Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 15 Oct 2019, 09:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Screen res randomly changed from 1280x1024 to 1024x768
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
GlassBell

Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2019, 20:25    Post subject:  Screen res randomly changed from 1280x1024 to 1024x768
Subject description: In 64-bit Xenial
 

Hi, the default driver for my radeon hd 5450 randomly changed resolution from 1280x1024 to 1024x768. My monitor is an acer AL1716 and after that resolution change occurred the monitor will periodically flicker. Should I replace my gpu with a newer low profile gpu or is there a driver solution to this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12724
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2019, 20:44    Post subject:  

Always, always, always rell us what Puppy version you are using!!!!

Welcome to Puppy land.

Post the info from Pup-Sysinfo>Devices>Display>Summary

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GlassBell

Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2019, 22:00    Post subject:  

The version of Puppy I am using is Xenial 64 bit, kernel: Linux 4.9.58 (x86_64). Below is the general hardware summary:

-Computer-
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz
Memory : 3080MB (986MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Puppy Linux
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu Jan 31 20:58:46 2019
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on AMD CEDAR (DRM 2.49.0 / 4.9.58, LLVM 4.0.0)
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA SIS966
Audio Adapter : PC-Speaker - pcsp
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
-Input Devices-
Power Button
Power Button
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
ImPS/2 Logitech Wheel Mouse
PC Speaker
HDA Digital PCBeep
HDA SIS966 Front Mic
HDA SIS966 Rear Mic
HDA SIS966 Line
HDA SIS966 Line Out Front
HDA SIS966 Line Out Surround
HDA SIS966 Line Out CLFE
HDA SIS966 Line Out Side
HDA SIS966 Front Headphone
HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm : 3=
-Printers (CUPS)-
CUPS-PDF : <i>Default</i>
-SCSI Disks-
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM_GSA-H60N
ATA WDC WD3200AAJS-5
ATA ST3160022ACE
Generic USB SD Reader
Generic USB CF Reader
Generic USB SM Reader
Generic USB MS Reader

Below is my display information:

-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
Version : 1.18.4
-Monitors-
Monitor 0 : 1024x768 pixels
-Extensions-
BIG-REQUESTS
Composite
DAMAGE
DOUBLE-BUFFER
DPMS
DRI2
GLX
Generic Event Extension
MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
MIT-SHM
Present
RANDR
RECORD
RENDER
SECURITY
SGI-GLX
SHAPE
SYNC
X-Resource
XC-MISC
XFIXES
XFree86-DGA
XFree86-VidModeExtension
XINERAMA
XInputExtension
XKEYBOARD
XTEST
XVideo
XVideo-MotionCompensation
-OpenGL-
Vendor : X.Org
Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on AMD CEDAR (DRM 2.49.0 / 4.9.58, LLVM 4.0.0)
Version : 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7
Direct Rendering : Y_es
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1368
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2019, 23:30    Post subject: Re: Questions about my radeon hd 5450
Subject description: The driver for my radeon hd 5450 is not working correctly.
 

GlassBell wrote:
Hi, the default driver for my radeon hd 5450 randomly changed resolution from 1280x1024 to 1024x768. My monitor is an acer AL1716 and after that resolution change occurred the monitor will periodically flicker. Should I replace my gpu with a newer low profile gpu or is there a driver solution to this?


Is this a recent install or have you been using xenial64 on this computer for a while and then it just suddenly changed? Did it change at boot or when already booted and running?

Made any changes to xorg settings?

Any other things change like taking longer to boot, running hotter,noise,

If its a desktop computer might try re-seating the video card.

Going this direction with questions because you mentioned changing gpu.

If you have another version of puppy you could try that and see if the issue goes away, help troubleshoot the hardware anyway.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12724
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2019, 02:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
Post the info from Pup-Sysinfo>Devices>Display>Summary

Pup-Sysinfo is found at menu>System>Pup-Sysinfo

If you are not going to provide the information I request.
Sorry!
I can not help you.
Good luck!

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GlassBell

Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2019, 11:36    Post subject:  

Here is the PupSysInfo display summary:

▶—— Video ——◀

Display Specifications:
• Monitor VertRefresh: 60.00 times/s
• Screen Dimensions: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
• Screen Depth: 24 bits (planes)

Xorg Startup Log (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
• Xorg Driver in use: ati
• Loaded Modules: dbe dri2 exa fb fbdevhw glx kbd mouse radeon ramdac
• X.Org version: 1.18.4

OpenGL 2D/3D Rendering:
• Direct Rendering: Yes
• Vendor: X.Org
• Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD CEDAR (DRM 2.49.0 / 4.9.58, LLVM 4.0.0)
• Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7

VGA controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series] [1002:68f9]
• Kernel Driver: radeon
• Memory Used by Driver: 1356.61 KB
• Path: /lib/modules/4.9.58/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.ko
• Description: ATI Radeon
• Video RAM: 256M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12724
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2019, 18:05    Post subject:  

You are using the correct driver and all the other settings seem correct.
Monitor VertRefresh: 60.00 times/s is about standard for monitors.
So the flickering is not caused by that.

There is a chance you have a monitor going bad.
See if you can find any monitor internal settings you can play with and change.
Especially anything about default resolution.
Looking at the manual for your monitor there are all kinds of internal settings for it.
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/205361/Acer-Al1716.html?page=8#manual
That OSD auto or reset may be good to use.

After checking the monitor internal settings.
See if you can change the resolution to what you want by using menu>Setup>Screen/Graphics Wizard.

If still having problems.
You do what?
You see what?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12724
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2019, 18:17    Post subject:  

For future postings.
Quote:
The version of Puppy I am using is Xenial 64 bit, kernel: Linux 4.9.58 (x86_64).

We really need the complete specific name of the Puppy version.
There are actually several Puppy versions with Xenial in their names.
I am assuming you are using Xenialpup64 7.5
That version number is important to know.
Example:
Xenialpup64 7.0 was very buggy alpha release.
Xenialpup64 7.5 is the all bug fixed version, final release.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GlassBell

Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2019, 19:08    Post subject:  

Yes I am using Xenialpup64 7.5, I think I just need a new monitor because this monitor is getting really old. Would anyone be able to suggest a good GPU for gaming that works well with Xenialpup64 7.5, I hear that Nvidia GPUs work better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1417
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2019, 20:18    Post subject:  

Were you playing a game or similar before it happened?

This has happened to me a number of times. I play an old school game in WINE which runs at 800 x 600 resolution. Every now and again, the resolution gets stuck on that after exiting the game, rather than reverting back to full HD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12724
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2019, 21:43    Post subject:  

Try what I suggest first.
Another thing is check the cable that connects the monitor to the computer.
Loose connection, bent pins, dirty connection, actually bad cable, etc....
Also, connections inside the computer can work loose, get dirty, etc......

Also what p310don is talking about.

I will answer the question about Nvidia graphics hardware.
Yes, Nvidia hardware is better supported in Linux.
Mainly because Nvidia builds and offers drivers for Linux and good ones.
Even the latest Nvidia generic Nouveau driver is very good, now.

However, to get a Nvidia graphics card that will work in your computer. It is all about what connector slots the computer has. What additional power plugs it has. How much power the power supply provides.
Looking at the specs you did provide.
That is some very old hardware.
The Nvidia hardware will probably have to be old style too.
Not sure it would give you any better graphics than what you already have.

What is the computer make and model?
If it is a laptop that is another set of problems to add a graphics card if even possible.

Here is some info:
https://www.techadvisor.co.uk/how-to/pc-components/how-know-if-graphics-card-is-compatible-3588810/

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0504s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]