Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Jul 2019, 21:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
How do I mount device without displaying file-list?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 739

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 09:22    Post subject:  How do I mount device without displaying file-list?  

Hello all
How can I mount a drive without actually having the files displayed in ROX or PCMan or whatever?

Here's the "problem::
I prefer to use emelfm2 or doublecmd as my file managers, but they are of no use until the devices are mounted. Mounting means a ROX display which clutters up my desktop. I have to click the drive icon to mount then close the display window. What I think would be ideal would be a Shift-Click or Alt-Click on the existing drive icon, which would mount but not display.

A CLI command couched in a script with YAD that I could associate with a custom desktop icon would be acceptable too, as second best.

TIA

_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM


Last edited by B.K. Johnson on Thu 06 Dec 2018, 18:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3511
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 10:31    Post subject:  

Open a command window and use the MOUNT command???
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nosystemdthanks


Joined: 03 May 2018
Posts: 638

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 10:33    Post subject: Re: How do I mount device withot displaying file-list?  

the easiest hack would be to rename the rox file manager-- then you could still run it, but scripts that opened it when you didnt want them to would be unable.

obviously the route of creating a different mount tool would also work.

_________________
communities (sometimes) care what youre going through as a user. big for-profit corporations never do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12332
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 10:35    Post subject:  

In Pmount.
There are right click options menu for the listed drives.
Try setting the drive to mount partition at boot.
That should just have it already mounted when Puppy boots.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   56.31 KB
 Viewed   292 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601

Last edited by bigpup on Wed 05 Dec 2018, 10:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12332
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 10:43    Post subject:  

In Default Application Chooser
See if you can change file manager to what you want it to be.
Even if the name of the file manager is not listed in the drop down list.
It can be typed into the choice.
Just need to put the correct info that starts/runs the file manager.
Usually the name of the exec file that starts it.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5154
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 11:14    Post subject:  

@ BKJ:-

There's two alternatives, if we're talking about the older Pups that didn't have the current pMount 'auto-mount' behaviour & options. You can either:-

1) Create a small script that goes in /etc/init.d - stuff in here gets run/executed at startup. Using the blkid command, you can obtain the UUID of all your available partitions. Like this:-

Code:
root# blkid
/dev/sda1: LABEL="DATA/Boot" UUID="d02d3eb7-4f23-4608-af43-85b7bf7a86bf" TYPE="ext3" PARTUUID="000ec3ee-01"
/dev/sda10: LABEL="HOME" UUID="6234549f-ca89-4081-b590-6a0c1198d91e" TYPE="ext3" PARTUUID="000ec3ee-0a"
/dev/sda11: LABEL="Swap" UUID="8902e9df-6614-4439-97c5-2f222f945fad" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="000ec3ee-0b"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="64-6.05" UUID="91036e28-b049-4cd7-9d34-3222e9887c0a" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3" PARTUUID="000ec3ee-03"
/dev/sda5: LABEL="5.5+560" UUID="6b34b50a-60e5-4e2b-bb44-a1690c9756f2" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3" PARTUUID="000ec3ee-05"
/dev/sda6: LABEL="570" UUID="d808a0fc-6e9b-4d1a-b333-d546e25eb1f1" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3" PARTUUID="000ec3ee-06"
/dev/sda7: LABEL="571" UUID="aaa36ae9-5da1-4736-ad4f-13cc1b7d7b42" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3" PARTUUID="000ec3ee-07"
/dev/sda8: LABEL="5287" UUID="2243277a-13a0-4930-9d0d-6102f8ea1db4" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3" PARTUUID="000ec3ee-08"
/dev/sda9: LABEL="606efi" UUID="253d4d4c-0267-41ed-bbfa-6a04704d34ba" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3" PARTUUID="000ec3ee-09"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="TEST" UUID="2e5e441b-4c52-4865-96b8-5bcb4c924f3f" TYPE="ext3" PARTUUID="00087457-01"
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="SeaDesk-1" UUID="190eb203-07ac-490e-aa0f-d10419ca91bc" TYPE="ext3" PARTLABEL="Seagate-1" PARTUUID="531048e8-347b-4b54-9b1d-671dc5718241"
/dev/sdc2: LABEL="SeaDesk-2" UUID="6d394fd7-aad2-4e20-90a9-c3ddcf07cc3e" TYPE="ext3" PARTLABEL="Seagate-2" PARTUUID="68a52708-806b-4141-bf9f-03d878b80bd3"
/dev/sdc3: LABEL="SWAP" UUID="e7e241e2-672d-4a67-900f-86e5b968d320" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="a4a08ab9-4330-4284-a62b-31d6f47dbec3"
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop1: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop2: UUID="6855c42a-96fa-40c3-be08-9aba6b37e2e2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/loop3: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop4: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop5: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop6: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop7: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop8: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop9: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop10: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop11: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop12: TYPE="squashfs"
root#


