Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 18 Nov 2018, 22:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Something strange on Youtube/Google/Gmail
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 16:59    Post subject:  Something strange on Youtube/Google/Gmail  

Hi.

I have a You tube account (my signature) which was created using the equal email address used for my RSH account on this here forum. I couldn't log into the RSH account and since requesting a new forum password didn't work, I tried to register by a different mail address.

So, I created and chose a mail address at gmail.com to register again to the forum. This didn't work - so far, so known by a few of you members.

I discovered lately: after creating this gmail account, my login into Youtube changed from that RSH mail address to the gmail address. Even though I did NOT register anywhere else, I'm now able to upload Pictures/Images to Google (via the Google Apps popup menu), and am also able to share them and/or to keep them private. Shocked

I don't understand this. Anyone any clue of what happened?

Is there some more I'm, registered to by now?

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
6502coder


Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Posts: 489
Location: Western United States

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 18:34    Post subject:  

When you signed up for a Gmail account, you were assimilated into the Google universe, and since Google owns YouTube, your Gmail account became associated with YouTube.

I have had a similar experience. Before Google acquired YouTube, I had a non-Gmail mail account that I used to log into YouTube. Sometime after Google acquired YouTube, I got a Gmail mail account and now I can use both my non-Gmail mail account and my Gmail account to log into YouTube.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11195

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 19:23    Post subject:  

Yes thats what they do ever since they bought you tube...did something similar to me many years ago but was the password. It seemed like it was done through cookies at the time...so if it had been a shared computer then that would have been fun as my password would have been given to someone else's you tube account

I closed our Youtube and later Gmail account.... they are not safe or respectful in how they handle private data basically.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5288
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2018, 02:35    Post subject:  

All HTML5 enabled browsers permit Google to snipe any/all of your personal information.

Any time you access a Google owned site (eg YT) or any Google-Analytics associated site your cookies and personal data are passed to Google.

They choose to use dark patterns to then force you to use their preferred login methods to access YT and other Google offerings.

I tried to log into YT using a friends original email address (associated with their YT channel) and it kept trying to force me to reveal (or connect with) their gmail or Facebook identity.

I did not do so (as I did not have their permission to do so) and then I used the browser "back" button to see if there were other alternatives - then lo and behold - it jumped me into their YT page (presumably suddenly deciding to accept the previously supplied non-Gmail address).

If i had accepted the myopic path Google put before me I would have signed in with the Gmail or Facebook account requested - however - Google did (somehow) actually permit me to ignore their dark pattern.

They just seem creepy these days - only slightly paranoid minds (like mine Smile ) are permitted freedom of choice.

Normal people trying to do what's normal get abused by Googles mirages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1049
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2018, 09:32    Post subject:  

Quote:
They just seem creepy these days - only slightly paranoid minds (like mine Smile ) are permitted freedom of choice.

Normal people trying to do what's normal get abused by Googles mirages.


Its the same pattern that dope dealers use, give free samples, addict the users and then cut them off.

I feel sorry for the google addicts.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11195

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2018, 09:36    Post subject:  

If similar techniques were used to gain your paypal login information for example the police would be brought into play to deal with fraudulent illegal activity.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2643

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2018, 17:57    Post subject:  

Google is spyware. Period. To hinder that one of the Answers in this link shows how to add /etc/hosts entries to block google IP's https://superuser.com/questions/1135339/cant-block-connections-to-google-via-hosts-file

Also ensure you're not using 8.8.8.8 or other Google owned/controlled name resolvers (DNS). My ISP hub is fixed ... uses its (ISP's) DNS, but I have another router than connects to that hub that all other devices are then fed, and where that router permits setting the DNS (that is set to use one of the privacy based alternative DNS IP's i.e. neither our ISP nor Google).

Without google, even non-google web pages can be much much quicker. Yahoo news/finance for instance web pages are near unusable normally, but with google blocked in /etc/hosts they're more like 'normal' web pages (indicative of the extent of google spyware).

/etc/hosts can be swapped in/our, so keeping two versions and moving one/other into /etc/hosts as/when desired facilitates still being able to use google sites if/when there is a need to do so.

