Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 14 Dec 2018, 01:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
CPU temperature monitor for 64-bit Pups
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 398
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 05:38    Post subject:  CPU temperature monitor for 64-bit Pups  

This is a hacked version of 01micko's pmcputemp. If Mick's program works for you leave it alone. This new one will work for most Intel & AMD cpus, but very old pcs unlikely (could possibly hack the shell script used).
The shell script, allowing changes without a recompile, draws the temperature figure using the sensors program and writes it to a fixed data file. The main executable reads from the data file and posts it to the taskbar every 5 sec.
Pets are 64bit. Will need to first uninstall pmcputemp if installed. Reload window manager after install. If you already have /usr/bin/sensors, you likely only need pmcpucurt64.pet. Only 1 sensors pet is needed for a pc -
s is for slacko64 or any 64 bit pup using /usr/lib64 (NOT as a symlink);
x is for xenial64 or bionic64 or any 64bit pup using /usr/lib (NOT as a symlink). Use at own risk.
pmcpucurt64.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pmcpucurt64.pet 
Filesize  22.85 KB 
Downloaded  62 Time(s) 
sensors64s.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  sensors64s.pet 
Filesize  33.21 KB 
Downloaded  51 Time(s) 
sensors64x.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  sensors64x.pet 
Filesize  33.21 KB 
Downloaded  57 Time(s) 

Last edited by ozsouth on Thu 18 Oct 2018, 18:19; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4460
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 09:52    Post subject:  

@ ozsouth:-

Why?

I don't understand the need for a 'hacked' version of pmcputemp. Especially when the original functions perfectly in both 64- and 32-bit Pups.....

Unless, of course, it doesn't work for your particular hardware. I installed Puppy to a mate's old Dell 530s, and I couldn't get a single temp readout app to function at all. Then I found out that that particular motherboard didn't have any sensors.....



Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 491
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 11:12    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
@ ozsouth:-

Why?

I don't understand the need for a 'hacked' version of pmcputemp. Especially when the original functions perfectly in both 64- and 32-bit Pups.....

Unless, of course, it doesn't work for your particular hardware. I installed Puppy to a mate's old Dell 530s, and I couldn't get a single temp readout app to function at all. Then I found out that that particular motherboard didn't have any sensors.....



Mike. Wink


On newer Intel CPU's it does not display the correct value, it displays a constant temperature. So far reported either 25 (me on Core i3-5005U) or 27 (bigpup).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13110
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 11:46    Post subject:  

Ozsouth, what did you do to pmcputemp to make it so it only works in 64-bit Puppies?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 776
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 12:07    Post subject:  

Terry H wrote:

On newer Intel CPU's it does not display the correct value, it displays a constant temperature. So far reported either 25 (me on Core i3-5005U) or 27 (bigpup).

Seemed OK on my i5 -M 360
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1007490#1007490

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11381
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 12:22    Post subject:  

Bionicpup64 7.9.5

This seems to be working OK on my desktop computer.
This fixed it.
01micko's pmcputemp would not work on it.

01micko's pmcputemp works OK on my laptop.

For me, 01micko's pmcputemp did not work on desktop computer, but does work on laptop computer.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 398
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 18:09    Post subject:  

@Mike Walsh - previous didn't work on any of my pcs, from an 8 yo AMD E-450 to a 1 yo HP N3060. The idea of a separate script file (/usr/bin/pmcpucurt.sh) that could be easily edited allowing for odd paths & different sensor programs to be used without a recompile appealed to me, as I struggle with C code. I'm hoping mine works on all computers with sensors. I did at first just edit pmcputemp.sh to include different paths, but thought that too specific.
@Flash - it may work in 32bit - I don't have a version to test. I compiled it in Slacko64 & the sensor lib is 64bit. If someone has 32bit libsensors.so.4.4.0, and 32bit sensors program, could try it.
@bigpup - hopefully this would work on your laptop too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 398
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 19:27    Post subject: simple path fix  