You then use the UUID for the relevant partitions (only the bit between the quotation marks, mind), and put together a wee script like this:-

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
#Auto mount partitions at boot
#
mount -U d02d3eb7-4f23-4608-af43-85b7bf7a86bf /mnt/sda1
mount -U 6234549f-ca89-4081-b590-6a0c1198d91e /mnt/sda10
mount -U 190eb203-07ac-490e-aa0f-d10419ca91bc /mnt/sdg1
mount -U 6d394fd7-aad2-4e20-90a9-c3ddcf07cc3e /mnt/sdg2


The above is my auto-mount script for Precise 571, Lucid 5287, and Racy 5.5. Once you've created the script, you then need to make it executable, so it shows up green, as opposed to black. In Rox, it's rt-clk->Properties, then tick all 3 checkboxes in the 'Exec' column down the bottom, and hit 'Refresh' at the bottom when you're done.

You'll need to re-boot for this to take effect, and for the config changes to be written to your save. I believe this is in effect what modern pMount does when you hit the 'Refresh' button after selecting changes.

(Obviously, you need to modify the script for your own use-case, using your own partition ids/device UUIDs. You can have as many, or as few lines as you need to get the job done; Bash is only executing a string of consecutive commands, after all.)

----------------------------------------

If that all looks like too much hard work, there's always good old Startmount, created nearly a decade ago by Micko and tasmod. It works very well, too.

Whichever you choose, you can then start your chosen FM, secure in the knowledge that Rox won't pop-up and spoil the party!

-----------------------------------------

@ bigpup:-

bigpup wrote:
In Default Application Chooser
See if you can change file manager to what you want it to be.
Even if the name of the file manager is not listed in the drop down list.
It can be typed into the choice.
Just need to put the correct info that starts/runs the file manager.
Usually the name of the exec file that starts it.


Good idea.....if it were possible. But in every version of the Default Applications Chooser that I've ever seen, the file-manager itself is one category that never puts in an appearance, unfortunately.

Personally, if it were me, I'd simply edit /usr/local/bin/defaultfilemanager to point to the exec for whatever FM I wanted to use.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 739

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 19:21    Post subject:  

Thanks for your response, guys. I have settled on Mike Walsh's but have not tried it yet, Thanks again.
_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12332
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 20:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
bigpup wrote:
In Default Application Chooser
See if you can change file manager to what you want it to be.
Even if the name of the file manager is not listed in the drop down list.
It can be typed into the choice.
Just need to put the correct info that starts/runs the file manager.
Usually the name of the exec file that starts it.



Mike Walsh wrote:
Good idea.....if it were possible. But in every version of the Default Applications Chooser that I've ever seen, the file-manager itself is one category that never puts in an appearance, unfortunately.


Worked for me in Bionicpu64 7.9.7
Installed pcmanfm 1.3.0
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=996043#996043
Default Application Chooser
Made pcmanfm the default file manager

Now when I click on a desktop drive icon it mounts and opens pcmanfm showing the contents.
Screenshot(1).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   63.21 KB
 Viewed   234 Time(s)

Screenshot(1).jpg

Screenshot.jpg
 Description   Mounted sda1
pcmanfm opens showing contents of sda1
 Filesize   58.12 KB
 Viewed   241 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3209
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 21:38    Post subject:  

Hi All,

Booted into my 'oldest' Puppy on this computer -Slacko 5.7 (albeit substantially modified). As bigpup suggested, Menu>Setup>Default Application Chooser had a section for selecting the default File-manager. I hunted the actual application down. It's /usr/sbin/puppyapps, a bash-script. Opening it in geany revealed that zigbert last modified it in 2015. [If my flaky memory serves, about that time the ability to select the default terminal was added and there was a lot of discussion about using File-managers other than rox as default]. So, perhaps if you're using a pre-2015 Puppy, its Default Application Chooser doesn't have that capacity.

At any rate, attached is the puppyapps script from 'my' Slacko 5.7. Rename your current version [perhaps to puppyapps-old], remove the false '.gz' from the attached and drop it in to /usr/sbin. If it works, great. If not, it should't be hard to revert.
puppyapps.gz
Description  Remove false '.gz' and drop into /usr/sbin
gz

 Download 
Filename  puppyapps.gz 
Filesize  23.72 KB 
Downloaded  99 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5154
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 22:31    Post subject:  

Hi, Mike.

