wrote:
Ive managed to install the vncserver and get it to autostart, however when I connect to it from my windows machine I see nothing? Just the greyish background that comes up before x has finished loading properly.

Any ideas?

This is due to a typo in the script. I sent a bugfix to rarsa serveral months ago, but I think he has forgotten to fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 27 Sep 2006, 22:45    Post subject:  

That fix has been in for a long time.
_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1156
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep 2006, 04:06    Post subject:  

rarsa wrote:
That fix has been in for a long time.

Ah, yes, I missed that last update. I stand corrected Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tony_rosano


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2006, 11:11    Post subject: xauth  

after installing hte vnc server pup . i try to run vncserver and i get
"vncserver: couldn't find "xauth" on your PATH."
can some one please help? Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tony_rosano


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2006, 11:25    Post subject: something different....  

i finally noticed htat tthe vnc server added itself to the start menu. i ran that and got a different error
"vncpasswd: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

this is just before i am amble to assign ita password. on another note i downloaded the libstc pup and installed. no change.
another side note. i do have the developer pup enviroment installed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Oct 2006, 12:00    Post subject:  

Rarsa,
I wiped my main Puppy partition and started from scratch with a normal hd install of 202. That included re-installing this Tight VNC dot pup. I just wanted to let you know that when I installed it a few weeks ago it worked as expected, except I had the scrolling issue others have mentioned in the forum. This time when I installed I have no scrolling issues, but the menu items didn't install. I don't know if you did an update that caused this change, but I simply added the viewer to my JWM taskbar (the xpm sim link was in the correct directory), and I am totally happy with it.
This actually solves my Word Processing delima. I need advanced Word Processing features that so far only M$ Word, and Open Office Writer have been able to provide. Now I am able to login to one of the Linux test servers on campus and that runs Red Hat Enterprise Edition, and use Open Office. Open Office is far to large and slow for my laptoop, but it is extremely fast on the Universities Linux server. Even over VNC it is much faster than running it on my laptop.
Thank you soooooo much for all of your hard work.
Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2006, 07:09    Post subject:  

hi all
i installed the vncserver and worked perfectly out of the box
however, i don't like the fact that the default port is 5901 and not 5900
and that i can't control the actual desktop (i want to control the desktop i am seeing)
is there any workaround for that?
another big problem is this:
ONLY 8 char password??? i am used to use longer ones..why this limitation?
Thanks

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2006, 10:53    Post subject:  

Nevermore wrote:
hi all
i installed the vncserver and worked perfectly out of the box
however, i don't like the fact that the default port is 5901 and not 5900
and that i can't control the actual desktop (i want to control the desktop i am seeing)
is there any workaround for that?
5900 is your primary display. the VNC server opens another display and that's what it shares.

You can see the shared display on the same computer by opening a VNC client and pointing it to "localhost:1".

There is more information about that in several posts in this thread
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=17797#17797

Nevermore wrote:
another big problem is this:
ONLY 8 char password??? i am used to use longer ones..why this limitation?
Thanks
I have no clue why there is this limitation. In any event if you are worried about security I would recommend tunneling the VNC over SSH, that way you can have a strong password for ssh and keep the VNC port closed on your firewall.
_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2006, 11:00    Post subject:  

the length of the password is determined by tinylogin ... see Puppy help

replace tinylogin with the full versions of the password utilites if you want

http://tinylogin.busybox.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2006, 12:35    Post subject:  

I have always used 6-8 characters with at least one of each of the following: Uppercase Letter, lowercase letter, Numeral, and a Symbol (for example: ~HluT39& or 3kyj1#$J). Is this not considered a strong password?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1063s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0548s) ][ GZIP on ]