Alternative - (this will work with Mick's pmcputemp & works with my pcs) - download attatchment, remove .gz, ensure executable, rename /usr/bin/pmcputemp.sh to pmcputemp.sh.old, rename /root/.config/pmcputemp/pmcputemprc to pmcputemprc.old, copy downloaded pmcputemp.sh to /usr/bin & restart window manager. 32 or 64 bit fine. (NOTE: update option is 2 posts down).
pmcputemp.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmcputemp.sh.gz 
Filesize  1.12 KB 
Downloaded  39 Time(s) 

Last edited by ozsouth on Tue 23 Oct 2018, 21:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 491
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 21:04    Post subject:  

Earlier today when I checked pmcputemp.sh, I noticed that the first file in the for statement is found, but does not contain a valid value(constant value '25'), so I made a simple change by swapping the order of the first 2 files, so the /sys/devices/platform is checked first.

Original:
Code:

   for a in `find /sys/devices/virtual -type f -name 'temp'|sort` \
           `find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input'|sort` \
      `find /sys/devices/pci* -type f -name 'temp*_input'|sort`

changed to:
Code:

   for a in `find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input'|sort` \
      `find /sys/devices/virtual -type f -name 'temp'|sort` \
      `find /sys/devices/pci* -type f -name 'temp*_input'|sort`


This seems the simplest change and works on my core i3-5005U processor on both 32 bit upupbb and 64 bit bionicpup64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 398
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 22:16    Post subject:  

@Terry H - Glad you found a working solution. Both the first 2 paths have the data required, but the previously first one is unchanging, & the search stops with it. Paths seem to change with different & newer hardware, so either people have to find & change the path or use something like sensors for detection.

ALSO, FOR NON-WORKING ORIGINAL pmcputemp, can replace pmcputemp.sh & pmcputemprc by installing following simple path-fixing pet (should work for 32 or 64 bit).
pmcputemppathfix.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pmcputemppathfix.pet 
Filesize  916 Bytes 
Downloaded  40 Time(s) 

Last edited by ozsouth on Tue 23 Oct 2018, 22:26; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 398
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2018, 20:37    Post subject:  

I see someone has uploaded pmcpucurt64.pet to the ibiblio.org site for bionicpup64. Great, but 7.9.5 will need the following pet (& pmcputemp uninstalled first).
*** NOTE: as of bionicpup64 7.9.6, this is unnecessary.
pmcpucurt64sens.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pmcpucurt64sens.pet 
Filesize  9.3 KB 
Downloaded  39 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 398
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 18:21    Post subject:  

Still have folk with sensor detection issues - notably some AMD processors. ONLY if pmcpucurt NOT working for you, could try simple 2 path pet here : http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1008188#1008188
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 398
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 22:06    Post subject:  

Update 1 (updates pmcpucurt.sh) which puts variables at top for easier amendment & add k8temp module option. Not essential if current pet works, but may help if not working.
pmcpucurtupdt1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pmcpucurtupdt1.pet 
Filesize  644 Bytes 
Downloaded  47 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11381
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2018, 03:00    Post subject:  

Thanks for working on this and trying to keep up with different hardware requirements!

A good working temp display program, has been needed in Puppy, for a long time.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4460
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2018, 08:28    Post subject:  

A thought has occurred to me. I think I know why pmcputemp doesn't work on my mate's old Dell Inspiron 530s....especially given that HWMonitor gave readouts under Vista on the same hardware when he first got it.

The install he's got was copied from my own machine, transplanted, via USB stick, then copied to to his hard drive, and Grub4DOS run.

His machine is Intel-based. My own is AMD-based, and uses the 'powernow k8' driver. I'm betting that's still loaded, even though the kernel is supposed to auto-adjust for this stuff. By all accounts, his Intel Pentium dual-core should use the 'coretemp' driver, so.....

I'm popping over to see him this weekend anyway, so I'll check what's happening there. Probably need to do a 'modprobe', an 'lsmod' (see what's loaded), and perhaps use the BootManager to force-load the correct driver if necessary. That board's definitely got sensors, or HWMonitor wouldn't have worked....I think the lack of function is my own doing.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0634s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]