Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 09 Dec 2019, 03:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Drivers
Puppy only gives 1024 x 768 laptop screen resolution
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1413

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2019, 19:58    Post subject:  

Your best bet for firefox and sound is Fred's portable Firefox. He bakes the sound stuff in to it.

Other good thing, is it can run from anywhere.

If you need help, post on that thread. Fred is pretty responsive but he won't see your post unless you post it on his thread.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112376
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12974
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2019, 20:04    Post subject:  

If you are trying to use Wine.

Here is some info

Make sure you have the latest version of Wine.
Good place to get Wine for Puppy.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88711

Also, look on the first post of the Wine topic for a added 'wine_extras-v2.1.pet' that puts Wine entries in the menu.

When you get Wine installed and the Wine menu entries.
Run Wine config to setup Wine.
It will probably offer you a few more programs needed for Wine to run properly.
Should download and install them as part of the initial config.

Also, in Wine config->Drivers Select autodetect to get all the driver locations loaded in Wine.

A lot of settup options in Wine config, so check them all.

What version of Windows you want Wine to mimic can affect how a program runs. Wine Config->Applications.

About specific programs running in Wine.
Go to the Wine web site and see what it says about a specific program and issues.
http://www.winehq.org

Using Wine is almost like learning a new operating system.
Takes a while to learn how to use Wine and to get things working properly.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lunos

Joined: 28 Jun 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2019, 20:06    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Firefox is a constant moving target about getting sound to work.
They keep changing what it needs for sound.
One version needs this, another version needs that, etc.....

Quickpet>Info>Xenialpup updates
Run that to get all the latest fixes for Xenialpup.
Reboot just to make sure they all get into the Xenialpup save and are used when next booting.

The repository location address changed since Xenialpup was released.
That should fix the repository issue for getting 32bit compatibility libs sfs by using Quickpet.

But, yes you can just go to the repository (http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-xenial64/)
and get stuff without using Quickpet.

Note:
If you get the 32bit compatibility libs sfs directly from the repository.
You need to do this to use it.


to run 32bit applications you'll need to install the 32bit-compatibilty.sfs.

Place it in /mnt/home

Load it by using menu->Setup->SFS-load-on-the-fly

After it's loaded, in a terminal (console) type:

Code:
ldconfig


and then you're set to go.

Awesome, thanks for the info, I'll make sure to try it out in a little bit.
I'm having an unrelated issue though. I need to install devkitPro because reasons, and I can't seem to be able to install devkitARM.
Apparently, I don't have enough space, even though that is not true...?
I know this is an external problem, as in it's not directly involved with Puppy Linux, so I will understand if you cannot help me with this, but I just thought I would ask anyway.


Did I allocate the free space incorrectly, perhaps?
Maybe I shouldn't have made a 4GB partition with GParted...
I honestly didn't remember that I could only allocate the free space after a Reboot.

EDIT:
bigpup wrote:
If you are trying to use Wine.

Here is some info

Make sure you have the latest version of Wine.
Good place to get Wine for Puppy.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88711

Also, look on the first post of the Wine topic for a added 'wine_extras-v2.1.pet' that puts Wine entries in the menu.

When you get Wine installed and the Wine menu entries.
Run Wine config to setup Wine.
It will probably offer you a few more programs needed for Wine to run properly.
Should download and install them as part of the initial config.

Also, in Wine config->Drivers Select autodetect to get all the driver locations loaded in Wine.

A lot of settup options in Wine config, so check them all.

What version of Windows you want Wine to mimic can affect how a program runs. Wine Config->Applications.

About specific programs running in Wine.
Go to the Wine web site and see what it says about a specific program and issues.
http://www.winehq.org

Using Wine is almost like learning a new operating system.
Takes a while to learn how to use Wine and to get things working properly.

Understood. I'll look into it later. I need to solve my issue with devkitARM first and foremost, hahaha.
Gladly, I don't want to run that many Windows software, so I should be safe with the default configuration for the most part.

EDIT: I was able to solve my issue by making a new partition with the unallocated space using GParted. I think that worked, because I was able to install devkitARM successfully now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12974
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2019, 20:50    Post subject:  

Just for information about Puppy Linux.

I assume you did a frugal install of Xenialpup.
You made a 4GB partition formatted in a Windows format as location for the Xenialpup save.
It has to be a save file with a set size, because it is on a Windows formatted location.
If the Windows format was fat 32. It has max file size limit of 4GB.

If you made the partition bigger than 4GB and formatted it Linux ext 3 or 4. The Xenialpup save could be a save folder.
As a save folder, it can self adjust as needed and have access to the complete free space on the partition.
Only limit is size of partition.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lunos

Joined: 28 Jun 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2019, 20:53    Post subject:  

Lunos wrote:
EDIT: I was able to solve my issue by making a new partition with the unallocated space using GParted. I think that worked, because I was able to install devkitARM successfully now.