I add Steven Blacks and others hosts file entries in addition to that ... so as good as a adblock'er

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1364
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 01:07    Post subject:  

I was pointed at this some time ago and know it works as someone from the dark net tried to trojan me and failed.

http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm

and it works for all systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11195

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 06:39    Post subject:  

Yep bocking in hosts is a winner....gets my vote. As soon as I added a couple of their domains one site I use regularly was much snappier.
I also found blocking facebook removed a fair number of ads too.
Look at the page source in the headers for possible candidates seems to work for me.

I used to block in the router but now I only have a broadband dongle which tends to a bit wide open so I use the hosts method instead. Easy enough to make a list and add it on all yer machines (who on here does not have at least 4 computers and twenty operating systems Wink )

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2038

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 16:01    Post subject:  

Thanks for this! I'm going to give it a try soon as I've noticed some of the sites I visit loading shedloads of adverts, pop-ups etc., and slowing things down to a crawl.

"who on here does not have at least 4 computers and twenty operating systems?"

Mike; just one machine in my case, but at least a dozen operating systems at the moment; (what else do you do with 320 GB and no Windows to fill the hard drive? Smile ). Unlike Windows too it's free to try a Linux distro apart from the cost of a DVD-R disk.

There's another, similar file at this link though I haven't tested it yet to see how well it works;

https://someonewhocares.org/hosts/

[EDIT: I've just installed the hosts file in my /etc folder and can see the difference immediately; news sites load much more snappily.]

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Sparky 4.7 (32-bit), Emmabuntus 3.1.02, AntiX 17.2 (32-bit), Bunsen Labs Helium, CentOS 6.10, LXLE 14.04.5, Pardus 17.4, VLocity 7.2, CrunchBang Plus Plus and Mint Debian 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2643

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 18:20    Post subject:  

Simple wget/ftp of https://raw.githubusercontent.com/StevenBlack/hosts/master/hosts as a initial /etc/hosts works for me. Later I add others to that and keep 2 versions, one that includes google/fb being blocked, another than doesn't, along with a script to flip between the two.
_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2038

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 18:48    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
Simple wget/ftp of https://raw.githubusercontent.com/StevenBlack/hosts/master/hosts as a initial /etc/hosts works for me. Later I add others to that and keep 2 versions, one that includes google/fb being blocked, another than doesn't, along with a script to flip between the two.


Thanks for the info. I don't know all the links for blocking google, but here are those for blocking twitter and facebook;

https://gist.github.com/djaiss/85a0ada83e6bca68e41e

[EDIT: here's the google blocking file, but it's big;

https://superuser.com/questions/1135339/cant-block-connections-to-google-via-hosts-file
]

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Sparky 4.7 (32-bit), Emmabuntus 3.1.02, AntiX 17.2 (32-bit), Bunsen Labs Helium, CentOS 6.10, LXLE 14.04.5, Pardus 17.4, VLocity 7.2, CrunchBang Plus Plus and Mint Debian 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2038

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 18:58    Post subject:  

For completeness's sake here's a link to an enormous hosts file (over 17 MB), which is somewhat older than the other ones linked to so far (March instead of October this year). I haven't yet found any advantages to using this one instead of the 460 KB one but somebody else might.

http://hosts-file.net/?s=Download

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Sparky 4.7 (32-bit), Emmabuntus 3.1.02, AntiX 17.2 (32-bit), Bunsen Labs Helium, CentOS 6.10, LXLE 14.04.5, Pardus 17.4, VLocity 7.2, CrunchBang Plus Plus and Mint Debian 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11195

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 06:18    Post subject:  

Great stuff and some interesting information at those links.

Well computers are useful though the ratio of 2 to one here may be deemed overkill now.
And yes the huge drives demanded for windows now mean oodles of room.... I mean 6GB for hibernate and swap on the library windows 7 machines seems silly to me.(NT4 was 80MB installed) A guy in a computer shop looked at me funny as I wanted a 64GB one and he only had 256GB...as in how could you possibly run anything on that.
I failed to see the point in mentioning what I did on a 4 GB scsi drive or even no drive at all and only a cd recorder. Wink
Do smartphones count? Thing is they are subject to nearly as much crud but unless rooted are harder to block sites with...I tried a couple of methods but failed.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3285
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 08:32    Post subject:  

The space required for true hibernate has NOTHING to do with the OS being run.
It is just a dump of the memory to disk and depends on how much memory is installed NOT the OS.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1090s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0266s) ][ GZIP on ]