Mm. Curious. Very much so, in fact.

I've just booted into my own Slacko 570 to have a look, before turning in for the night. Dropped yr 'puppyapps' script in; it works fine. But here's the rub:-

My standard Default Applications Chooser in 570 is 0.8.6, OK?





As you see.....no 'file manager' selector, right?

Starting /usr/bin/puppyapps with a click gives me this:-





.....and guess what? Still no sign of 'file manager'; it echoes exactly what the original shows.....yes? (It jumps from 'Draw' straight to 'HTML editor'; missing out 'f' completely.)

Even in /usr/local/bin, where all the 'default' entries live, it jumps straight from 'defaultemail' to 'defaulthandler'. 'Defaultfilemanager' doesn't, in fact, exist.....so I can't quite see how it can be 'set'!

So answer me this. Where does 'puppyapps' actually draw the code from to make that 'filemanager' box show up? Why d'you have it, but I don't? Unless it's something to do with alterations you've made yrself; after all, you mention that your 570 is substantially modified.....

Perhaps I need to track down the 'defaultfilemanager' entry from a more recent Pup, drop it in, and see what happens, like. Not fussed about it, but I am getting dead curious now! Laughing


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3209
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2018, 23:33    Post subject:  

Curiouser and Curiouser.

Well, my Slacko is actually 5.7.1, probably with a kernel different than that which came in the ISO but using a SaveFolder which goes back a couple of years. Examining the applications I installed the only one I thought might have altered the puppyapps file was vicmz's openboxplus 6.2. But decompressing the pet I have in storage revealed that it did not contain a puppyapps file in /usr/sbin.

I don't currently have the original Slacko 5.7 ISO. So perhaps it's puppyapps file is different from that in Slacko 5.7.1.

Examining the code of puppyapps, its lines 28 to 31 read:

desktop_output () {
LANG=C grep -E '^Name=|^GenericName=|^Comment=|^MimeType=|^Icon=' /usr/share/applications/*.desktop | \
grep -v "/usr/share/applications/default.*" > /tmp/puppyapps/puppyapps_desktop_output #we do this one time, instead of in search_desktop
}

which I think means it is reading all default desktop files in /usr/share/applications. Among those on my system is one named defaultfilemanager.desktop. Its arguments are:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=Application
NoDisplay=true
Name=Default file manager
Exec=defaultfilemanager
Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/puppy/directory.svg

Do you have that desktop on your system? If not, does creating one help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5154
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2018, 07:33    Post subject:  

Mike:-

A-ha. Light begins to dawn. I've got my own install of Sailor's 571, like you. I still don't use it quite as much as I do the original, although I've been having something of a 'pruning' session in recent days. I've had too many Pups (and 'alternate' distros) on here in various stages of 'usability'; but to cut a long story short, I've got it from 17 down to an even dozen...!! Rolling Eyes

571 is still with me, so.....I'll boot in later on and see what I can find.

(I'm like you in another respect, Mike. I too run crazy mixtures of save-files, kernels, modified apps/configs, remotely sym-linked stuff from all over the place.....

I'm glad I'm not the only one. I thought there must be summat wrong with me! Laughing Shocked Laughing )


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 739

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2018, 11:48    Post subject:  

Guys
Chooser is a prog I have never used. Looked in when bigpup suggested I do but saw no FM. I am using tahr-6.0.6 with Chooser version 0.9. Looked just now ...see screenshot. The only thing I changed from the virgin was the HTML editor.
not in my tahr606 chooser.png
 Description   Chooser 0.9 screen in tahr-6.0.6
 Filesize   58.24 KB
 Viewed   179 Time(s)

not in my tahr606 chooser.png


_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3209
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2018, 13:00    Post subject:  

Hi B.K. Johnson,

IIRC, Tahrpup 6.0.6 has two 'chooser' applications. Both appeared on the Setup Submenu. One was named Default Applications, the other PuppyApps Default Applications Chooser. One may have been 'hidden'. You can un-hide it via Menu>Utility>PupMenuEdit Menu Editor, [not to be confused with Menu>Utility>PupMenu Launcher & Editor]. Click the Show/Hide panel. See if the one you didn't use has a File-Manager option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 739

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2018, 14:23    Post subject:  

Hi mikeslr
Both Default Applications and PuppyApps Default Applications Chooser appear on the Setup Submenu, but as Mike Walsh reported, a FM does not appear in either.

_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0635s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]