No, I actually wasn't. If I try to install anything, I still get warnings telling me about my low free space, even though that can't be.
What can I do? Was making a partition with unallocated space a mistake?


EDIT:
bigpup wrote:
Just for information about Puppy Linux.

I assume you did a frugal install of Xenialpup.
You made a 4GB partition formatted in a Windows format as location for the Xenialpup save.
It has to be a save file with a set size, because it is on a Windows formatted location.
If the Windows format was fat 32. It has max file size limit of 4GB.

If you made the partition bigger than 4GB and formatted it Linux ext 3 or 4. The Xenialpup save could be a save folder.
As a save folder, it can self adjust as needed and have access to the complete free space on the partition.
Only limit is size of partition.

I never messed around with hard drive disks partition before, but the only thing I can tell you for sure is that I don't have access to a Windows installation right now.
My SSD is dead, the Windows installer can't even recognize it, and I don't think I can use Windows off a USB Stick either.
I made the partition using GParted, but I deleted it, so it turned back into Unallocated Space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12974
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2019, 21:06    Post subject:  

Partitioning unallocated space should be no problem.
It is there, so use it for something.
If you want Xenialpup only using it.
Format in a Linux format ext 3 or 4.

How are you trying to install stuff?

This is how Puppy does it:
Basic info on installing additional programs.

Program packages need to be compiled for Puppy for the best chance to work. Puppy has it's own way of doing things.
Program packages are available in several ways. What you are looking for is probably available in one of them.

Puppy Package Manager(PPM), that is installed with the version of Puppy Linux you have, is the best place to get new programs. It will open, showing programs that are known to work on your version of Puppy.
1. Run Puppy Package Manager.
2. Left mouse click on a listed program.
3. Follow install directions
4. Program installs.

Depending on the version of Puppy you have, the package manager will have option to get packages from repositories other then Puppy repositories. The package manager will need to be configured for them.
This is how:
Run Puppy Package Manager (PPM)
Select configure package manager.
Select the repositories you want to show.
Select update now.
After the update process, (it will take some time to update).
Close and restart PPM.
Should now see your new repositories at top of PPM window.
You then select the one you want to show in listings.
Note:
When getting packages from non-Puppy repositories, make sure you click on examine dependencies button (if offered) and download and install any identified as needed along with program package.
(newest version of PPM does this automatically)

Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff)section of this forum is the next best place to look. However, you must keep in mind that you will find programs that where originally compiled under a specific version of Puppy and they may or may not work with your version.
General rule is to read the posting for the program pet and see if there is any info that would indicate what version of Puppy it will work under.
Most of the stuff will work on a large portion of Puppies, but not 100% guaranteed.
You may find more then one version of a program. Sometimes that makes a difference.
1. Find a program you want.
2. Open the program thread.
3. find the link for downloading the program pet.
4. Left mouse click on the link
5. Follow the directions to either install or save.
(If you save the pet file you can install by viewing the pet file in Rox-Filer (file manager) and left click on it)

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13389
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2019, 21:43    Post subject:  

What I found is that if I start Firefox before I get the sound working right, I have to close and restart Firefox to get the sound to work in Firefox.

Generally it is better to restart the X server with Firefox still running than to simply close Firefox, because then when you restart Firefox it offers to renew all the tabs you had open when it was so rudely stopped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lunos

Joined: 28 Jun 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2019, 21:56    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Partitioning unallocated space should be no problem.
It is there, so use it for something.
If you want Xenialpup only using it.
Format in a Linux format ext 3 or 4.

How are you trying to install stuff?

This is how Puppy does it:
Basic info on installing additional programs.

Program packages need to be compiled for Puppy for the best chance to work. Puppy has it's own way of doing things.
Program packages are available in several ways. What you are looking for is probably available in one of them.

Puppy Package Manager(PPM), that is installed with the version of Puppy Linux you have, is the best place to get new programs. It will open, showing programs that are known to work on your version of Puppy.
1. Run Puppy Package Manager.
2. Left mouse click on a listed program.
3. Follow install directions
4. Program installs.

Depending on the version of Puppy you have, the package manager will have option to get packages from repositories other then Puppy repositories. The package manager will need to be configured for them.
This is how:
Run Puppy Package Manager (PPM)
Select configure package manager.
Select the repositories you want to show.
Select update now.
After the update process, (it will take some time to update).
Close and restart PPM.
Should now see your new repositories at top of PPM window.
You then select the one you want to show in listings.
Note:
When getting packages from non-Puppy repositories, make sure you click on examine dependencies button (if offered) and download and install any identified as needed along with program package.
(newest version of PPM does this automatically)

Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff)section of this forum is the next best place to look. However, you must keep in mind that you will find programs that where originally compiled under a specific version of Puppy and they may or may not work with your version.
General rule is to read the posting for the program pet and see if there is any info that would indicate what version of Puppy it will work under.
Most of the stuff will work on a large portion of Puppies, but not 100% guaranteed.
You may find more then one version of a program. Sometimes that makes a difference.
1. Find a program you want.
2. Open the program thread.
3. find the link for downloading the program pet.
4. Left mouse click on the link
5. Follow the directions to either install or save.
(If you save the pet file you can install by viewing the pet file in Rox-Filer (file manager) and left click on it)

Well, right now I'm just trying to load the 32bit Compatibility module.

Flash wrote:
What I found is that if I start Firefox before I get the sound working right, I have to close and restart Firefox to get the sound to work in Firefox.

Generally it is better to restart the X server with Firefox still running than to simply close Firefox, because then when you restart Firefox it offers to renew all the tabs you had open when it was so rudely stopped.

As I mentioned earlier, I got audio working with Firefox 67 by installing Firefox 57 first. I got forced to update, but the audio has been working fine since then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13389
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2019, 00:20    Post subject:  

Lunos, has your original problem with the resolution been solved? Are we on to other things now? If so, It's better to start a new topic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lunos

Joined: 28 Jun 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2019, 08:44    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Lunos, has your original problem with the resolution been solved? Are we on to other things now? If so, It's better to start a new topic.

Yes, that issue was solved as soon as I booted up Xenial. It got the right screen resolution right away.

Guess I'll make a new thread for tbis issue with my free space then.
Should I make it in the hardware section?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/index.php?f=14
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12974
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2019, 12:42    Post subject:  

Quote:
Well, right now I'm just trying to load the 32bit Compatibility module.

I think this is your problem.

You have one partition sda1
You have a save file that is using most of the space in sda1.
(save files, when made, are a set size you choose)
The save file is an area of the drive partition allocated to only be used by the save.

/mnt/home is the top layer of the sda1 partition.
(The sda1 partition area not inside the save file, other folders, directories, etc........)
Only free space you have in the partition is 8mb.
So, /mnt/home only has that much free space to use.
Not enough room for the 32bit compatibly sfs.

I would make another partition using all that unallocated space.
Move the save file to it.
Then sda1 will have more free space.

May be better if you just start over fresh, with a new partition setup, and fresh install of Xenialpup.

Really you should have started with one big partition using all of the drive.
Installed Xenialpup to it.
Made a xenialpup save.
Still have a lot of free space not being used in that one partition and data could be written to it.

This may help you understand.
You have a drive partition.
All of Puppy Linux files are installed to that partition.
A Puppy save is made to become the storage for anything changed or added to Puppy.
/mnt/home is that partition.

To visually see /mnt/home
Click on the desktop drive icon for sda1
Rox file manager will open and show what is on the drive partition.

Yes, any sfs packages you are going to load and use need to be placed in /mnt/home
That puts them outside of the save and do not use free space in the save.
That is one reason to use sfs packages.
They are there to load or unload and do not get installed into Puppy Linux.
It is a different way to package and use software.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lunos

Joined: 28 Jun 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2019, 17:10    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
May be better if you just start over fresh, with a new partition setup, and fresh install of Xenialpup.

Yep, in the end that's just what I did. I think I have everything perfectly set now. I just need to find out why does my PC get stuck every 10-15 minutes.
Is it possible that the OS is "Saving to RAM" or to my .sfs savefile all the time, automatically?
Can I somehow disable that, and make it so I have to save manually?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
a_salty_dogg


Joined: 15 Dec 2013
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2019, 17:57    Post subject:  

@ Lunos

"Menu > System > Puppy Event Manager > Save Session Tab / Periodic save from RAM"

(Guidance on that page should be self-explanatory Wink)

When done, click "OK"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lunos

Joined: 28 Jun 2019
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2019, 18:11    Post subject:  

a_salty_dogg wrote:
@ Lunos

"Menu > System > Puppy Event Manager > Save Session Tab / Periodic save from RAM"

(Guidance on that page should be self-explanatory Wink)

When done, click "OK"

Thank you!
The only thing left to solve is an issue I'm having after installing Wine, but I'll just take that to the Wine thread instead. All my doubts and ignorance on Linux have turned this thread into a mess of different problems. I'm sorry, and thanks everyone for all the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5639
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2019, 18:52    Post subject:  

@ Lunos:-

This much I will say; never, ever feel you have to apologise for being new at something. We all had to start somewhere, and most of us came from Windows, like you, and voluntarily flung ourselves into the uncharted waters of the Linux eco-system.

The difference is quite a shock to some, but if you have an enquiring mind, enjoy a challenge, and don't give up at the first hurdle, you'll soon get the hang of it....

One bit of advice. WINE problems, we generally sort out in open forum. Version 2013, though the Puppy 'guru' of building WINE packages, very rarely if ever answers questions on that thread. I think he's shy! Laughing

What problem are you having, specifically? If you start a separate topic for it, we'll do what we can.....OK?

(One point - and this isn't finding fault, but.....are you sure your screen is only 1366x768?? Mine's 1024x768, and I'm having to scroll nearly 3 times the width of my screen to be able to read your posts..!) Confused


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Drivers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0712s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]